We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Real de Chapala
Nearby Hotels
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
$74
$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$92
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$79
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveler rating
155
149
99
10
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
155
149
99
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla florestaan excellent hotelgreat neighborhooda lake view roomstar hotelfront desk staffrestaurant staffrooms are bigcobblestone streetsnice staythere is no air conditioninghotel is locatedfirst floorbeautiful groundsrooms are cleanevery morningpools
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 423 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I really liked this hotel. I've read a lot of reviews about how this is not a 4 or 5 star hotel that they claim to be. But bear in mind, this is Mexico we're talking about. Me and my colleagues stayed at this hotel for eight nights and attended to a conference that was held at the venue and we really liked it. The service was very friendly and helpful, even though not all staff member spoke English. At the reception they did, how ever.

The place where the hotel is located is very beautiful and peaceful. The town of Ajijic is within walking distance from the hotel (app. 10min.) and from there you can take a bus for example to Guadalajara. Buses are really comfortable and cheap, only 53 pesos from Ajijic to Guadalajara.

There were only a few drawbacks with the rooms. As mentioned here earlier, the rooms do not come with A/C, only with a fan. We, however, stayed at Real de Chapala in March so if you kept your windows open for a few hours after sunset the temperature was not too hot. The other drawback is the sound proof, or lack of it. You could hear all the noices from the hallway, no matter how quietly people tried to talk. And unfortunately they did not try to keep their voices down.

But all in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the area. The restaurant was excellent also, great food with great prices!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Same W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

i love this hotel we were there back in august 2010 and this december 2011, on my next vacation we are coming back. in my opinion this is a nice place to stay the employes are very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ayyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Arrived on a friday nite (10:30)without reservation, after having been told this was the best hotel around. Wanted 2 nites, but were only able to stay (thank goodness) one. Booked fully for a wedding. Bar and restaurant closed at 10:30 or 11:00pm. Totally outdated, cheap toiletries, no a/c (told only in suites). just a floor fan. Beds were flashback to '60's. Counted more than 5 strange hairs in bathroom. Leaky faucet. I very seldom get allergies, but after 15 minutes couldn't breathe. One look at rubber tub mat, that was it... mildew. Why would we pay $130.00US?? We called around and no other vacancies nearby. Took allergy pill. So, BEWARE!! This must have been a 'Grand" hotel in it's past. Right now, only the grounds are worth seeing. The gardens are very nice and well-kept, but you can't sleep there. So, for the price: NO, NO, NO! Internet weak and slow, but ok, free. Employees were very nice and almost apologetic. Tried to get a remote control for the ancient TV, after 3 tries, we and they gave up. My advice: if you absolutely MUST stay here, have a bottle of tequila to numb the unpleasantness, after all, make the best of a bad situation, and consider it an adventure!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I went for a business meeting, and I would go back again. The setting is beautiful, and the staff are excellent. I'm afraid I can't speak to the rooms, but would recommend at least going for breakfast to enjoy the setting. We kept on getting little birds visiting us throughout!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EatnDrinknRoamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We stayed here 3 years ago and chose to return this year when it fitted our itinerary. We enjoyed the same beautiful grounds, the spacious and very clean room and the excellent food. We had lunch (one of the best tortilla soups in Mexico), dinner and breakfast, all with good food, prompt service and at reasonable prices. We were in a hurry to get on the road in the morning and our hot breakfast was brought to the table muy pronto.
We live in Mexico 4 months each year and use Trip Advisor to select the places we stay. In several cases we have chosen an alternate place based on reviews. We have also found that it is important to discard certain reviews which are extreme and thank good ness we did that this time. We had been here 3 years ago and had truly enjoyed it so we had faith that it was still good - which it most certainly is. There is one review of this hotel from 2 years ago which should be totally ignored. The writer must have had a bad day or is totally ignorant. If she wanted a 5 star hotel she could have gone to a
Four Seasons and paid 4 times as much for the night and 4 times as much for her meals as well as everything else.
This is a great place and you'll really enjoy it. By the way, Lake Chapala is in much better shape than it was 3 years ago, thanks to some favorable treatment by Mother Nature.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JeffNBucerias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews