We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local improvements”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ajijic Malecon

Ajijic Malecon
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Ajijic
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Local improvements”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was impressed that a local couple took it upon themselves to improve the area by paying to have the area cleaned up, put in new garbage cans, a newly created bench and potted flowers along one part of the Malecon... well done John and Linda.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    189
    47
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Relaxation at its best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

It's gorgeous and I hope it never gets busy on the weekends with Tapatios like Chapala. It's mostly finished but there's still some work that is being done (eg building stairs to the beach.) There are areas for your bbq and some picnic tables...a skate park for the kids on the west end and in between, some playgrounds for the younger kids.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SerenaM234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a view of relaxed Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Take a walk along the well lighted and well kept Malecon and just soak it all up. Take a look and a listen of all that is going on around you and enjoy. You will get to see a beautiful sunset if your timing is right along with all the others who have come out to enjoy the day along side the lake in a clean and safe setting.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ZZBottoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ajijic Malecon aye que rico!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I hadn't been to Ajijic in 10 years.....at that time there was no malecon, just a polluted lake. In Sept. 2012 I was delighted to find the lake sparkling, people walking up and down the malecon, children playing, and no yucky smells coming from the Lake. There were many areas designated for different activities such as an amphitheater, a special section designed for skateboarding enthusiasts with different architectural elements to enhance their experience. It was so nice to see so many people of different ages enjoying the lakeside. I understand that boat tours are offered around Lake Chapala but we didn't have the time to indulge. Ajijic is alive and well, despite all the negative hype from the media. Our trip was delightful and very relaxing. Cannot wait to go back in April!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kaneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely walk in the mornings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

There is no better place to stroll, or to walk your dog than the malecón. Beautiful scenery. Not so keen on the new skate park... but if you go in the morning, you should be okay!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ajijic Malecon also viewed

 

Been to Ajijic Malecon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing