We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent pasta and great service....”

La Taverna dei Quattro Mori
Ranked #53 of 145 Restaurants in Ajijic
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Excellent pasta and great service....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

A treat for us. A first time here in the western part of Ajijic. Nice menu and daily specials. Pasta is homemade and delicious. Lots of options to choose from. Service and bar selections were good
Nice atmosphere on the whole. Will for sure go back soon. Cheers and Happy eats.
:)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivafood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    26
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
150 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good home style Italian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The owners are from Liverno, Italy. The food is very authentic and good. The venue does not feel at all commercial, not a chain restaurant at all. It's more of a mom and pop restaurant that has grown quite popular over the years. First discovered by the local expats and now a favored place for the Guadalajara Mexican foodies. I would highly recommend it. Not fancy, but authentic and often uncommon food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fools4Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Twice, excellant bot times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

I really hate to give this place a good review since I may not be able to get in when I want to. My wife and I have dined here twice, once with friends and once alone. It was outstanding both times. We love the feel of the place. We have always set outside but, there is a dinning room in the back. The special board always has something interesting, my wife had lamb liver and onions last time and it was to die for. Perfectly cooked, fork tender, I was sorry I had something else but it was good too. The wait staff is attentive and very friendly, we enjoy the entire experience each tme we have dined here. Please stay away so we will no be disapointed when we want to have dinner here. I'm kidding,--maybe not.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank edrasa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach FL
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Freshest Pasta Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

It's located at the west end of Ajijic on the corner of a small strip center. You have to really look to find it. Our hostess pointed it out to us and warned not to be in a hurry because everything is made from scratch - including the pasta. I ordered the shrimp alfredo while my husband ordered the lasagna. Both were outstanding and portions very generous. The alfredo sauce was not super thick nor overwhelming in garlic, which is a plus to me. They brought out fresh baked bread with olive oil. Later a basket of fresh baked pizza crust was delivered to our table. I had never eaten plain pizza crust but wow, it was lightly seasoned and very good. The margaritas were so-so but not the greatest.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TeresaLouPCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna dei Quattro Mori also viewed

 
Ajijic, Jalisco
 

Been to La Taverna dei Quattro Mori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing