We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Setting”
Review of El Jardin de Ninette - MOVED

El Jardin de Ninette
Price range: $0 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Ajijic, Jalisco
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“New Setting”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Ninette's has moved just around the corner into Casa del Sol. It's new setting is quite beautiful. The blue floor tiles are a color I've never seen before and so lovely they were riveting. The room is very high and cool with a wide opening in the wall near the ceiling where one may glimpse the blue sky and inviting mirador. But on with the luncheon, our main meal of the day.
Succulent, large scallops in a wonderful, light chipotle sauce were my choice as a starter. Andalusian gazpacho served in a thin stemmed cocktail glass followed. It, too, was deliciously different with bits of real bacon. For the main, I chose Coq Au Vin, far from ordinary. Chef Oscar is a master with sauces. I couldn't resist a chocolate mousse dessert, all accompanied with a nice Chardonnay. Portions were exactly right. If your preferences run to truck stops, don't go there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AjijicRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    35
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
puerto valllarta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing evening at Ninette's”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Saturday night a group of 11 of us dined at Ninette's. We had reservations for 7 p.m.The service was deplorable. It took forever to get water, bread, and our drinks. We had to approach the maitre'd several times to get attention . The whole table was complaining. We finally got bread and our drinks, but waited forever for the waiter to take our orders. The waiter came and apologized for the delay and said that we would get our food in 5 minutes. We waited for an incredible amount of time and finally our food arrived. The food was good, but the service was bad. One of our party asked for tea and we had to ask three times to finally receive it. Unfortunately, our tips reflected the poor service. Because of our bad experience, we would not recommend this restaurant as there are many superior ones in Ajijic,

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vallartabev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“a small nice place to eat quitly”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have visited several time this charming restaurant and I was never desapointed. The menu is small with a special daily so you could choose between chicken, the coq au vin is good or fish or some meat. the portions are not really big, but more then sufficient...While waiting for your plate you will receive nice bread, but the chef should change the butter for a danish or newzelandes one, small detail but important. As most of the other nice places in Ajijic, full of canadian and american, but the typ of clients enjoying good in a nice place, at very affordable prices, we shall return soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“New Location, great food”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Have dined here twice this past week or so, once for dinner and once for lunch. Asian pork chops for dinner were great. Black bean and chipolte soup and Coq au vin for lunch were also great. Extensive menu with all price points. Other peoples burgers looked delicious as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomgyakima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Synergy in Ajijic”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Casa del Sol has always been regarded as one of the best B&B establishments in lakeside and its near neighbor El Jardin de Ninette on of the best restaurants. Their recent combination, under one roof, has provided Casa del Sol's guests with an excellent dining choice, without the need to leave the hotel, and has made El Jardin a more pleasant dining experience as a result of the greatly enhanced accommodations. On a recent visit, four of us ate beef filet with Gorgonzola butter, a Thai style prawn curry, chiles en nogada, and quail with three chile sauce, an eclectic mixture which resulted in four plates almost licked clean (quail bones excepted!). The wine list is not extensive, but more than adequate and the service, although not for those in a hurry, was friendly and faultless. The meal was preceded by cocktails beside the pool in Casa del Sol's beautiful courtyard. The only criticism of what was a most enjoyable evening was that the excellent jazz quartet and the flamenco dancing was a little on the loud side and made conversation something of a challenge.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roddygateau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Jardin de Ninette also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing