We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-oiled Machine”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Patzcuaro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Encantada
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Patzcuaro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Well-oiled Machine”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was my second visit to Casa Encantada. It is beautiful, well-located, comfortable with tasty breakfasts. Every detail is well-thought out to appeal to the US traveler (which most occupants are). Service is perfect and gracious.

Room Tip: I stayed in the small casita at the back which was quiet and perfect for one person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickywheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    23
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
52
164
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here for nine days and had a great time. The people who work here are all warm, generous, and helpful. The courtyard is full of gorgeous, well-cared for plants and comfortable chairs. Our room was comfortable and quiet. The breakfasts are really good, and it's fun to interact with other guests over breakfast. The occasional visit to the courtyard of the owner's two cats and two Yorkshire terriers was always a pleasure - all four animals are friendly and adorable. Good location, too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMKSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peachland, bc
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband & I were given the name of this wonderful B & B and booked for two nights.
What a heavenly surprise. We were just sorry we had to be in another place or we would have stayed much longer. The private courtyard with the beautiful gardens, fountain and corners to curl up and read; the hidden treasures of colorful pottery cats and monkeys peeking from behind the lovely Calla lilies. I can't for the life of me figure out what the other reviewer was so critical of.
The location was perfect. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and we couldn't eat all the food in the morning. The fireplace was cozy in the cool evenings.,,,,great all round. Thank you Cynthia for one of the highlights of our trip.

Room Tip: We were in the Colonial room. Large quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peachlandtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This B&B is very close to the Central Square in Patzcuaro. Its rooms are colorfully decorated and roomy. Electric mattress covers and gas fireplaces help to take the chill off during the cold nights. Very nice breakfasts were served. I would recommend this property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lologantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We booked this hotel based on recommendations from friends and trip advisor. I honestly don't get it. The common areas are kitschy in a fun way, that wasn't bad. The breakfast was okay, not bad. The location is great. But.... the rooms are absolutely horrible. We were in Arbol. The room was really horrible painted in odd color stripes, mis matched furniture, terrible bedding, flat pillows, art that I am only asume that the owner did as it was EXTREMELY amateur. Worst off there is no curtain in the bathroom window. I realised while coming back in the morning that there was a full view right into the bathroom from the court yard. Good luck on privacy when exiting the shower.

Overal for the price we were very disappointed and we left after just one night. The place has lots of potential with some upgrading to the rooms.

Room Tip: I didn't see the rest but avoid Arbol, perhaps the others are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoamoplaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was our second trip to the beautiful town of Patzcuaro. Although we stayed in a great place the first time around, we wanted to be more centrally located, so that the two main square were walking distance.

Casa Encantada came highly recommended from friends, so we gave it a try and we were so happy we did. Starting right from the booking process, the owner, Cindy, was responsive and helpful.

Upon arriving at Casa Encantada, we had perfectly situated secure parking, a bonus if you are driving. The casa is loaded with charm starting in the interior private courtyard with it's beautiful gardens and seating. We stayed in two room in this first courtyard, so can't really comment on the back portion.

Our rooms were large, nicely decorated and with King Sized comfie beds. I've stayed in many hotels in Mexico and comfie beds are not typically a given, so I was very happy to find good quality beds which make for a great sleep. The rooms came with everything we possibly needed except a blowdryer, which was provided upon request. Plus, a bonus bottle of red wine waiting for our arrival.

There is an eclectic flare to the design and decor of the B&B which I really enjoy. There is no shortage of design to catch your attention.

There is a full kitchen staff to serve a freshly cooked breakfast in the morning. It was a beautiful breakfast that started with fruit and a different main dish each day. It was delicious.

We will most certainly stay at La Casa Encantada again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatNap369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Just lovely. Very cool and very beautiful. Plants, flowers and artifacts everywhere. Nice and warm fireplace in the rooms, great big beds. Great breakfast. Perfect place to relax and get in touch with other travelers. Next time I´m staying longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaCatrinaLatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patzcuaro hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pueblo Magico
Hotel Pueblo Magico
#2 of 31 in Patzcuaro
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mansion Iturbe
Hotel Mansion Iturbe
#3 of 31 in Patzcuaro
131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Posada De Don Vasco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mision Patzcuaro Centro Historico
1.0 mi away
Eco-hotel Ixhi
Eco-hotel Ixhi
#7 of 31 in Patzcuaro
129 reviews
1.0 mi away
Porton Del Cielo
Porton Del Cielo
#14 of 31 in Patzcuaro
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Encantada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Encantada

Property: Hotel Casa Encantada
Address: Calle Doctor Coss 15, Patzcuaro 61600, Mexico (Formerly La Casa Encantada)
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Patzcuaro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Patzcuaro
#1 Green Hotel in Patzcuaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Encantada is a destination in itself. Affordable Luxury! Travel back in time. Discover Old Mexico during your stay at Hotel La Casa Encantada. Just steps away from the historic Plaza Grande in the heart of Patzcuaro, Michoacan. This mansion was built in 1786 yet has all the comforts of home. Here you will find peaceful luxury in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Casa Encantada Patzcuaro
La Casa Encantada Hotel Patzcuaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing