We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Casa Encantada
Nearby Hotels
Mision Patzcuaro Centro Historico(Patzcuaro)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porton Del Cielo(Patzcuaro)
$149
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mision Patzcuaro(Patzcuaro)(Great Value!)
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Eco-hotel Ixhi(Patzcuaro)
$88
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Posada De Don Vasco(Patzcuaro)(Great Value!)
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Posada Camelinas(Patzcuaro)(Great Value!)
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$109
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada de la Salud(Patzcuaro)(Great Value!)
$29
$18
Expedia.com
View Deal
La Siranda(Patzcuaro)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveler rating
368
25
6
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
25
6
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerb bhalf blockcolonial roomterrace suiteenchanting placelike coming homegas fireplacemain plazalocation was perfectdining roomfolk artbeansfresh fruitbreakfast each morningthe hotel managerspent a week
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 405 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Friends and I enjoyed our visit to Casa Encantada recently. Spent two nights in very comfortable rooms with good beds, well equipped and large bathrooms, delicious and generous breakfasts, friendly and welcoming staff. The owner, Victoria, is delightful and very knowledgeable about the area. We all enjoyed a glass of wine together and made friends with her wonderful doggie! Very pet friendly. The gardens are lovely, with lots of places to relax privately. Very comfortable! Great central location, and quiet. We will return, and next visit, spend more time there. Thanks for a delightful time!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in La Casa Encantada during our visit to Patzcuaro. The hotel was lovely with inner court yards, and a lovely breakfast and restaurant for dinner. The only disconcerting thing we found was that our room, though lushly decorated, had no windows. I plan to return to Patzcuaro again, and will likely stay at La Casa, but I will be sure to check that I am able to stay in a room with windows... otherwise, I will choose another hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tansyliverwort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My wife and I recently finished a short visit to Patzcuaro. While there, we stayed at La Casa Encantada. We travel the USA & Mexico pretty extensively and must say that this hotel/B & B rank right up at the top of our favorite places to stay.
The inn keeper/owner, Victoria Ryan, is one of the best hosts we’ve ever experienced. She has a talent for staying the background and not being intrusive. However, if you engage her in conversation, she is a delightful and enthusiastic raconteur on a whole range of subjects, not the least of which is Patzcuaro.
We were initially attracted to La Casa Encantada not only by the host of positive reviews, but also by the fact that Victoria runs a pet friendly establishment. We travel with a cat and medium sized dog. It isn’t always a given that you will find pet friendly high quality accommodations in every city you visit. She is happy to allow your pets to roam the beautifully landscaped patio as long as you are present and your pets don’t bother the other guests.
We spent two nights in the San Francisco Suite. It was comfortably furnished with a king size bed, sitting area, small kitchen and large bathroom. There is a second large bed in a loft area above the main bedroom. The suite is beautifully appointed. Many original pieces of art work done by Victoria adorn the walls, some of which include images of dogs and cats. The best part is she manages to pull off the dog/cat themes in her art without it being corny or cloying.
La Casa Encantada is staffed by smiling, helpful men and women. Luis helps Victoria manage the hotel. His English is impeccable and he is a complete gentleman. The hotel is located a block off the main Plaza Vasco de Quiroga in the center of the historic district. This makes for easy access to the restaurants around the Plaza. Morning, noon or night, the Plaza itself is a wonderful place for a “paseo” and people watching.
I highly recommend La Casa Encantada. Victoria Ryan has created a jewel of a hotel in the heart of Patzcuaro. It is well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

our two-night weekend stay in the beautiful city of patzcuaro was made even better by this choice of inn---the whole place is tastefully and whimsically decorated with a collection of folk art and paintings. though located a half-block or so from the main square, it's quite peaceful. the owner made us feel like her personal guests, and even provided a birthday cake and a bottle of bubbly! the "colonial" room we stayed in had lovely high ceilings, talavera tilework and a gas fireplace.

Room Tip: rooms on the street may hear car traffic.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fulantia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I spent a week in Patzcuaro in early May. We live in Albuquerque and Patzcuaro is reachable by several airlines from ABQ through Morelia in less than 6 hours. That's about the best we can do from New Mexico to anywhere outside of the states.

Early May is the end of the dry season in Michoacan and there were a number of fires - farmers burning fields - forest fires up in the mountains - lots of haze and smoke. I would go back but probably after the rainy season. I understand that the land changes from brown to green almost overnight.

Despite the haze it was a great trip although too short. We used a driver - $500 (pesos) (~ $43 US) to and from the airport in Morelia. We stayed at La Casa Encantada which was beautiful and perfect for us without a car - close to the Plaza Grande but not on the Plaza. We stayed in two different suites – Grand Sala and St Francis. Both had some of the best art you’ll ever see in a hotel. LCE has two gorgeous courtyards and sitting in them we met a number of interesting people from all over the world. Cynthia, the owner, and the rest of the staff could not have been more helpful.

Through LCE we hired a guide (Jaime) and car with driver for one day and went to a few places around the lake - $500. Jaime was beyond knowledgeable – an upper level “Toastmasters” award winner and he was, to say the least, well spoken. The price was more than fair for all the time he spent with us. The next day we hired a car and went around the lake with a few stops for ~$300 - Edgar, I think - great driver and a nice guy.
Restaurants in Patzcuaro - a couple were good but not great. Lupitas is good. The restaurant across the street from Lupitas, something like? Mirador, although we didn’t eat there has a drop dead view from the upstairs dining room. There are superb brownies (and pizza) to be had at Ivo's Pizza on the Plaza. We were addicted in a couple of days.

Cynthia introduced us to a group of hikers who post sometimes on Michoacan Net. We went out hiking with them around Estribo one day. They’re a great bunch of folks who really gave us a sense of place.

We walked everywhere in Patzcuaro. On our last full day we walked down to the two of the muelles, the docks, sat, had a beer and watched the boats leave for the islands around the lake. We took a collectivo back to Plaza Chica for 6$ each. We never felt at risk walking around. The fear that Americans have about travel in Mexico is misplaced in most areas that tourists would go. If you search for crimes against tourists in Mexico you will find some incidents but they are exceedingly rare and certainly not an issue in an area like Patzcuaro. Overall, we felt more comfortable walking around Patzcuaro than Albuquerque.
Lots left to do - we only briefly passed through Morelia and so will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews