We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little place but noisy location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Posada de la Basilica
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Patzcuaro
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
“Cute little place but noisy location”
Reviewed November 22, 2009

This hotel was recommended by friends and we stayed there one Sat-Sun night in November. I do agree that the restaurant is good and has a very nice view, that the location is good, staff was nice, rooms were simple but cute. But if you are looking forward to a good night's sleep, do not at least stay in the rooms that have windows giving onto the square/street as the isolation is non-existent. There was traffic almost all through the night and even if I consider myself to be a good sleeper even in noisier conditions I woke up 5 times that night because of the noise. I unfortunately would not go back nor recommend the hotel to anyone without mentioning this.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    6
    3
    10
See reviews for
9
17
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2009

I stayed here with my husband for a week. The Jr. Suite includes a soaking tub (hard to find in Patzcuaro) which was great after a day of walking the city or taking a day trip. Also had satellite tv that got CNN International, ESPN Deportes, and all the local channels. The room was clean and comfortable, beautiful furniture and architecture. They polished the wood floors every day! The courtyard and restaurant look out on an incredible view of the city and lake, and there is a Mirador (windowed lounge) above the restaurant where you can relax with a drink and take in the sights. The restaurant was great, and the service was always friendly and attentive. It's also very centrally located; it was nice not to be on the main square but to still be next to everything. We will be back! A wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelebelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2009

directly across from historic Basillica and 2 blocks from busy squares.
quaint and romantic- they will light a fire in your fireplace if you request and serve you private coffee in the room each morning. also outstanding resturaunt with best lake view in the town, gotta go!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumacmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

We have stayed at the Posada La Basilica every time we have traveled to Patzcuaro. We never regret it and in fact always look forward to going back. The staff are incredible. They are one of the biggest factors in our happiness there. Each room has a fireplace that the staff will graciously light for you at your request each night.
The rooms are luxuriously comfortable. The setting is one of the best in town. The view is a Panorama of Patzcuaro including the lake. The hotel has a very good restaurant, and a great place to try the local specialty of Corundas and Uchepos. It is located across the street from the Basilica and very close to 11 Patio's for shopping as well as a short walk to the Zocalo.

  • Liked — Staff and amenities like internet in our room and a wonderful bed.
  • Disliked — nothing I can think of
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staten island, ny
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for a week, and loved every minute. The bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in, with sun-dried cotton sheets. The restaurant was amazing, both for its view of the town and the excellent cuisine. For Valentine's Day, the staff filled the upstairs mirador with candles and set up a table just for my husband and I - it was wonderful, and very romantic. We had secure off-street parking for our rental car. The hotel was quiet and restful, exactly what we wanted. Because the staff speaks minimal English, I would suggest that you have some Spanish, and a handy Spanish dictionary, if you plan to stay there. My husband and I had no problems communicating with any of the staff, and they were uniformly helpful and friendly.

  • Liked — The extremely comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Steep hill between the hotel and Plaza Bocanegra
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sra_canu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2006

We stayed here for 2 nights in June, 2006. Having come from Morelia, where we had stayed in a noisy hotel, we wanted a quiet one that was just a little away from the centre, but still within walking distance. This was a good location for us.
We didn't have reservations, but that was not a problem. We got a very beautiful room on a quiet side street. Other guests who had a room in front, facing the basilica said that the bells bothered them at night, but we did not hear them. (Always travel with earplugs and eyeshades, that's my motto.)
It was certainly more expensive than we expected - reception staff said the prices displayed on the internet were not correct. However, the beauty of the room seduced us - dark woods, big white duvet, fireplace, gorgeous hardwood floors, lovely bathroom. I did negotiate a small discount and complimentary continental breakfast.
Still, it was the most expensive place we stayed in during our travels.
The restaurant has a great view and, as a bonus, there is a glassed in room above it - a "mirador" from which you can view the town - red roofs and courtyards, a glimpse of the lake and the rain coming. We liked to sit there at twilight, sip a glass of wine and read. I don't know if we were encouraged to do that - there wasn't really any comfortable seating and one evening a table with the remains of lunch sat there all evening.
We had planned to stay 3 nights but left after 2, because it was just too quiet for us, and also due to the cost.
The staff were pleasant and friendly, and we were even able to get our laundry done, which we much appreciated. However, we wondered if the manager was on holiday while we were there.
On day two, we returned to our room to find the bed carelessly made, with the covers roughly pulled up. The sticky blob on the wood floor in front of the fireplace stayed there for the whole time we were there. There were no towels. This is an expensive hotel, folks.
We were amused one evening - a young man came up and put little votive candles all around the windows. It was beautiful! Then we found out why - a VIP appeared - a travel writer and his escort - who stopped to have a complimentary margarita before leaving to visit more hotels. As soon as he left, the young man appeared, blew out all the candles and left us in the dark!
The same at breakfast - travel writer appeared and got overflowing bread basket, nice plates of fresh fruit, etc. We got a tasty but spartan basket of toast. They did bring some fruit on the first day, not on the second.
On departure, we were not given the usual itemized receipt. The cost was scribbled on a scrap of paper. Strange, no?
Anyway, the staff were nice and it is worth going to enjoy the view. We did meet some other guests and sit and chat in the pretty courtyard, until it was time for quiet hours.
But we wouldn't go back.

Helpful?
7 Thank mollystuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2005

My husband and I stayed at Posada la Basilica 1 night but would have loved to have extended if time would have permitted. The location is excellent--situated in front of the Basilica and in the midst of shops, restaurants, etc. The 2 squares (large and small) are a very short walk--3 blocks no more. The rate for a king size room was around $75USD and the room was absolutely charming. The staff said that the hotel was renovating and our room was one of the newly finished rooms. I peeked at some of the other rooms that had been renovated--they were stunning and the 2 I saw had enormous claw-footed tubs. Our room was clean and warm with wood floors, a very comfortable bed and classic pieces of furniture. The bed linens were of great quality and the heavy blanket and monogramed duvet kept us warm when the temperature dropped at night. We especially enjoyed the fireplace and the tiny little glazed terracota figures they left in lieu of chocolates at turn down. We did not have a chance to eat at the restaurant, but hope that we will have another chance to visit in the future.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C.Hendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patzcuaro hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Posada De Don Vasco
0.2 mi away
Mision Patzcuaro Centro Historico
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mansion Iturbe
Hotel Mansion Iturbe
#3 of 30 in Patzcuaro
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Eco-hotel Ixhi
Eco-hotel Ixhi
#7 of 30 in Patzcuaro
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pueblo Magico
Hotel Pueblo Magico
#2 of 30 in Patzcuaro
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Parroquia
Hotel la Parroquia
#21 of 30 in Patzcuaro
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada de la Basilica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de la Basilica

Property: Hotel Posada de la Basilica
Address: Calle Arciga No. 6 | Col.Centro, Patzcuaro 61600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Patzcuaro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Patzcuaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada de la Basilica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Posada de la Basilica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing