We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tex Mex And Authentic Mexica”
Review of El Serape - CLOSED

El Serape
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Chapala, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tex Mex And Authentic Mexica”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I love Tex Mex and the crispy tacos hit the spot. My husband a Chamoro , very authentic preparation and delicious. Service was not great that night, I think the waiter was new. Our other dinner companion had a chimichanga, it was gigantic. This is a great little spot.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betsy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Value and quality”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

El Serape is a local "institution" in Ajijic and it has stayed in business for a reason. They deliver good food at reasonable prices in a warm and friendly atmosphere. We go here for their Chamorro and they never fail to deliver. Generous portions (take home portion size) well prepared and tasty. As noted elsewhere you might have to wait for them to run out for wine but if you let them know beforehand they will have some on hand. A very nice change of pace place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ericurmudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Colourful Ambiance”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a family run restaurant with a Méxican flavour. The food is very good and the price are reasonable. Easy parking. They cater to private parties there or in your home.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Excellent value Tex-Mex, inexpensive and well prepared”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

One of the things that always troubles me when writing restaurant reviews for TripAdvisor is that every sort of place is lumped together, to be assessed with a single scale. This is silly. A bad pretentious restaurant should rank poorly, to be sure, but a restaurant that isn't high end but is best in its class should conversely be rated highly. I add this preface to explain my Excellent ranking for El Serape.


El Serape has been around for about fifteen years now, and reliably serves 'Tex-Mex'--more accurately Mexican American--fare most would recognize from typical places in the US. Critically it does s good job of this. The place is clean and well kept. 'Platos' of various types are large and carefully prepared. Most combination plates run $60-75 (pesos). Drinks are fairly priced, although if you were to order wine they might have to run out and get some for you (which they will do).

In contrast to more downmarket places, the kitchen uses bottled water, etc.

Perhaps the only downside is that El Serape is on the Carretera and can be a little noisy. Even so, it is well set back from the road, in contrast, say to Gossip's.

Give it a try!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NormBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Serape also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing