We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to be in January”
Review of Real de Chapala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Real de Chapala
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ajijic
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

If your going to go to Ajijic your choices are limited, So this is one of the better choices. If you do stay here stay on main level and pool side it is very nice to walk out your room and right to the pool. The pool by the way is very nice as are the grounds very beautiful. There is no air conditioning or heat in January that was fine I do not know about July. The rooms are large however a little dated,no coffee maker, no fridge but nice none the less. We only ate breakfast there and that was pretty good. This is not a big Cancun resort but if you know that going in it is fine and still very nice

Room Tip: main level pool side 106-112
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles Real C, Director de Recepción at Real de Chapala, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

We are grateful for taking the time to give us your opinion.

We love having guests also express our property well, since our main goal is to make spending a pleasant time.

It is important to mention that we are in the process of remodeling and we want to be the best choice of accommodation.

I remain at your service

Margarita Díaz
Revenue Manager
HOTELES REAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 395 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel is on the picturesque shoreline of Lake Chapala and caters to the resort crowd. The grounds are very colorful with many varieties of flowers and flowering trees. They serve an outdoor Brunch buffet on Sundays that is a great mixture of Mexican flavors with both seafood and a variety of meats. Be sure to try Tamarind and watermellon margaritas with the nicely spiced food dishes. Great place to spend a lazy afternoon

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonJancauskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles Real C, Revenue Manager at Real de Chapala, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014
Google Translation

Buen día DonJancauskas,

Le agradecemos el tiempo que tomo regalarnos sus comentarios, nos complace recibir tan buenos comentarios de nuestros huéspedes.
Nuestra meta es ser el mejor lugar de esparcimiento para consentirlos a ustedes.

Esperamos su pronto regreso.

Saludos cordiales

Margarita Díaz
Revenue Manager
Hoteles Real

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

For the price you should get more. It's a old constrictions with old amenities. The rooms are big with old mattresses.. And no food service after 11 pm I will not give more that 3 stars. Overall if you don't have any other options stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Djvilla23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 22, 2014
Google Translation

Buen día Garolocus,

Nos llena de gusto saber que su estancia fue placentera, le agradecemos de corazón el tiempo que se tomó para darnos sus comentarios, son muy valiosos para nosotros.

Por otro lado es importante mencionarle que estamos haciendo cambios de manera paulatina, ya se han cambiado colchones nuevos, pero sólo en algunas habitaciones, esperamos tener el cambio completo para su próxima visita.

Lo esperamos pronto de regreso.

Saludos cordiales

Margarita Díaz
Revenue Manager
Hoteles Real

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great location in front of Chapala Lake! Very large rooms with nice heavy furniture. Very nice green areas and plants. Very clean. Very noisy, no isolation in windows or door, so you can hear the cleaning staff in the hallway or excited children in the garden.

Mediocre restaurant and service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAURAELENA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles Real C, Revenue Manager at Real de Chapala, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014
Google Translation

Buen día LAURAELENA,

Le agradecemos el tiempo que le tomó regalarnos su comentario, nos interesa mucho su opinión, ya que nos ayuda a mejorara nuestras debilidades y presumir nuestras fortalezas.

Tenga por seguro que sus comentarios serán enviados a la gerencia para darles seguimiento, de igual forma le comento que hemos estado pasando por una etapa de renovación y cambios, con el fin de seguir siendo su mejor opción de hospedaje.

Esperamos su pronto regreso.

Saludos cordiales

Margarita Díaz
Revenue Manager
Hoteles Real

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at this lovely, spacious property in late February for four days. Gorgeous scenery overlooking the lake-enjoyed awesome dawns and sunsets. Spacious and well-treed. Staff were very skilled and professional. Located in la floresta, a beautiful, upscale area with fabulous homes and great walking streets. A fun, 10 minute walk to the town centre.
We were with a group and enjoyed some brilliant barbecues on the beautiful terraces. First floor rooms look over the lake or have a quiet patio to enjoy. Some of the most beautiful trees that I have ever seen grace the property.

Room Tip: For the best views, ask for a fist floor room overlooking the lakeshore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fidel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltena, Director of Sales at Real de Chapala, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing Real de Chapala, He hope you and your party members enjoyed the BBQ and we are hoping to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I really liked this hotel. I've read a lot of reviews about how this is not a 4 or 5 star hotel that they claim to be. But bear in mind, this is Mexico we're talking about. Me and my colleagues stayed at this hotel for eight nights and attended to a conference that was held at the venue and we really liked it. The service was very friendly and helpful, even though not all staff member spoke English. At the reception they did, how ever.

The place where the hotel is located is very beautiful and peaceful. The town of Ajijic is within walking distance from the hotel (app. 10min.) and from there you can take a bus for example to Guadalajara. Buses are really comfortable and cheap, only 53 pesos from Ajijic to Guadalajara.

There were only a few drawbacks with the rooms. As mentioned here earlier, the rooms do not come with A/C, only with a fan. We, however, stayed at Real de Chapala in March so if you kept your windows open for a few hours after sunset the temperature was not too hot. The other drawback is the sound proof, or lack of it. You could hear all the noices from the hallway, no matter how quietly people tried to talk. And unfortunately they did not try to keep their voices down.

But all in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the area. The restaurant was excellent also, great food with great prices!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Same W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

i love this hotel we were there back in august 2010 and this december 2011, on my next vacation we are coming back. in my opinion this is a nice place to stay the employes are very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ayyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajijic
1.6 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 7 in Ajijic
338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 7 in Ajijic
169 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 7 in Ajijic
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Balneario San Juan Cosala
9.7 mi away
El Chante Spa Hotel
El Chante Spa Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jocotepec
84 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Joya del Lago
La Joya del Lago
#6 of 7 in Ajijic
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real de Chapala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real de Chapala

Address: Paseo del Prado #20 Fracc. La Floresta, Ajijic, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ajijic
Price Range: $93 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Real de Chapala 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Real de Chapala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real De Chapala Hotel Ajijic
Real De Chapala Ajijic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing