We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay - just as good as the first”
Review of Hotel Casa Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casa Blanca
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ajijic
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Staying at Casa Blanca is wonderful. Joseph and his staff are never too busy to assist us or go out of their way for us. We highly recommend this hotel for all our friends. And talking to the locals since we've been here, everyone is in agreement that Casa Blanca is top notch, numero uno, here in Ajijic.

Room Tip: I don't believe there is a BAD room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NascarFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 169 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2011

Wonderful place to stay in a unique charming town--very safe area of Mexico.
Continental breakfast in the courtyard--several outdoor areas to relax including roof top area with views of town, mountains, and the lake. The staff works overtime to make sure all aspects of your trip are memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Ajijic is a lovely cobbled town with enjoyable strolling, shopping and restaurants. Sadly, the well-regarded French restaurant in the hotel was closed for vacation (as were others post-Easter) - but maybe that was a good thing since our room was sandwiched between two adjacent courtyards. As one reviewer noted, noisy. NB: the breakfast included with the $89/night room was unworthy of the name 'continental.' Kiddie cereal, bad toast and lousy coffee in styrofoam cups. Not acceptable! However, the bed was comfortable, room was clean and attractive with a nice tile bathroom (shower only). TV if you cared to tune in, but one lonely bed side light. Rooftop needs attention to fully realize its potential. The owner and staff was accommodating, especially in light of our very late arrival. FYI: We travelled by car from Mazatlan, Sinloa to Najarit/PV to Guadalajara/Lake Chappala without problems despite US Govt. warnings and local cautions about safety and security; seemingly overblown if you exercise good judgement. (use the toll road (cuota) and mind the fuel gauge!)

Room Tip: some rooms w/ kitchenettes; or tower suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlle56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

The purpose of my visit to Ajijic was to attend my own book signing for my latest novel, HOLY BETRAYAL.

About a year ago I stayed at Casa Blanca, during a business trip, and was more than pleased with the room assigned to me, staff and location. When I knew I would be making this latest trip to Ajijic, I naturally thought of Casa Blanca as the place to stay. This time I was even more lucky, I could book a room for an entire week at Casa Blanca, and, to my surprise an excellent full-menu restaruant (Laurent's) has been added to the establishment. That meant I could have beverages and finger foods served at my book signing and meet friends there for lunch, drinks or dinner.

The staff at Casa Blanca treated me like royalty. Those who have lugged several cartons of books around know how bulky and heavy they can be. One of the staff gladly carried the cartons, along with my luggage to my room and helped me move books the day of the book signing. That, in itself, was a bonus.

The restaurant (Laurent's) put its entire staff and restaurant at my disposal. It was my pleasure to hear everyone attending the book signing commenting on how wonderful the food was, the restaurant and hotel, the staff of both and the two lovely patios Casa Blanca keeps in sparkling condition..

The two friends who met me at the bus station in Guadalajara and transported me in their van to the hotel told me that although they have a selection of lovely hotels in Mexico, they would love to spend their next vacation at Casa Blanca. That, in itself, is a testimony of the charm of Casa Blanca.

Will I stay at Casa Blanca again--what a silly question--of course I will. The price is more than fair, the staff is wonderful, as is Joseph the owner (who was as concerned as I that my computer would be repaired before I departed), the location is an easy walk to el centro and its many shops, and those guests I met at Casa Blanca were vacationers from countries outside of Mexico as well as other cities in Mexico. Obviously the news of a great place to stay travels fast and far and wide.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alizbuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 26, 2011

Muchisimas gracias! We really appreciate you choosing to have such an important event here. We are certainly looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

I came to Ajijic to see if it might be a place to spend some time when I retire, since the climate is reputed to be perfect, the cost of living is low, and the people are friendly. We chose to stay at the Casa Blanca Ajijic because it looked charming and was perfectly located near the lake and the plaza. We found all of this to be true and especially loved our room and the proprietors of the Casa Blanca, who made us feel as if we had been "regulars" for years, as several of the guests there at the time actually were. We all enjoyed conversations together outside at breakfast and on and off through the day, and passed the time reading on the patio, walking along the lake, shopping and eating in local spots, or sitting on a bench people-watching at the plaza. Food and drink were excellent, by the way. I am very much looking forward to becoming one of the "regulars" myself. Many thanks to Joseph, Meredith, Karlos, and others whose names I didn't get, for their warm Mexican hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kate_Albany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 26, 2011

It was truly a pleasure getting to know you. We look forward to having you join our "regulars"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

I stayed here for one night but would have loved to stay longer. The hotel is beautiful and the bedroom was lovely. The shower in my room was fantastic - the facilties are definatley 4 star. I also had a lovely meal in the restaurant which was very busy. The service was professional, the food was fantastic and the price for the quality of food was very low. All in all i would definatley reccommend this hotel and i will be back x

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaineabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 7, 2011

We look forward to your next visit! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

I'm looking at buying a house in Lake Chapala and also doing real estate business at the Lake. I found Joseph, the owner of the hotel, and an American, to be informative, an entrepreneur, quietly gracious and sociable. All my needs were met.

To find out how business operates at Lakeside, this is definitely the place to stay.

3000+-member Lake Chapala Society is right across the street!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 14erSummiteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 7, 2011

We are always happy to help in any way we can. Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Casa Blanca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajijic
0.7 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 7 in Ajijic
395 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 7 in Ajijic
338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 7 in Ajijic
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Balneario San Juan Cosala
9.1 mi away
El Chante Spa Hotel
El Chante Spa Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jocotepec
84 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Joya del Lago
La Joya del Lago
#6 of 7 in Ajijic
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Blanca

Address: 16 de Septiembre # 29, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ajijic
Price Range: $72 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Casa Blanca in Ajijic, Jalisco, Mexico.In this stunning boutique hotel in the heart of Ajijic village, the world just seems to fade away. If you are looking for a sparkling clean, tranquil hotel in the most convenient location in Ajijic, this is it. Our commitment to hospitality, comfort, privacy and attention to detail helps ensure a relaxing and enjoyable stay in the Lake Chapala area.Whether you are interested in retiring in Mexico, vacationing with family or friends, or travelling solo, top-rated Hotel Casa Blanca is the area's best choice for high-quality lodging at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Blanca Ajijic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing