We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous and Relaxing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ajijic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa del Angel Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 26 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 28, 2007

My wife and were lucky to stay there with Angelique & her parents.
We felt so welcomed from the moment we arrived until the moment we left.
I totally agree with all the previous reviews.
I would recommend the Laguna King Suite for its opulence.
I was able to look at all the other rooms and all were charming.
It is everything you want in a bed and breakfast:
wonderful food, beautiful grounds, lovely proprietors and a spectacular view!
The only problem is you never want to leave!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PhillyLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 86 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2007

Angelique is the personable owner and manager of Villa del Angel and she has thought of everything to create a comfortable, beautiful retreat. Breakfast was delicious and beautifully served. There are several sitting areas with gorgeous views of the lake in which to relax. We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lovethatmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2007

WOW! You don't want to stay anywhere but Villa Del Angel. It is absolutely beautiful and peaceful. The hostess Angelique is so gracious and she is a lovely cook. Every room is unique and feels like its own private suite. The pool is refreshing and the two adorable dogs make great friends. Villa del Angel is a romantic B&B that every visitor to Ajijic should experience for themselves.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Carpwino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2007

Kudos to ¨The Master¨¨ Angelique. I do not know how she does it with so much ease and a smile! The place is FABO! The food, the views. Our suite was a real SUITE. We went for our 30th Wedding anniversary and without asking Ms. Angelique had a bottle of real french champagne, flowers, & chocolates waiting for us. We did not even request such service. But it was a Godsend after our flight from Canada. You can spoil us anytime!She has the most adorable little dogs and a huge macaw.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank travelgals4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2007

The Villa del Angel is not to be missed. For starters, it's perched high above the village with spectacular lake and mountain views from the upper terrace. Even though taxi drivers unfamiliar with the spot have to spin a few tires getting up the last stretch of road to the b and b, the property, in fact, is very accessible through a back garden gate and path to the main plaza, restaurants and shops below.

If ever there was a surprise behind a walled door, it's the Villa del Angel. Terraced gardens, a pool and a gorgeous villa, with its own chapel, are a feast for your eyes the moment you throw open the gate.

If this in itself wasn't enough, Angelique, who holds the fort down, is a spirited and talented host who shows a lot of interest in her guests and her property . She really seems happy to have you around -- even though she's been at the business more than three years. In addition to putting out a superb gourmet breakfast (she once ran a restaurant in California) and helping with local arrangements (she's completely bi-lingual and bi-cultural), she is prompt in handling reservations and advance arrangements. (We had contacted other Ajijic b and bs to ask about reservations before our trip but curiously most didn't get back to us until three or four days later, as it turned out ,three or four days too late.

If you are lucky enough to be around when the rest of her U.S. family is in town, you will be treated to an additional, charming lot. Her father, a retired jazz musician, if around will no doubt warm up the living room's keyboard while you are there.

Rooms are spacious and not without a surprise or two. Ours had a high canopy bed. It also had painted, flying cherubs who, I guess, lulled us to sleep along with the quality mattress. So, if you are going to Ajijic, set the tone right, and stay at the Villa del Angel as long as you can.

Gloria and Lloyd/Tacoma, Washington

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Eljae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2007

KUDOS to Angelique! A real experience to say the least. We too came here based on rave reviews on TRIPADVISOR. It semed as if we never left the villa. By far the nicest property for ANY B & B in the world. We will see you in August. We can hardly wait to come back.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jennyvickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2007

My husband and I decided to make a trip to the real Mexico and ended up in the quaint and charming village of Ajijic.

As you may know, this is a popular destination for not only people from Guadalajara but many Americans and Canadians that have chosen to retire here.

Our first visit, but certainly not the last, was absolutely beyond our expectations and a big part of this was our stay at Villa del Angel. This 10,000+ sq. ft. home sits above the village with breathtaking views of Mexico's largest lake, Chapala and the surrounding mountains.

The villa may be a little hard to find but was very hard to leave!

You will read in other reviews about Angelique and Reuben's gracious hospitality and fabulous breakfasts. Let us assure you, that everything you read is true and much more. Reuben will not only greet you at the gate but will recommend the best restaurants (which are many), as well as even order Domino's for delivery to your room. Angelique is an extremely gracious hostess that is also a fabulous cook. One night she decided to make tostadas for the guests. She even set up a one hour massage for each of us in the villa.

This is the best B & B we have ever stayed at and it absolutely made our trip to Ajijic one we will never forget! If you are looking for a great place to stay for a few nights or a few weeks, you are in good hands with Reuben and Angelique.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JLoots4125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ajijic hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 7 in Ajijic
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo
0.6 mi away
La Nueva Posada
La Nueva Posada
#4 of 26 in Ajijic
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 7 in Ajijic
340 reviews
1.1 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 7 in Ajijic
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meson Don Quijote
Meson Don Quijote
#4 of 6 in Ajijic
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Angel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Angel Bed and Breakfast

Address: Privada de Juarez #3 | Between Juarez and Tempisque, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique B&B overlooking the villa of Ajijic and Lake Chapala. The closest B&B to heaven. Spectacular views. 4 1/2 Blocks from main plaza in Ajijic. Not handicap friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Del Angel b&b
Villa Del Angel Hotel Ajijic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing