We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Manson Iturbe: An unforgettable experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mansion Iturbe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mansion Iturbe
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Patzcuaro
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Manson Iturbe: An unforgettable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2006

There are many reason why Mansion Iturbe has so many loyal customers and, having stayed there for a week, I can vouch for them all. The hotel/B&B is incredibly beautiful and immaculately clean; the staff is well trained, helpful and several of them told us how much they like their jobs; the restaurant has a menu of traditional food as well as more general local flavor; the location is perfect, directly across from the central plaza; the family who owns Iturbe (decendants of the original owners) are able to provide all the advice one might need to maximize one's stay there. They are completely reliable.

My husband and I stayed there for the Day of the Dead celebrations and had an unforgettable experience. We would, however, like to go back and visit another time so we could see Patzcuaro and the surrounding areas at a more typica time. Though if you are interested in Mexican artisans, they are all there during the week of Day of the Dead, just across the street from Mansion Iturbe.

  • Liked — The helpfulness of the staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — Reserve early
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Onnieon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    32
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
47
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2006

We recently rented a car for two days,(60$ day for a A.C.Jetta) taking a break from our stay at Las brisas in Ixtapa, and took the scenic 4 hour drive to Patzcuaro for a one night stay. (too short- 3 days needed) We were booked at Iturbe, located right on the the main square Quiroga, with a lovely glimpse of it from our little balcony. Solid double doors open to a cool corridor and then an inner courtyard, brilliant with color and flowers, one of the most charming scenes anywhere. Our room on the second floor, No.5, was large, elegant, with the nuances of centuries. Patzcuaro nights are very cold but our little heater kept us cozy. Remarkably, it is only one of a few rare times that I have experienced complete silence, as though we were in a deep snowfall up north. It was heavenly. I loved their colorful, second floor library and wished that here had been time to savour it. Their restaurant was warm and charming. Most memorable was the time spent afterwards in the back restaurant where the Three Amigos perform. Only one of them was there singing and playing the guitar, but it was magic and we were goners for this soulful, paaionate music. GO! Feel free to email me.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ladyelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2006

This is a beautiful hotel in a historic and
beautifully restored building. We had room #1
upstairs and in the back. It was spacious and quiet
with lots of little extras. Not super luxurious, but
comfortable. Large and remodeled bathroom.
Staff was friendly and very helpful.
Breakfast in the downstairs restaurant was great, with lots of choices. Free cocktail hour every evening was a great way to meet other guests.
The little coffee bar, also on ground floor of hotel, with storefront that opens onto the street, makes an addictive cappuchino with rompope.......
Great location. Highly recommended.
Rates seem to fluctuate. We were quoted $100. USD per night on Orbitz, and wound up paying closer to $140. with the addition of
"impuestos" and some days being in holiday peak.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aviano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2005

We spent 2 nights in Mansion Iturbe in July, and enjoyed it very much. It's not a super-luxury place, but it is very nice and the building has an amazing feel to it. The location is ideal - on the main plaza. There is parking in a private lot about two blocks away. Our room opened onto the central courtyard, so it was nice and quiet. Breakfasts were hearty and very tasty.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dtk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2005

This hotel was a bit of a splurge for us, but it was worth it. The rooms were beautiful, the staff was friendly and helpful. The location is perfect and we had a relaxing stay. I had initially felt the price was high, but with free parking, free cocktails in the afternoon and breakfast included I quickly chancged my mind. I was the most enjoyable placed we stayed on last trip and will certainly stay there again if we are lucky enough to get back to Pátzcuaro.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2005

My husband and I and our adult son spent a night at Mansion Iturbe during Holy Week. The town was packed, but the little patio in the back of Iturbe was a wonderful retreat. Our room, though a little dark because of the dark-viga ceilings and furniture, was quiet and large, with comfortable beds.
My favorite part of Iturbe was the breakfast. The fresh guava juice was fabulous. Then my son asked for a mixture of the guava and fresh strawberry juice, which was perhaps even better. We tried to find the juices again all during our trip but couldn't. The Michoachan breakfast, which included a really good sort of carne adovada and a kind of tamale (called corundi) with green sauce, was also terrific.
Iturbe is a very well-run hotel in a lovely town.

Helpful?
1 Thank CSBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2005

Beautifully decorated and planned, this small hotel has a lot to offer for the price, and even a 4 for 3 night special. Staff were helpful and the restaurant served very good food. If only there was more to do in Patzcuaro after 8 p.m.!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patzcuaro hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pueblo Magico
Hotel Pueblo Magico
#2 of 33 in Patzcuaro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Posada De Don Vasco
0.9 mi away
Porton Del Cielo
Porton Del Cielo
#12 of 33 in Patzcuaro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mansion de Los Suenos
Hotel Mansion de Los Suenos
#19 of 33 in Patzcuaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gran Hotel
Gran Hotel
#11 of 33 in Patzcuaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mision Patzcuaro Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mansion Iturbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mansion Iturbe

Property: Hotel Mansion Iturbe
Address: Calle Portal de Morelos 59, Patzcuaro 61600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Patzcuaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Patzcuaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mansion Iturbe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former residence of one of the leading families in Patzcuaro, Mansion Iturbe is an enchanting Inn, nestled in front of Vasco de Quiroga Square with an outstanding location close to all major attractions. This XVII Century Mansion has been meticulously restored to its former splendor by the descendents of the original owners. Patzcuaro: the center of the Purepechan CultureHere at the center of the Purepechan Culture you will find history, traditions and folklore. Archeological Sites, the unique Lake Patzcuaro with its Islands and the world famous butterfly nets as well as the Indian villages that surround the Lake with high quality Handicrafts made by the Purepechas that make the region a paradise for Handcrafts lovers where you will be able to find: woven goods, ceramics, masks, copper crafts, straw handcrafts, textiles and much more!Come to Patzcuaro and enjoy this beautiful hidden treasure of the colonial Mexico from the XVI Century. Strolling the town from Mansion Iturbe is very easy due to its location close to everything, but Patzcuaro is also an excellent base to explore the tourist attractions of Michoacan.Patzcuaro and the Lake Region have a lot of festivities during the whole year to share with you, full of color and traditions. Don’t miss the traditional Market on Fridays in Patzcuaro!Don’t miss the traditional Market on Fridays in Patzcuaro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mansion Iturbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Iturbe Hotel
Mansion Iturbe Patzcuaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing