We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Terranova
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Coatzacoalcos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed for 4 months in this hotel just because my other friends choose this hotel too. Far from any public places, quite expensive taxi as the only transportation, and above average price car rent made me rate this hotel as the most expensive hotel I have ever stay with standard services. Eventhough they have good scenery but if you do business travel instead of vacation, this is nothing.
Internet service?Yes they have, but none of their employee knew how to maintain this, in my room I have 3 wifi signal from 3 different router, and none of it connected to the internet. Yes, the only places you can connect to the internet is the lobby....I placed complaint many times to the front desk and always replied by they have reported this problem...but until my 4 months of stay over, nothing has happened to the router....(i don't know why they are so proud with 5 stars logo with these kind of services).
Overall, if you have to stay in Coatzacoalcos for business purpose, use other hotel.

Room Tip: Choose room start with 4xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andhi_small
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 79 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

You have to understand that Coatzacoalcos is an unattractive city. It is a petrochemical oriented business community with Pemex, the Mexican government monopoly, as the center of almost everything. For many years, the Terranova Hotel was basically the only option for a business level stay. Now, there are some others that I have not experienced, but there may by interesting to try. In fact, we as a big group stayed here because the conference options were the only complying with our requiremets. On the plus side they have an excellent internet-WiFi access all over the hotel as well a “VIP” place accessible to many guests. On the minus side, the place is far away for everything else, just as almost every other hotel. However it is also far from dinner alternatives because if the restaurant is nice for breakfast and maybe a fast lunch, it is not the best for seafood dinner and other options of excellent Mexican food in local places. In short, if for some strange reason you have to travel for Coatzacoalcos, surely for business, you may stay in the Terranova but go to have dinner in the Piquitos, the Brasas, or ask for suggestions at the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlgtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Rooms are bog standard, although they do have mini bars that actually have something in them! Laundry service is good. Large restaurant, food's just OK. Seems mainly used by business travellers / offshore people when I was there (rainy season, so not many tourists?).
There's a free hotel bus from / to the local airport. Staff are helpful. Generally clean. The Iguanas running around the huge back lawn are a sight to remember!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river to see the lawn and Iguanas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geedee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

If you have to be in this area, this is not a bad choice. It might have been a 5 star hotel in the past, as you can see how it is build. Now it looks more like a 4 star hotel. It looks okay, but nothing too luxurious.

The room is roomy, the bathroom a bit dated. But it has airco that works (a must in this region, even in january... I can not, and do not want to, imagine here in May). The bed... well, as too often in Mexico (with Mexican hotels, not so much with international hotels in Mexico) the bed is too hard. I am still not used how hard beds can be in Mexican hotels. They should start putting softer beds...

The service is good, especially in the restaurant/room service area (food, breakfast, drinks etc). Very welcoming, with good memory and basically very good. (The reception should learn from the guys in the restaurant!)

The hotel has an okay pool. There you look towards a river, which is nicer then looking at buildings in Coatzacoalcos itself (it is not a very pretty city with highlights known around the world). You get at least the holiday atmosphere.

If in the area, this would probably be my choice again. Because of the people fro food and beverage and the pool.

If you have to be in coatzacoalcos, this seems to be your safest bet.

Room Tip: probably tipping somebody
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DutchyCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

I traveled to Coatzacoalcos for work and had my Customer not picked this hotel I most likely would have stayed at the else where based on the reviews. i am glad to say i had a very good stay at this hotel. You will need to take a Taxi to almost everywhere. They do have bus service a few blacks form the hotel but unless you speak good spanish, it would be very hard to get any where by bus. The staff here was great and very professional. you can always find someone that speaks some english. If you are expecting a 5 star hotel I am sure it is in Mexico in the states it would be a 3. I would stay here the next time I come back with out question. DO NOT change curency with the front desk. The fee your bank charges will be far less than what the hotel charges. The hotel has an ATM and it will take most US debit cards. The food in the Resturant is great but they do not have a menu in english, but even with my very limited spanish i had no problems ordering. The pricing is more than it should be in my opinion but the food is good. they also have a bar that has a reasonable selection with a few flat screen TV's. so all in all a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: ask for your breakfast coupon they will not offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnmartyblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

I would hate to write anything to put off future travellers to Coatzacoalcos looking for a five start hotel, because frankly it is the only hotel in town which even approaches first world standards.
Just don't expect a five star hotel and you wont be disappointed.
The walls bring a new meaning to 'paper thin' these will be the 'tracing-paper thin' versions.
All the staff want to practice their English speaking with you and are genuinely friendly.
It has all the facilities you expect to find in an International class hotel they just dont quite work the same as those in other countries,

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twoshortplanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

The hotel, grounds and decor are very nice but If you stay here, ask for a second floor room. The humidity and rain create a dampness and musty smell in the 1st floor rooms. Based on the hotel selections in this town, this is hands down the best. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is not within walking distance to the beach or anything else of interest, a taxi or car is a must.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank severhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coatzacoalcos hotels
3.5 mi away
Fiesta Inn Coatzacoalcos
Fiesta Inn Coatzacoalcos
#1 of 15 in Coatzacoalcos
274 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Coatzacoalcos
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Coatzacoalcos
Holiday Inn Coatzacoalcos
#8 of 15 in Coatzacoalcos
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
City Express Coatzacoalcos
City Express Coatzacoalcos
#3 of 15 in Coatzacoalcos
332 reviews
3 mi away
One Coatzacoalcos Forum
One Coatzacoalcos Forum
#2 of 15 in Coatzacoalcos
241 reviews
2.9 mi away
NH Coatzacoalcos
NH Coatzacoalcos
#4 of 15 in Coatzacoalcos
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terranova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terranova

Address: Boulevard Rio Calzadas km 7.5 100 | Col. Tierra Nueva, Coatzacoalcos 96499, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Veracruz > Coatzacoalcos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Coatzacoalcos
Price Range: $50 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Terranova 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Terranova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing