We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opportunities for Improvement”
Review of Hotel Casa Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casa Blanca
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ajijic
Merida
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Opportunities for Improvement”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I wanted to like this hotel. The front desk people were friendly and the location excellent. But there were a few huge negatives. The first is that my room desperately needed a ceiling fan. The floor fan provided had a bent pole and I could never get it to oscillate. It was also noisy. The bed was comfortable, but management needs to invest in new towels. Breakfast was "sincere" but unimaginative, especially the weak coffee. Either do it right or not at all. That said, the internet speed was excellent and the notebook provided in the room was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kehoedds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCB-Ajijic, Manager at Hotel Casa Blanca, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are taking your suggestions very seriously; we have already changed the fan and the towels, and will be updating our breakfast options. Your input is very valuable to us, so thank you again. Best wishes to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    34
    11
    2
    8
See reviews for
19
76
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We booked this hotel mainly because of location but ended up so pleased with the owners and staff that we would recommend it to travelers with business anywhere in the surrounding area. When we booked we happened to mention an up coming anniversary and were delighted by a beautiful vase and flower arrangement and bottle of wine greeting us on arrival.

Staff went out of their way to accommodate us when we made requests and were very helpful when we asked for suggestions regarding entertainment/meal choices.

The driver who picked us up at the airport was so informative on the trip to Ajijic that we hired him later in the week for an all day trip to Guadalajara. It was great fun and we would recommend Jamie for any such trips if you want a guided tour as opposed to just floundering around by yourself.

The best part of our week in Ajijic was the areas' wonderful climate. Consistently beautiful days and all our NOB allergies and other maladies disappeared the first day and weren't felt again until we got off the plane in Texas.

Pam and Matt have done a great job with this quaint little hotel and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCB-Ajijic, Owner at Hotel Casa Blanca, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
It was such a pleasure to meet the both of you and happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for the kind review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

There are several fine hotels and B&Bs in Ajijic, and Hotel Casa Blanca is certainly one of them! It's wonderfully located on a pretty little street, just three blocks from the plaza, three blocks from the malecon (boardwalk) on the lakeshore, about five blocks from the main road, and directly across the street from the Lake Chapala Society headquarters and grounds.

Our room was spacious, with a huge, comfortable bed. There was a lovely cross-breeze, so during the day the room never got over-warm, and at night it cooled to a pleasant temperature for sleeping. The room opened onto a pretty back patio with fountain; this was shared with an adjacent room. The bathroom was also spacious and everything was spotlessly clean. The water took a while to warm up (which is typical for the area) but it did get HOT. All the linens were new and of good quality. There was a sizable flat-panel TV (which we barely used) and solid WiFi reception (which we used a lot), as well as a mini-fridge, an additional sink in the bedroom proper, and a purified water dispenser.

The common/breakfast area was open and beautiful. The included breakfast of fruit, bread, pastries, granola, cereal, eggs (on request... or staff might simply suggest them), coffee and juice was ample, and it was so wonderful to sit with fellow guests over breakfast and chat about our days and plans. Everyone we talked to was so pleased with the accommodations.

The bar (Bogart's) was a highlight -- it's part of the hotel, street-side, and the scene of various organised activities from one evening to the next. It was great to come back to the hotel after an afternoon on walkabout and plop down on a bar stool for a couple of drinks. On our last night we watched Casablanca (of course) on a big screen there with a half-dozen other guests. (It is a non-smoking venue, by the way, which seemed the norm in the area and suited me just fine.)

There was also a rooftop sitting area where we enjoyed the stunning view during the day and watched the stars at night.

The new owners (since late 2012) and staff are super helpful, friendly, and down-to-earth. There are some old negative reviews here on Trip Advisor, but they don't apply anymore under the new management. Next time we stay in Ajijic, it will be at Hotel Casa Blanca!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Qakwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCB-Ajijic, Owner at Hotel Casa Blanca, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
We value your opinion and want to thank you for the delightful review. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I was down in February 2014 with my sister and brother-in-law to see Ajijia and the Lake Chapala area and boy was I in for a treat!!

I was taken aback by the lovely design and decor at Casa Blanca!! The lobby area with the mural on the ceiling was beautiful. I really felt transported to a different place!! My room was charming and quite spacious. I was in #8 just above the first courtyard and enjoyed the view from the upstairs room. The views from the mirador are splendid. Actually enjoyed looking at the stars a couple nights. The staff was very friendly and outgoing. "Bogarts" lounge was a huge asset. It was nice to be able to go down to Bogarts for an evening cocktail and not have to worry about walking all over town. Owners Pam and Matt were very friendly and helpful. The staff was also wonderful. Bartender Susan was also a joy!! All around a wonderful experience. I can't wait to go back.

Until I actually make the move in 2-3 years, I will be back and I will be staying at Casa Blanca!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rameytwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was our first trip to Ajijic, so we wanted a place that was close to everything because we were not going to rent a car. The owners of Casa Blanca were so helpful with all of our questions about where to eat and places to see. The staff was just as polite as the owners and we felt so safe and secure in our place. The best part was the mirador on top...nice new furniture and a great place to watch the sun go down. They ordered food to be delivered to our room and made the arrangements for the driver to take us back to the airport. Anything we asked for-we got! The only thing I think they should add would be ceiling fans-that would make it look like Casa Blanca and cool you off after a day of exploring! We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S00ziI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We just returned from our trip in Ajijic and a wonderful week at the Hotel Casablanca. This was our first trip to Ajijic and our stay at this charming and beautiful hotel has made our trip very enjoyable indeed. The owners of this small and friendly hotel, Matt and Pamela, are a super couple - very friendly and helpful. They arranged our pickup and drop off from and to the airport, and also my dental appointment. The daily breakfast includes fresh fruit, coffee, juice, pastries and cereals in the comfortable courtyard surrounded by beautiful plants and a fountain. We enjoyed meeting and chatting with the other guests while having our breakfast every morning. We also enjoyed relaxing and chatting with the other guests at the Bogart Bar which is in the hotel. It's not a large and loud bar but rather a small and intimate one where meeting and chatting with others is easy. The location of the hotel is very convenient and a short walk to the Malecon, restaurants, galleries, etc. The hotel is central but still quiet at night. Our room was downstairs with a beautiful fountain in a small private back patio with a small table, and at the front with a bench by the door open to a lovely courtyard with a dining table for breakfast. There is a mini fridge, a microwave oven, a few dishes and cups as well as a sink in the room. The decor was whimsical and colorful with reasonable amounts of storage. It was cleaned daily. We think it is a very good value and the wonderful memory it has created for us will stay with us for a very long time. Thank you so much Matt and Pamela!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was my first trip to Ajijic to scout expat living options, after my wife had made the initial scouting trip in December. This is a wonderful B&B, with attentive, kind and involved owners from the US and Mexican staff members who bent over backwards to make our stay comfortable. Beautiful grounds with courtyards with fountains, large and comfortable rooms with amenities of a good B&B, and a nice mirador (roof deck). Very good continental-style breakfast - all I needed was the fresh local fruit and the Vera Cruz bean coffee.

Walk or use a rental golf cart to the local multiple excellent dining and shopping options in the central village. Visit the small and large churches in the Plaza either for worship or just plain gawking at the beauty of the architecture. Before or after dinner hit the small bar in the front of the B&B, Bogarts. We interacted with both other guests and with friendly local expat residents who dropped in, who each serve as personal tour or information guides if you ask.

A must consider place to stay if you are going to Ajijic.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajijic
0.7 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 7 in Ajijic
386 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 7 in Ajijic
329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 7 in Ajijic
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Balneario San Juan Cosala
0.9 mi away
La Joya del Lago
La Joya del Lago
#6 of 7 in Ajijic
14 reviews
9.1 mi away
El Chante Spa Hotel
El Chante Spa Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jocotepec
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Blanca

Property: Hotel Casa Blanca
Address: 16 de Septiembre # 29, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Casa Blanca in Ajijic, Jalisco, Mexico.In this stunning boutique hotel in the heart of Ajijic village, the world just seems to fade away. If you are looking for a sparkling clean, tranquil hotel in the most convenient location in Ajijic, this is it. Our commitment to hospitality, comfort, privacy and attention to detail helps ensure a relaxing and enjoyable stay in the Lake Chapala area.Whether you are interested in retiring in Mexico, vacationing with family or friends, or travelling solo, top-rated Hotel Casa Blanca is the area's best choice for high-quality lodging at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Blanca Ajijic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing