We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be aware the hot water can be a bit of a problem and watch out for the Dog poop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angel Flores Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ajijic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Angel Flores Guest House
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Be aware the hot water can be a bit of a problem and watch out for the Dog poop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Otherwise,I enjoyed the month I spent Jan-Feb.2013 at Angel Flores.It was very friendly and social.Beautiful garden and property gay friendly and dog friendly.Sharing refrigerator and kitchen
with the regular resident can be a bit of a problem.I wrote an article for the Toronto and Parkdale horticultural society Newsletter about my visit to Angel Flores as i am a retired horticulturalist and really enjoyed the beautiful gardens. Also Felipe gives tours at reasonable rates and will pick you up at the airport etc for a fee.It was self serve and you could make your own coffee in the morning.

Room Tip: Don't sleep near the hot water heater shut your windows by late afternoon otherwise it will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    4
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
16
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

The place is very nice although very hard to find. It has secure parking and the indoors have a very nice garden. The place is pet and guest friendly. Do not expect luxury but a quiet, comfortable accommodation. The streets around are safe and picturesque and, within walking distance, there are nice and inexpensive Restaurants (Tango, one of them!) It was a rewarding experience and, if through Ajijic again I would not hesitate to return to visit Skip and Felipe again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlosandGigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairmore, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great location, walking distance to Plaza,bus stop, Malecon. great restaurants and shopping. Clean ,comfortable. rooms.Community kitchen which is clean and fully equiped, relaxing seating areas all in a beautiful garden.Skip our host has lived in the area for a number of years and can offer a great deal of useful information about the community. We would not hesitate to recommend this Guest House and hope to be able to visit again.
John and Mabel Clarke
Alberta Canada

Room Tip: All room have their own advantages
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhc1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We ended up at the Angel Flores Guest House when the place we had planned to stay had a mix-up and shifted us there.

A great find! As others have mentioned, Skip was friendly and helpful. The hotel has several small buildings put together in a lovely compound complete with gardening and rooftops from which you can see the very impressive stars.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Chip-from-Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is UNIQUE...Now this is a gem that is highly under rated! We feel privileged to have found both the owner Skip and his oasis! We didn't book here before Mexico but on a whim once there and we are so happy we did! Skip has a virtual outside paradise of his own design, an outside kitchen, living area, a place where one can meet other guests and exchange experiences, we loved it! Skip is a virtual fountain of information about Ajijic and Mexico and one feels confident the information that is passed along can be absolutely trusted, his dog's are extremely well behaved.. A one night stay that will reverberate with us a long time So much more one can say, this is a delightful experience and although we stayed at three other airbnbs once there, this was our absolute favourite!

Room Tip: Note: to check for good plumbing, many b&b's in Ajijic you have to put tissue in waste baske...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinshipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Bed is large and firm, one pillow. Spare blanket in huge closet, three smaller cushions in room. Counterpane was slippy nylon - attractive - fell off the bed often! Lamp still had plastic cover on it! We did not require all the closet space the room had.
Water is heated on a battery per use system but to shower and wash my hair I had to stop and wait five seconds, seven times. Sometimes we could not get hot water, and even shaving one had to stop mid-shave.. Skip is looking into this he says.
Toilet paper ran out twice in our four day stay but when asked for we were given more, bin overflowed and was not emptied for us to re-use, even though we reported it as full, so we emptied it into the kitchen bin, finally. We would have liked a fresh towel but did not get one! A "broken" blind was being sent from the US. We were not told we might have to park on the road. Guests staying after we came, and for shorter time frames, took our parking without warning, and we felt this was slightly unfair. There was some dog doo near our door on our last morning, but we "understand this happens". The dogs were well controlled.
Some noise was heard at night, - not much traffic - mainly other dogs and roosters [and a donkey]], but on our final night between ten and eleven we were treated to a great band somewhere nearby! The neighbors were friendly, and we really liked the area, so near the plaza.
Our room was downstairs at the back, and rather lacked traditional Mexican ambience, but was comfortable overall. We would have preferred to have paid more and gotten more. The view from upstairs is lovely - on the roof deck. The plants and garden are fabulous, and there are fish in a tank and pond. The garden area does have a lot of ambiance, right down to the outdoor kitchen.
Yes, we would stay here again, and Skip and his guests are very congenial.

Room Tip: All rooms seem well located - some have stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mexberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

I am a single female, exploring possible places to retire, and I found Angel Flores Guest House on VRBO. Initially, I was apprehensive, as a female traveling alone, but from the minute I arrived, I immediately felt at home. Felipe picked me up at the airport and is an excellent tour guide. Skip is very knowledgeable about Ajijec walked me to the Lake Chapala Society and introduced me around. Skip was a gracious host! While I was there, I didn't feel smothered, but I knew that they were available to answer questions or just to chat. Since I am a dog lover, that was a plus. The dogs are excellent watch dogs and let you know when a stranger was approaching, but as a guest, they began to recognize me, and were adorable. The kitchen was clean as were the rooms. It took a while to get hot water, but once you knew that you had to wait a while, that was fine. I would definitely return to the Angel Flores guest house. It felt more like a family than if you were at a hotel. Thanks Skip, Felipe, Chica and Charlie for your hospitality!!

Room Tip: I stayed in room # 7, which was bright and sunny,and at the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lisw1moody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ajijic hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 8 in Ajijic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 8 in Ajijic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.0 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 8 in Ajijic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Estancia
Hotel La Estancia
#7 of 8 in Ajijic
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Tres Leones
Casa Tres Leones
#2 of 24 in Ajijic
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ajijic Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Flores Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Flores Guest House

Property: Angel Flores Guest House
Address: Angel Flores #5 | Between Colon and Juarez, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angel Flores Guest House is build in the gardens of a lovely Village home, overlooking the largest lake in all of Mexico (Lake Chapala) The Ajijic vacation house has eight rooms each with its own bathroom. Seven of them have a kingsize bed and the other one a set of twin beds. Each room in this Jalisco vacation rental has a build in desk with a desk chair. We are located in the heart of the Village a short walk to everything. If your are looking for a retirement location, this area is one of the best in the world for great weather year round and low cost of living. Many people live here only on their social security checks.Free calls to US and Canada, full kitchen for use by our guest, garden living room dining room and much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing