We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveler rating
9
10
5
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
10
5
5
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 29 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We are getting married at Patzcuaro, so we've stayed at different hotels each time we need to go there to plan our wedding. This hotel would definitely be my first option to my guests, since it's located at the Plaza Grande, it's very cheap and the rooms are very nice. Of course you don't expect any luxury when you're paying $30 dls per night, but it was great value for that money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyriamGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

This was our first stay in such an old structure as "Hotel Mision San Manuel" in Patzcuaro, Mx.
And it was indeed an excellent one, just make sure you do not get the room right above the "Bar". We were supposed to stay in Patzcuaro (a must-visit town while in Morelia) for just a night and ended up staying three nights.
The staff was very courteous and helpful. They even used their phone to help us contact a hotel in Mexico City! The place is very clean, but the food at the restaurant is not that good,
We got a big and comfortable simple room with a king bed ( linens were changed daily).
The room faced the "Jardin" or town's main Plaza. We enjoyed -and joined- the bustling crowds visiting the town during a local long weekend where plenty of activities were going on around the area.
The most memorable experience: watching hundreds of local people enjoying their public spaces without a trace of garbage on the lawn or the Plaza floor....

Room Tip: 433 Avoid the room above the bar facing the Plaza
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniepoornomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

Our upstairs room was roomy, with a small balcony overlooking the plaza, which was great for people watching but not so great at night with all the noise. Our biggest problem was the irregularity of the hot water supply. Be sure to ask for it before you want it, and ask again if it hasn't gotten hot yet. Hopefully, they'll recognize this problem and rectify it for future guests.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoKarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2008

Lovely old hotel (as are all of the hotels on the plaza) and good value.

Rooms are spacious. Facilities old but O.K.

The problem with this hotel and unfortunately all of the hotels on the square is that there is now a rock band in the bar directly below the hotel. The music is so loud Thursday-Saturday nights that no one will sleep until 3 or 4 in the morning and that is only if the people attending the bar do not stay in the street after it closes and party with their car speakers.

It is a shame that the lovely old town allows this to ruin the quaint ambience of the entire plaza.

I would recommend to everyone that they should find a place outside of town if they want any sleep on these nights.

Living in Mexico, we are used to lots of noise, after all it is their culture and you either deal with it or go somewhere else. This music was so loud because it was directly under our room in the hotel. Honestly, we could not hear ourselves talk in our own room until well after 3 AM. There are other rooms far in the back that would be a little quieter but they are not near as nice as the ones facing the plaza.

This bar will disrupt all of the hotel guest on the plaza but especially this hotel is the affected the most.

We are retired, so it was a great disappointment for us because we love this old city, however, for the young folks who want to "party all night", then this is the place for you!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Retired_in_MX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2006

We recently traveled to Patzcuaro and stayed at the mentioned hotel, from the outside it looked decent. Our first clue should have been that there were no other people there, no one in the dining room, we got 2 seperate rooms, they were on the second floor clean but dark they were okay. We had breakfast in the dining room and the food was not very good. The problems started when we had no running water, we contacted management and were told that the pipes were broken and that they were working on them and it would be a hour, well they told us that several times no water to use the toilet and no water to bathe it continued all night, until late when we finally had some warm water, not hot. In the morning no water again, we were never told that they were having trouble with their pipes when we rented the rooms. We would not recommend this hotel, nor will we stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MaggieMayRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews