We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casa Blanca
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ajijic
Certificate of Excellence
Manitoba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2008

Clean, comfortable and centrally located. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying there. Staff very helpful and accommodating.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — No Fridge or Stove
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pixframer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    31
    9
    2
    8
See reviews for
17
74
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2008

Great place in a great town. The Casa Blanca is a beautiful boutique bed and breakfast. We had a lovely room over Christmas, clean and fresh decor. The upstairs balcony is a lovely suntrap. The owner and staff are all fantastic. Breakfast is toast, jam and coffee. We found it a nice safe place for a family, but we were the only young family there at the time. Most of the other residents were older couples.

  • Liked — Sitting on the roof top balcony
  • Disliked — Sleeping in was a bit difficult with people eating breakfast below in the courtyard.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Citronella36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2008

This hotel has a small bed and breakfast feel. The room was comfortable and clean, but no refrig nor stove. The bed comfortable. The hotel has an interesting decorating scheme and fun views. Breaktfast is coffee, juice, toast and muffins. There is a neat breakfast shop next door with reasonable prices. Waking in the morning to near silence is a treat. An occasional rooster crowing, but that is all. It is a quiet street but across from the Lake Chapala Society meeting which has lots of activities and connections. It is hard to find, we took a taxi from the bus station in Guadalajara. The driver had to ask several police to find the place. Ask for directions before you come.

Know that the hotel has set reception hours. With small hotel comes some limits, we arrived at 10:10 and were greeted with, "You are late, if you had arrived five minutes later we would have closed and you wouldn't have been able to check in until tomorrow?" This after a five hour flight, two hours frustration finding a bus and six hour bus ride was not a welcome greeting. We had not eaten so asked about restaurants, to be told they were all closed, thankfully a guest offered a suggestion which yield magnificant homemade tacos. Other times people at the reception were helpful.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable
  • Disliked — Reception courtesy
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelerMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2007

Nothing less than Excellent.**** Nice convienient location. The owner and ALL employees are fantastic. The room was excellent as well as the continental breakfast. I was fortunate to be there during the day of the Dead celebration and the Plaza was full of colors, music and people from all over. I would recomend this B&B to anyone. Better hurry as they are in the process of renovating it into a place for elderly.....

Helpful?
3 Thank gmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2007

The Hotel Casa Blanca is a first rate bed & breakfast, conveniently located in the heart of Ajijic. The ownership, management, and staff were friendly, welcoming, and informative--everything you could possibility hope for in a well run establishment of this type. I stayed in a well appointed room with a lovely view of the garden and courtyard below. The Casa Blanca’s location is optimal, within easy walking distance of shops, bars, restaurants, galleries and the shores of Lake Chapla. Beyond the clean and well maintained accommodations, the obliging staff made my short stay unforgettable.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Somewhat high cost for Mexico
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Muzungu75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2007

We arrived in Ajijic by cab from Tlaquepaque with reservations at a B&B other than Casa Blanca hotel, only to find that the B&B, for which we had pre-paid half of our three night stay, was closed. In all fairness, the next day we did get our money back from the B&B, but imagine our surprise to find the doors locked when we tried to get in.

Anyway, to our good fortune, Casa Blanca is located very nearby and we walked in to find the most helpful owner Casa Blanca, Joseph, ready to resolve our problem. We ended up in a wonderful room with a balcony overlooking the front patio and enjoyed his hospitality and that of his staff during our stay. The room was very comfortable, the continental breakfast in the lovely patio area is good. Free internet access is available. and the location of the hotel is perfect for exploring Ajijic village. It is right across the street from the Lake Chapala Society, a must visit for anyone considering becoming an expat. The grounds are beautiful and the services there are extensive.

When it was time to leave Ajijic, we paid Joseph to drive us to the main Guadalajra bus station for our trip to San Blas. After unloading our bags and saying our goodbyes to Joseph we headed into the terminal to wait for our bus, only to discover that I had left my "bolsa", filled with passports, money, camera, eyeglasses and such in Joseph's car. After recovering from the initial shock, I called Casa Blanca and spoke with Jesus who called Joseph. Joseph returned with my bolsa and all ended well. Thank you Joseph!

A few lessons learned from the experience: When you take a cab, be sure to make a note (mental or, if you are over 50, written) of the cab number. If we had been in a cab, rather than in Joseph's car, we would have been sunk. Also, always travel with a public phone calling card, as you never know when you might need to make a call in a hurry.

And a final note about Ajijic. Do not miss dinner at Pampa Tango, a year-old Argentinian steakhouse. We shared 2 margaritas, a 500g (17.5 oz.) sirloin (prepared to perfection) served with french fries, spinach fritters, salad, flan for dessert and a bottle of Argentinian wine (a Cab/Shiraz blend) for about $33, including tip. The steak was less than what one would pay for a martini at home.

  • Liked — Hospitality of owner and staff, Location
  • Disliked — Liked it all
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank 2fortheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2006

We loved the staff and for $69.00 per night it was OK. The beds are Mexican (hard) but did have a K.S. bed. The room was on the small side but had a balcony so we could get some air. The room was clean but had almost no English subtitled channels. The bathroom was clean but small. They had a nice Computer cafe we could use for no extra charge. The breakfast was limited. They had a nice indoor patio and great views from the Mirador. Overall we did not care for the Ajijic area. The best description to me would be "funky"

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank macmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajijic
0.7 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 8 in Ajijic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 8 in Ajijic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
9.1 mi away
El Chante Spa Hotel
El Chante Spa Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jocotepec
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Balneario San Juan Cosala
0.5 mi away
Casa Tres Leones
Casa Tres Leones
#2 of 24 in Ajijic
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Riberena
La Riberena
#2 of 6 in Ajijic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Blanca

Property: Hotel Casa Blanca
Address: 16 de Septiembre #29, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Casa Blanca in Ajijic, Jalisco, Mexico.In this stunning boutique hotel in the heart of Ajijic village, the world just seems to fade away. If you are looking for a sparkling clean, tranquil hotel in the most convenient location in Ajijic, this is it. Our commitment to hospitality, comfort, privacy and attention to detail helps ensure a relaxing and enjoyable stay in the Lake Chapala area.Whether you are interested in retiring in Mexico, vacationing with family or friends, or travelling solo, top-rated Hotel Casa Blanca is the area's best choice for high-quality lodging at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Blanca Ajijic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing