We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place”
Review of Casa Flores

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ajijic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Flores
Ranked #1 of 26 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Place”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our one week stay at Casa Flores. Our first visit to the lovely lakeside town of Ajijic was enhanced by the unfailingly warm and always helpful hospitality of our hosts Steve and Fernando. We were picked up by Steve at the Guadalajara airport and in a half hour were settling in to our room at the Casa Flores. Our stay there was nothing less than ideal. Yolanda provided us with bountiful and delicious breakfasts which we enjoyed in the lush garden setting. Our comfortable room was tidied up every day and was a treat to come back to after a day of taking in the many sights of colonial Ajijic and surroundings. Located right in the village, Casa Flores is a few minute's walk from everything in Ajijic's historical center. We enjoyed the many and varied restaurants in the area, following Steve's excellent recommendations. No bum steers here. Thanks to Steve and Fernando for sharing their attractive Casa and for their warmth and generous hospitality. We highly recommend Casa Flores and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Each room is unique with a private patio. All are nestled around the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando G, Front Office Manager at Casa Flores, responded to this review, January 22, 2016
It's a honor have that comments, our Casa Flores and our spaces are thinking on you comfort, our team on your attention and our people and town on your
Fun and enjoin, together make a wonderful days with us. Come back soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    11
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
243
65
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed at Casa de las Flores in as many times visiting Ajijic. This B&B is just beautiful, with Garden of Eden like gardens and pool area and a wonderful feel to the whole place. There are several rooms here, but you feel the utmost privacy. It is quiet and tranquil and lovely. Steve and Fernando are great hosts, very accommodating and will do anything for you to make you feel comfortable and relaxed. And watch out for Yolanda's breakfasts - they are nothing short of spectacular (addictive banana pancakes!). Steve was great at providing insight and excellent recommendations for the village, how to get around, and where to optimize my time. I will stay here again on my next trip - Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottE593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando G, Front Office Manager at Casa Flores, responded to this review, January 22, 2016
Thank you for your high recomend, your last experience can be just a taste of all the surprises Ajijic and Casa flores haves for you, we are working for still on the top of B&b list. Come back again and enjoi us !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Casa de las Flores last week and all we can say is great! The location was great, the property was great, the staff was great and we could go on.
Oh yes. Fernando and Steve were the best hosts who did everything they could to make sure our stay was perfect.
Highly recommended!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Henry__hawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando G, Front Office Manager at Casa Flores, responded to this review, January 22, 2016
Thank you guys for your words, it's really great be that for you, our place and staff are always waiting for you again !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

A quaint quiet relaxing space where the mountain view, beautifully groomed flowers and plants and the impecable service makes you want to move in!! The warm reading room, the wonderful breakfast of local seasonal fruit, pancakes from scratch, hot gourmet coffee makes you believe that great service and comfort do not have to set you back in your finances

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Descoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I have traveled extensively all around the globe. Casa Flores was the most relaxing , and magnificent B&B I have been to. Steve and Fernando were so helpful in making my stay perfect. I found the village absolutely charming. Lounging at their solar heated pool was just so stress releasing. The rooms were decorated in a unique and stylish manor, and what a comfortable bed! With breath taking views and delicious food , I know I will return for another stay soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando G, Front Office Manager at Casa Flores, responded to this review, January 25, 2016
Our little place try to be special, and give you reason for come back again, it's a really honor to have that's words of you, that's make us so proud. Come back soon !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Steve and Fernando make you feel at home and their staff gives you excellent attention. This is true.
What's not to like about Casa Flores?-

1. You will be eaten by mosquitoes in the breakfast and lobby area unless you spray yourself all over with a mosquito repellant. Their fuming burners don't help to keep the bugs away. I've been there in the dry season, but there is a lot of plants in the court yard and mosquitoes thrive there.

2. The openings in the bathroom is not screened and the mosquitoes are flying inside. There are also holes in the screens. There were several cases of dandruff fever in this area..

3. We couldn't get hot water after 7 pm. You swim in the pool and then you have cold quick shower. One day we were lucky to have hot water, but it wasn't enough to fill the tub. It looks like their water heaters are very small.

4. The hotel is right near the school and sometimes it is very noisy especially when the band is practicing.

5. Our toilet was clogged every day. This was very annoying, because we needed to ask for assistance every time. Maybe plumbing in Ajijic is bad in general; I don't know.

Every room is designed differently, however it would be better if a professional interior designer was consulted.
The Internet connection was very good.
I wouldn't recommend to drink their boiled water, which they put in the rooms. Research first about the quality of water in Ajijic. I would recommend using your own bottled water for drinking.

We found through our friends a much better hotel in Ajijic for a much lower price and we are planning to stay there next time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BandTforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjijicStevie, Owner at Casa Flores, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
We do not provide boiled water for tea in the rooms. We have coffee makers with all coffee supplies and supply bottled water every day in the suites. This is "mosquito month" in Ajijic and anyone who has any sort of garden will have them. Mosquitos are seasonal in the village. We spray gardens on a regular basis and all our rooms have mosquito nets as an extra precaution, which do not have holes. As for the noise, this happens about once a week after 10am and is very much background noise, barely audible and rarely heard. Toilets do not clog, and there is always hot water, except for 2 hours when there was a problem with water in the village which we gave warning about and had no other issues. We have been #1 in Ajijic for 2 years now and are aware that this would not be the case if these complaints were constant, which they aren't as our other reviews show. NO complaints were made to us whilst this family were here, in fact on the contrary, they were very complimentary and loved the suite and the breakfasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Casa Flores is a quaint, artistic, B&B retreat nestled away in the village of Ajijjic.
It is an ideal location for gadding about, close to the plaza, shops and restaurants.
Steve and Fernando are wonderful at sharing their experiences of village life and are
a font of knowledge re- Ajijic. Steve is also an entertaining raconteur-loves people and it shows.
The rooms are eclectic and stylish-no two the same. The pool (solar heated) and garden (secluded) perfect for reading, having a glass of vino, or just plain relaxing-
Breakfast is whatever you choose-always good.
I loved staying here-It was my home-away til I decided to move to Ajijic permanently.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando G, General Manager at Casa Flores, responded to this review, January 25, 2016
Wen some of our costumers move over here, it's a very special satisfaction for us, this village it's a really amazing. We are so proud for be part of your story and your new life over here.... you most come anytime! !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajijic
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 7 in Ajijic
166 reviews
1.1 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 7 in Ajijic
378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 7 in Ajijic
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 7 in Ajijic
5 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Balneario San Juan Cosala
0.2 mi away
Casa Tres Leones
Casa Tres Leones
#2 of 26 in Ajijic
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Flores

Property: Casa Flores
Address: Calle Zaragoza 38, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique bed and breakfast with 8 beautiful and unique suites. We offer the amenities of a 5-star hotel, along with friendly and personalized service. Hot breakfast is served on your private balcony or patio, or in the dining room overlooking the solar-heated pool and lush garden. The perfect location, just a few blocks from the town plaza, but on a quiet residential street. Relax...read a book...swim a few lengths in the pool. Do as much or as little as you want. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa De Las Flores Hotel Ajijic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing