We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Patzcuaro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Encantada
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Patzcuaro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mexico City
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Marvellous!”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Great bed and breakfast - quiet location that feels almost like home. Second visit and we still love it. Warm welcoming staff with a variety if room layouts and sizes. We love the Rose room. 100 metres from the beautiful plaza. Great breakfast room and more fresh fruit and coffee than you could ever want. We will return again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are so very quiet and open onto a beautiful courtyard and fountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bones55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    23
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
55
165
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We have stayed here twice over the past 3-4 years. There are a variety of rooms from which to choose, all of which have their own character. We have thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and will continue to stay there when we visit Patzcuaro. The hotel is just a block off the main plaza and is within walking distance of most points in the central city. The staff have always gone out of their way to accommodate and they have a great family-style breakfast each morning. A great place at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MexicoTraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Two stunning courtyard patios for relaxing and just readjusting your attitude back closer to the time the mansion was built in 1784. A truly enchanted escape from the business world with delightful hosts and the freshest, tastiest breakfasts available anywhere. A half block from Patzcuaro's large plaza, this is my favorite place to stay in what has become one of my favorite cities in Mexico. A perfect center for travels throughout the region around the lake, and Luis will guide you to all the right spots, even arrange for a driver, if you just ask..

Room Tip: The Grand Sala and San Francisco suites both front right onto the street but still provide solitude...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_Read
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Met with friends, who know their way around Patzcuaro. Spectacular gardens and breakfast. Rooms with heaters and heating blankets. Don't know how you could do winter in Patzcuaro without. Owners are delightful, helpful, and very knowledgeable about the area. No disappointments here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraDodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This was our second time to La Casa Encantada and I have to say it was just as lovely at the first time we visited. The rooms are spotless, quiet and wonderfully decorated. The breakfast in the morning is fresh and tasty. It was a great place to get away from D.F.'s noise and pollution. We felt safe and had no problems what so ever in Patzcuaro or the surrounding area. I would highly recommend the hotel and the beautiful surrounding area for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahLynn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris Sandeman
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Actually, it feels wrong to call this place a hotel. It's more like staying at the home of your super wealthy and connected friend, who has you over for a visit and you bring a couple of bottles of wine to pay him back. Hope that makes sense;)

Basically, the value for money here is ridiculous. The "hotel" is a historic house, and the rooms are special. Really special. Each is unique, and decorated like real rooms at a real home...the furniture was gorgeous, the floors beautiful, and this incredible wood (can't remember the name, management response?) decorated much of the space. I had the good fortune to be shown around by Luis (data manager) and looked into each room. The bathrooms are not nearly as big as the rooms themselves, but what they didn't have in space, they overwhelmingly made up for in charm. The bathroom tiles and mirrors were lovely.

I had the best sleep of my stay in Mexico on the football field large bed. The mattress was either new or of a seriously good quality. The ceiling was at least 5 meters high. The room had a fireplace which I didn't need to use, as it was warm enough, but it was a nice touch to have it there. The room had a terrific kitchenette, fresh clean water cooler (wow!), proper fridge...

When I arrived, there was a bottle of wine waiting, and although we (2 of us) didn't finish it when we came back from dinner, we made a respectable dent in it! The local food recommendations were solid (Lunita was the best of the recommendations, loved it).

The courtyard was too adorable, and there was never a moment of doubt about the security: neither at the hotel nor in the city.

A further word about SECURITY: it felt more than safe. I think Mexico is getting painted with the same brush, no matter where you go. There is no doubt that there are sketchy areas of Mexico along the boarder with the USA to the far far north. But the interior is safe, and if you had even a shadow of a doubt about that (which you shouldn't), as long as you keep your driving transfers through the countryside to daylight hours, you'd never have a thing to worry about. That said, I spent hours walking through town and not a single doubt about security ran through my head. Safe as safe could be. The "hotel" felt completely safe as well, and a locked door kept anyone from just wandering in.

Service was terrific. I'm doing a research trip for future tours to and in Mexico, and we'd had a real problem with the guide we'd been testing out, and wanted to dump him. Luis sorted a new guide and a transfer for us (4 hour transfer to San Miguel de Allende for €75! What a steal...!) within 15min of arriving. That guy is a real gem, and the hotel must know how fortunate they are to have him.

It's a small town, so everything feels centrally located, and you really can't go wrong there. The town was great. if you don't stay at the hotel (a shame if you can't get a room, but these guys are number one on TA.com for a reason), then don't miss the town. It's worth the trip in my opinion.

Sorry if I missed anything, or if this all sounds like a gush. But there is a 5 star rating and then there is a La Casa Encantada rating...sort of feel like all my previous 5 stars for other places should be moved down to 4's, and I definitely feel bad for my next hotel visit someplace else, as my bar of excellence has certainly been raised.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Sandeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This is our second time staying at this special hotel. We came with friends that live in San Miquel de Allende, Mexico. When making last minute reservations we were told one couple would have to switch rooms after the first night. When we arrived Louis had taken care of the room situation and we had comfortable rooms, even thou we were there during fat Tuesday week.
Our hostesses ,Cynthia and Vicky were the ultimate gatekeepers, with a wealth of knowledge not only about Patzcuaro but surrounding cities as well. Not to mention where to shop and eat and not eat. Not only that but, Cindy even looked at pics of our grandkids and our cats, without rolling her eyes.
Everything about our stay was lovely, the wonderful breakfast, the gorgeous flowers, great conversation,and the "in house" dogs and cat.
Now back in Chicago we can't wait to go back.
Suzanne & Rick

Room Tip: The rooms in second courtyard second floor are my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patzcuaro hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pueblo Magico
Hotel Pueblo Magico
#2 of 30 in Patzcuaro
128 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Posada De Don Vasco
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mansion Iturbe
Hotel Mansion Iturbe
#3 of 30 in Patzcuaro
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mision Patzcuaro Centro Historico
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada de la Basilica
Hotel Posada de la Basilica
#29 of 30 in Patzcuaro
37 reviews
1.0 mi away
Porton Del Cielo
Porton Del Cielo
#15 of 30 in Patzcuaro
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Encantada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Encantada

Property: Hotel Casa Encantada
Address: Calle Doctor Coss 15, Patzcuaro 61600, Mexico (Formerly La Casa Encantada)
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Patzcuaro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Patzcuaro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Patzcuaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable LUXURY ! Peaceful and only steps from the main plaza. Travel back in time. Let us take care of you. Casa Encantada is not a hotel it is an experience! Travek back in time with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Casa Encantada Patzcuaro
La Casa Encantada Hotel Patzcuaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing