We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hacienda - great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hacienda Sepulveda Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lagos de Moreno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in the Hacienda as we were invited to a wedding downtown Lagos.
The place is fantastic. Marvelously renovated house and dependencies, superb swimming pool and very friendly people. We were a bit suspicious reading older comments but we can definitely say the service was top class. Food was very nice and also a good selection of wines. The staff was nice and the hotel manager, Luis, was most helpful and gave us a tour of the house when we arrived. We stayed in the Papa Poncho room in the main house and the room was perfect. Very high ceiling and a window with a marvelous view on the garden.

Prices are a bit higher than in the other places we visited in Jalisco but it was definitely worth it ( a strong Euro helps too :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeddySC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Sepulveda Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 172 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2010

Returning home to Puerto Vallarta from SanMiguel, we stopped in Lagos de Moreno a small, pretty city with two impressive cathedrals about half-way between San Miguel and Guadalajara. My husband and I stayed two nights at the gorgeous Hacienda Sepulveda. Situated on 350 hectares of agricultural land, the hacienda was originally constructed in 1684. It is now renovated, remodeled and a member of Mexico Boutique Hotels. The grounds are immaculate, with pines, palms and pepper trees lining the garden where peacocks preen and stroll. There is a separate brick-walled agave garden, whose enormous blue-green spiked plants are about ten feet high. A luxe spa is the former old stone hay room. Although there was a light rain, we went for a two-hour horseback ride, passing haystacks, fields of alfalfa, carrots, onions, corn, black and white cows, stallions for riding and a small river tumbling out of an old aqueduct. On one of the muddy trails, a tan coyote ran quickly up the hill away from us. The endlessly green property is dense with trees. The cacti were bursting with the radish colored and sized "tuna," whose fruit used to make wonderful juices. At dusk, the only sound was the whirring of wings of doves going to bed for the night.

If you can't plan an overnight but are in the area, I highly recommend a stop for lunch or dinner. The dining room, situated in the former granary of the hacienda and next to the beautiful swimming pool surrounded by concrete arches, is lovely. Meals are delicious and the entire staff extremely gracious in the inimitable style of Old Mexico. www.haciendasepulveda.com.mx

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yalahabibti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Based on a beautiful restored hacienda, surrounded by grain fields, running peackocks and hens, desert and a nice pond. Near a beautiful colonial town offers a nice experience for country lovers. The food and room costs are really overpriced but it is the best place in the sorroundings. The spa offers a nice experience but it is by far inferior to other hotels that charge the same amounts.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Armandofr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

Despite some of the reviews we took the chance and stayed here for 3 nights.
While there are issues, food service could be a little too speedy at dinner for example, we really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in "Chula Vista" which had a large sunny deck. The staff were very helpful and we took advantage of the Spa which is beautiful. My wife was there for the riding, she took some extended trips of 4 hours or so and had a grand time. But, it seems that more often than not it is just riding around the grounds which she felt would have been very dull. If you are a rider, check before you go.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeaBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

If you want to over pay for a Disneyfied, contrived Mexican “hacienda” experience, eat microwaved food, be ignored by the front desk, yelled at by the manager and totally ripped off, this is the place for you! All was bearable until we checked out. They refused to honor a promotion that had been advertised on their website the day we made our reservation (50% off the room rate from Sunday to Thursday). We arrived on Thursday and left Monday, so should have had two nights 50% off. They charged us full price (over $2000 US for only FOUR NIGHTS!) and I insisted to speak to the manager on the phone (he wasn’t there, of course). It became apparent he didn’t want to, hiding behind the front desk girl who by the end just totally ignored us, but when he did, he wouldn’t listen to a word I said and actually yelled at me! I checked their website when I got home today, and now and it’s buy one spa treatment, get one free all this month. Guess what? They didn’t tell us about or honor that promotion either (we had two massages the Thursday we arrived). This was the worst travel ripoff I have EVER experienced, and the worst customer service by far. By the way, don't believe the no-kids policy either - there were kids there the whole time. Guess they're a good way to suck more money out of their unsuspecting "guests." These guys are sharks - save your money and vacation time and find somewhere where your business will be appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MexicoItravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2008

The actitude from the people was excellent, most of the problems were in the room, it was full of fleas, and kind of dirty. The food is very simple and only buffet. We have to wait for 30 minutes to be served. Even the waitres come and ask if we wanted our dessert, and we have not even receive the food!!!

Some services like the horse trip, in their web page says it is included, but once you are there, it is not.

Have to say strange things happened in the room that don´t let me sleep very well, it is kind of scary.

The spa is good but not excellent. Would recomend for no more than 1 night and overall it is very overpriced for the food and rooms that they offer.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Worldtrav76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We just returned from a visit to this Hacienda and loved it! The setting is spectacular and the staff are subtle, but attentive. We had wonderful breakfasts every morning, went for a couple of horseback rides through the grounds, and took a few day trips to the surrounding towns.
The Hacienda is wonderfully maintained - with a gorgeous pool area and courtyards. There are several roosters, hens, and peacocks roaming around, as well as the random dog.
Our room (pendes haus) was very spacious with large french doors opening out to the yard.
The place is very old, obviously, but very clean and comfortable. We are looking forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lamamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos de Moreno
7.0 mi away
Casa Grande Lagos
Casa Grande Lagos
#7 of 9 in Lagos de Moreno
32 reviews
4.7 mi away
La Casona de Tete
La Casona de Tete
#2 of 9 in Lagos de Moreno
77 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Galerias
Hotel Galerias
#4 of 9 in Lagos de Moreno
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Lagos Inn
Hotel Lagos Inn
#3 of 9 in Lagos de Moreno
42 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Real
Hotel Posada Real
#5 of 9 in Lagos de Moreno
7 reviews
22.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Leon, Gto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Sepulveda Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Sepulveda Hotel and Spa

Address: Carretera Lagos - El Puesto No. 3132, Lagos de Moreno 47515, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Lagos de Moreno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lagos de Moreno
Price Range: $103 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Sepulveda Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Sepulveda, a rural mansion belonging to the Serrano family for three generations, originally built in 1684, has been a labor of love for Juan Alfonson Serrano who has spent the last 10 years preparing it for its new role as a premium hotel offfering the most authentic of hospitality experiences.The newly opened spa defies description and even the photos cannot do it justice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda Sepulveda Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Hacienda Sepulveda Hotel Lagos De Moreno
Hacienda Sepulveda Hotel And Spa Lagos De Moreno, Jalisco, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing