We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost like a spa retreat”
Review of Los Artistas B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ajijic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Los Artistas B & B
Ranked #8 of 26 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost like a spa retreat”
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Very conveniently located - ideal for a solo female traveller - very safe area - easy to walk to everywhere. (Thanks to Kent and Linda for the very helpful little map - it never left my pocket.) Food was superb, room was very clean and comfortable. The grounds are possibly some of the finest in the area. I enjoyed the pool each afternoon when the shops were closed. If you are not dog people - the dogs are not "obvious" as long as you can resist the "looks" that only bassets can deliver!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maritimer214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
95
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

In late March my wife and I spent a couple of days at Los Artistas B&B. The only complaint I have is that we could not stay longer.This is truly an oasis.The gardens are wonderfully relaxing and lovingly tended by long time gardener and handyman Jose'. We stayed in the Grand Bedroom where we enjoyed a wonderfully quiet rest in this elagantlly furnished room.We enjoyed chatting with the owners Kent and Linda who were more then willing to give us insight and advise about the surrounding area.Las Artistas is located in a quiet part of town but remains convieniently within walking distance of many of Ajijic's wonderful shops,restauraunts and markets.We look forward to returning to Los Artistas when we are once again in Ajijic.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

This was our first time in Ajijic and we were delighted with our stay at Los Artistas! it was a little of paradise! The garden was so beautiful and well-kept; full of flowers and fruit trees, a lovely fountain, and alive with birds. The room was charming, clean and tastefully decorated in a Mexican style. The house itself was lovely with warm colours and great art and sculptures. The breakfasts were very good and provided us with a wonderful opportunity to meet and talk to other guests as well as to our hospitable hosts.
The location of Los Artistas is ideal. It is within easy walking distance to many amenitiies stuch as restaurants, banks, the market, the waterfront, and the Plaza.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there .would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naturelover52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2010

The service is excellent. Everyone caters to you so well, making you feel welcome and like family, taking care of all your needs! The food is prepared so fresh and delicious, the gardens are beautiful, lovingly cared for and designed for a peaceful rest. The casitas are very cozy & inviting, the decor is perfectly charming, just what is needed after a long days travel. Ajijic is a charming & quaint little village, with winding cobblestone roads, intriguing little shops, excellent restaurants, tucked between a beautiful mountain and Lake Chapalla. And if you like horseback riding it's the place to go! All of it at very affordable, very reasonable prices! I can't wait to go back with my husband and friends!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delivered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2010

You will enjoy the personal care extended and the beautiful setting. I have traveled to many places throughout the world and Los Artistas B & B is by far my favorite. You feel right "at home" and can just sit and relax or walk through the quaint town, down cobble stone streets along the lake front. Dining, local markets, a walk in the mountains, natural hot springs and horse back riding are all close by. Its not a question of if i would return, it how soon can i get back. I know you will enjoy this as much as I do.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fun-n-free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Great location in the village for walking. Room was pleasant, quiet and private. Lovely gardens. The hosts, Ken and Linda, were gracious and most helpful in providing information about the area. We looked forward to the excellent breakfasts each morning.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vagabundos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Our room was cheeful and welcoming with a large closet and chest of drawers. Also included in the room was a loveseat and 2 chairs. The bathroom was large and had great water pressure. Maid service was provided daily which included a pitcher of purified drinking water. The grounds are beautiful and provide a peaceful place to relax and enjoy the beauty of nature all around you. The commons area available to guests is tastefully decorated in folk art and adds to the charm of the place. Breakfast was delicious and a great time to meet some of the other guests and catch up on their adventures. The location is very easy walking distance to several restaurants, shopping, the lake, mass transit, etc. As we went about our daily activities from time to time someone we would meet would ask us where we were staying and when we told them Los Artistas they would tell us without exception that "Kent and Linda will take good care of you". and they were right.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goofeynewfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ajijic hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 7 in Ajijic
165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 7 in Ajijic
360 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 7 in Ajijic
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 7 in Ajijic
5 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ajijic Suites
Ajijic Suites
#5 of 26 in Ajijic
201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Tres Leones
Casa Tres Leones
#2 of 26 in Ajijic
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Artistas B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Artistas B & B

Property: Los Artistas B & B
Address: Constitucion #105, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Artistas is a spectacular, serene, secure B & B located on the north shore of Mexico's largest lake in historic Ajijic, location of the world's best climate. Six guest rooms, each with unique decor and private bath, provide views of its vast, park-like gardens, swimming pool, fountains, and fishpond, as well as the mountains which ring mile high Lake Chapala. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing