We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Friendly”
Review of La Una - CLOSED

La Una
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, indoors or outdoors in our lush garden.Featuring Eggs Benedict, New Mexican style Huevos Rancheros, new and improved Belgium Waffle, fresh baked croissant sandwiches and wonderful salads.Our dinner menu includes Duck confit with orange sauce, Duck breast with raspberry sauce, Quail, Filet Mignon, various seafood and more.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

A wonderful, charming place in the heart if Ajijic. The garden area is intimate and the staff attentive and friendly. The food is delicious with a creative menu that reflects the charm of the the establishment.
I have eaten there many times and find the sandwiches and salad consistently fresh. The eggs benedict, served on a croissant, are the best in town. We try to dine here at least once a week when we are in the mood for a unique menu, good service and friendly hosts.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chapatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas F, Owner at La Una, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Senor Chapatom,
Your review is greatly appreciated! This review sounds like it was written by a professional restaurant critic. Perhaps you would consider writing for La Una.
Thank you for the kind and wonderful words.
Susanna & Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 143 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is not a big fancy restaurant, but we chose it for our last night out in Ajijic. Douglas and Susanna are friendly, unobtrusive hosts who present a limited, good quality menu in a small, intimate setting. Our salmon was seared perfectly and, with the stuffed potato and cucumber salad made a light, delicious meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KanadaKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas F, Owner at La Una, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a second review. When you say " limited " I think you mean for vegetarian dinners. We will do our best to have a wider selection of vegetarian dinners when you return.
Cheers
Susanna & Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The court yard at the back is a perfect spot for a quiet lunch. We ate here a number of times both breakfast and lunch. The sandwiches and salads are fresh and tasty and the breakfast special of tortillas layered with refried beans and topped with two fried eggs and a red sauce was outstanding. The sauce was smokey and spicy, but not too much. A must try

Thank tacnav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas F, Owner at La Una, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thanks for the nice review! The special you liked is a favorite dish in my original home in New Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I heard good reviews for this small restaurant in the center of town. Select a table in the back garden. It is cosy and modestly decorated. Service was average as was the food. My Eggs Rancheros was smothered with far too much sauce. My partner's salad was average at best. The lettuce was limp and not fresh. With so much competition in Ajijic I doubt we'll return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DGL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas F, Manager at La Una, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thanks for the review. Too bad you didn't have a better experience at La Una. Enjoy your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very expensive for the quality. Waited forever for food then they brought my food long before my husbands. Won't go back.

Thank Feds294201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas F, Owner at La Una, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. Judging from your other reviews I take this as a compliment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Una also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing