We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great entertainment, borring food”

La Bodega de Ajijic
Ranked #60 of 145 Restaurants in Ajijic
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great entertainment, borring food”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This place get some of the best entertainers of the area. Just rather boring food.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    20
    17
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bad food and terrible service”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Dont go here. The service was the worst in Ajijic and the food so mediocre it is not worth mentioning. After eating shrimp daily in Mazatlan, this shrimp was tiny, dried up and had no flavor at all. Forget this place.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
137 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We eat here often. My wife likes the shrimp a la diabla Felix and I like the cilantro shrimp. The restaurant is on a quiet street (16 de Septiembre) away from the hubbub. It is very popular with expat Americans. There is live music in the evenings, mostly targeted to expat tastes. They accept reservations and Visa and Mastercard.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank LostInSpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Entertainment and food for the gringo pallet”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The atmosphere is relaxed and congenial that is partly fueled by the entertainment and people there to have an enjoyable time. The times we've been, the entertainment was always interesting fun. The food is more than adequate and geared to please the pallet of most gringos. The resuraunt isn't likely to win awards for the inventive and gastronomically delightful nature of their food, but most items our table order were solidly executed and flavorful.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SATXAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach FL
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good But Not Great”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Very reasonably priced. Service was good with a nice atmosphere for a leisurely late lunch. I ordered the garlic shrimp (the garlic was a little heavy) and my husband ordered a hamburger. We each had 4 drinks and walked out for less than $30 USD. It's within walking distance if you are staying in old Ajijic.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank TeresaLouPCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bodega de Ajijic also viewed

 

Been to La Bodega de Ajijic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing