We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"A fantastic place to visit in Ajijic"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ajijic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa del Sol
Ranked #13 of 26 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Mount Holly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"A fantastic place to visit in Ajijic"”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We recently visited Ajijic for a day and had the pleasure of spending a night at Casa Del Sol bed and breakfast. The owner Catherine Roberts was very hospitable and made us feel very welcome to be there. I wished we could have spent a few more days at this wonderful place.

Room Tip: Frequent travelers often stay at places they know very little about and can only hope for cleanlines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
29
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The Casa del Sol was an excellent Bed and Breakfast! Cathy and her staff treated us very well. The B and B was exceptionally clean and well maintained. The breakfast was excellent! They specially made breakfast for me numerous times. Cathy gave us great recommendations for restuarants, massages, activities, etc. The pool was a blessing becuase we were there in May when the temps were in the upper 80's.

The location is fantastic - you can walk to the central plaza as well as many of the popular restuarants. It is on a neighborhood street so parking was never an issue. I highly recommend this B and B.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, it just depends what you need - single King or two queens and the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed 10 nights at Cathy's awesome B and B
Words cannot describe how wonderful it is.....soooooooo beautiful
Cathy has not missed one little touch
From the large breakfast area with gardens throughout....lots of comfy sitting spots
Beautiful pool where Linden puts on a fun happy hour every evening and you can get to know the other guests or you can sit in the bar area where there is a tv
Linden and Teresa served amazing breakfasts....fruit,yogurt.muffins,pastries...any eggs made to order plus bacon sausage etc..self serve coffee waiting for you every morning
Two beautiful miradors to enjoy ...get some sun..read....enjoy the views
Our room was #6....upstairs with a balcony...king bed was so comfortable ....pillows were PERFECT.....I am fussy about my pillow..LOL
Our room was across from the little kitchen area for the guests use...it was great to be able to keep cold drinks in
I can't say enough how much we enjoyed our stay
I would def recommend staying there...........10+ in our books

Rick and Collette

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmokeyBear13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Arrived 0 dark hundred after a red-eye from Seattle. Did not see much until later in the day. What a beautiful place! Owner Cathy has created a quiet, comfotable oasis in the heart of Ajijic. Casa del Sol is in easy walking distance to the Plaza, resturants,business, etc. Her staff is fantastic. I was on a final arrangment trip before moving to Ajijic the end of March. I will show my wife through Casa del Sol after we move. Who knows, we might stay there one night. We certainly know where to send any overflow guests we may have. Ed K

Room Tip: I liked the upper room I was in. Had a pivate deck over the patio and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edrasa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2011

To describe Casa del Sol in one word…perfect! We have traveled extensively around the world staying in many different places and Casa del Sol is tops! We have visited Ajijic and stayed at Casa del Sol four times and will stay there again in a heartbeat. It is a lovely environment managed by Cathy, the owner. Cathy and her staff, including Linden and Theresa, are very accommodating and helpful in advising how to fully enjoy Ajijic and the area.

The ambiance at Casa del Sol is very warm and welcoming and the décor is exquisite. You will find a wonderful blend of Mexican charm and the comforts of home. There is hot coffee waiting for you each morning with a marvelous made-to-order breakfast at which you will find Cathy talking with and enjoying her guests.

Save time for relaxing by the beautiful pool and garden. And, make sure you visit one of the two miradors for a remarkable view of the village, mountains and lake where you can enjoy an afternoon siesta, a marvelous sunset and more stars than you can imagine. It’s paradise!

In summary, Casa del Sol is as good as it gets!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakeland89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I was in Ajijic for the Feria del Maestros and stayed at Casa del Sol, an intimate and relaxing B&B that makes everyone feel welcome and at home. The rooms are comfortable, nicely decorated and well maintained. Beds in Mexico tend to be rather hard and uncomfortable (often due to concrete bases), but not at Casa del Sol. They are firm enough to provide good support but soft enough to allow one to get a good night's rest. A reading light is provided above each bed; a thoughtful touch for those of us that are readers. There is plenty of storage (i.e. closets and chests) in the rooms for clothing and purchases. Hot water availability and water pressure is good.

Breakfast each morning was delicious, with a different muffin every day and a variety of egg and side dishes. I especially appreciated the huge bowl of fresh cut fruits, yogurt and cereals for lighter breakfast options. Coffee service is available (self-serve) most of the morning and both coffee makers always seemed to be replenished as quickly as they emptied.

It is an easy walk from Casa del Sol to the zocalo, nearby restaurants, shops and Lake Chapala. If exploring the centro gets old, there is a table in the common area with information and business cards for many local services, tour providers and businesses. And, to make it easy to contact them, a phone for local calls is provided. Another nice touch is the phone that's set up to make calls back to the U.S. as easy as possible.

Casa del Sol is a little gem in the center of town. It's quiet at night, very, very secure, has nice amenities and is a great value for the room rate.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiningDiva619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

My husband and I returned from our wonderful trip last night...hands down, the best part of our trip was Casa Del Sol. Cathy, the owner, has the most incredible B&B ever! From the moment we arrived, we were in awe of the place-the decor, the ambiance, the staff...everything was delightful. Two of our friends had contacted Cathy about surprising us with champagne and flowers for our arrival, and she could not have presented it better. The room was comfortable and relaxing; we stayed in room 8, El Patio, and even though it is right by the pool, it is very private. There were a few other couples staying (this is their slow season), and everyone was friendly and we all talked about the beautiful job Cathy has done decorating and making the place welcoming. Linden makes HANDS DOWN the best margarita I've ever had, and he would even put them in plastic cups so we could lounge in the pool and drink them. Linden also makes a world class breakfast each morning-we never even needed to eat lunch, we were so stuffed from breakfast! Cathy had excellent suggestions for restaurants and activities in the area, and checked in with everyone to make sure they were enjoying their stay. Her staff is very friendly and warm (especially Theresa and Linden!), and the rooms and pool were immaculately clean every day. We only had to walk a few blocks to excellent dining and to the town plaza, and we felt very safe not only at the inn but also in the town. The people of Ajijic are truly friendly and helpful, and everyone greets you on the street. If you are traveling to Ajijic, be sure to stay at Casa Del Sol-you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jorcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ajijic hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 8 in Ajijic
163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 8 in Ajijic
355 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 8 in Ajijic
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 8 in Ajijic
4 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Tres Leones
Casa Tres Leones
#2 of 26 in Ajijic
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Nueva Posada
La Nueva Posada
#4 of 26 in Ajijic
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Sol

Property: Casa del Sol
Address: Calle Javier Mina # 7, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing