We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ajijic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Paloma Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 27 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The place is very nice and relaxing. You feel like home but without the urban environment. Even a pet is in the hotel. There is no parking but the surroundings are safe. The climate is pleasant, and tourist places are nearby. The innkeepers are very friendly and attentive. I had no problems and everything was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 89 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

Walking distance to most of Ajijic attractions. Large breakfast and confortable common areas that turn guests into a one single big family. I spent five days in late March and they passed very quickly. Looking to return with my family. Room was spacious and quite.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergio W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Overall our stay at La Paloma was a wonderful experience, Carol & Scottie were great hosts. The common areas, garden & pool area were all comfortable & relaxing. Breakfast was always a time to visit other guests & enjoy Carol's creations. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: During our stay we were in two different rooms & had an opportunity to see a couple of others &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCG369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed at La Paloma for three nights in February. The grounds are so beautiful, we didn't want to leave them. The room was very big and it had very comfortable king bed. The trickle of the water in the fountain was very cozy and nice at night. The stay overall was so relaxing that we felt it was too short. Every morning we had good satisfying breakfast. Carol (the host) was always there to help with our questions. We hope to be back soon and will stay in La Paloma again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Returned to La Paloma in Ajijic after a five year absence to visit friends. Had much fun meeting other world travelers and seeing changes at Lake Chapala. Carol and Vicky made my husband and I very welcomed and helped us with our needs, esp. since I am handicapped. We were very comfortable during our short stay there. P. Rose

Room Tip: Newer rooms next to Paloma's kitchen or lobby are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We recently spent 10 days at La Paloma, and had a wonderful visit. The gardens are beautiful and the rooms are spacious and have lots of storage, so you can unpack and really get comfortable.
What really makes La Paloma special, though are the hosts. While we were there, Vickie was officially "on duty", but Carrol was also there, and both are lovely ladies who are so accommodating and helpful. In addition, Vickie produced an amazing hot breakfast every morning, which often included guacamole made from avocados from their own trees. She's an amazing cook, and everything was just delicious, and so plentiful you barely needed lunch at all.
By the time we left, we felt like old friends. Will definitely go back next time we plan a trip to Ajijic.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Carol and Vicki are great hostesses. We arrived as guests, and left as friends.

Breakfast:
Vicki is a marvellous cook, prepares a tasty breakfast of American and Mexican specialties using local ingredients, including avocados, limes and bananas from their own trees.

Accommodations:
Rooms are spacious, and nicely decorated. Stayed in the Pavo Real. The bed was wonderful. Loved listening to the water fountain in the private courtyard. There is a kitchen, for the use of guests, which is reasonably well equipped. Following a late lunch one day, I went to a super market (2 blocks away), and bought ingredients for a black bean soup (less than $5). We had a lovely evening on the patio, sharing wine, black bean soup, and the companionship of the La Paloma management. Cecy’s laundry is one block away. Cecy washed, dried, and neatly folded a basketful of laundry for only about $7. At times, water pressure is very low, making showers into a game of chase the dribble. When we stayed, the pool was undergoing renovations

Scotty:
“Scottie”, Carol’s Scottish Terrier is very entertaining. He patrols the grounds like as though he is a feudal lord, and the grounds are his personal fiefdom. Although Scottie considers his patrol duties to be of paramount importance, he is generally willing to make time for games of toss and retrieve, or tug-of-war.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FromPictou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ajijic hotels
11.1 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 7 in Ajijic
409 reviews
11.6 mi away
Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo
11.3 mi away
Casa de la Abuela
Casa de la Abuela
#8 of 27 in Ajijic
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 7 in Ajijic
346 reviews
11.5 mi away
Meson Don Quijote
Meson Don Quijote
#4 of 8 in Ajijic
2 reviews
11.1 mi away
La Riberena
La Riberena
#6 of 8 in Ajijic
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Paloma Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Bed and Breakfast

Address: 56 Juan | Jalisco, Ajijic, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range: $55 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing