We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mole' and other good things”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ritchie 88

Ritchie 88
Ranked #12 of 145 Restaurants in Ajijic
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mole' and other good things”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I'm NOT a big Mole' fan but the chef here knows what she is doing...it was Great!! We laughed as the owner talked me into trying it again mentioning all the spices and such...was I ever glad I trusted her....it was terrific!!! right off the Plaza, it is easy to get to.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZZBottoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    35
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“richie 88”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We visited Richie 88 because of Tripadvisor ranking it #2. We were very disappointed. Service was horrible. We waited 30 minutes for a cup of coffee, and longer for our food. Just eggs and they were Ok but we will never go back. There were no other customers when we were there, and still no one came to give us a menu. Maybe lunch is better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ginnyg6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family Atmosphere with Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stopped by for a late breakfast at Ritchie 88, which is just 1/2 block north of Plaza on Colon.
Patricia the owner and her family were extremely hospitable and shared the family history.
Their daughter is studying to be chef and her husband prepared the food.
Ate on the patio in the back and had great food, plus superb coffee.
Plan to go back for a lunch - only open from 8 AM to 4 PM

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“upscale nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

very good food a little pricey compared to others in ajijic but worth it upscale dining for the area

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cigarscotchtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“friendly place, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is like eating at your grandma's house. The owners seem to know a lot of the customers and they treat everyone like royalty. For about 10 dollars, I had a mega burger with fries and a lemonade. The gentleman sitting at the table next to me highly recommended the lasagna, which I hope to try next time in town. They really do go out of their way to make you feel welcome here and the food is pretty good too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hansblix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ritchie 88 also viewed

 

Been to Ritchie 88? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing