We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casa Tres Leones”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Tres Leones

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Tres Leones
Ranked #2 of 26 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Casa Tres Leones”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

During the two years prior our to purchasing a house in the Lake Chapala area we visited to get to know the community and make our final decision whether or not to make a move from the US to this community. We stayed in a different B & B everytime in various areas of Ajijic to get become familiar with the village. The hosts are accomodating and helpful. The breakfasts are very good and the afternoon fresh bakery was delicious and plentiful. Internet room available for guest use as well as a telephone.

It is big enough to provide all the amenities and sufficiently small to provide a homelike ambiance. The rooms are comfortable, immaculately clean, the food is good and the hosts are gracious and accomodating. The facility is a large former hacienda style home surrounding a beautiful garden and lovely pool.It is close to the heart of the village but far enough off the main carreterra to be away fromany traffic noise. It is also important to note that they have main floor rooms for anyone with mobility issues, which is rare in this area. I have highly recommended it friends and family.I personally feel it is the best B & B in the area.

Room Tip: Has main floor rooms for those with mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    9
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
115
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great B & B. Nice view of the lake. Secluded residence with excellent accommodations. Wireless Internet access. Great location in town. Ideal for small business meetings. Excellent service. Payment was electronic via PayPal.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRYMIER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this place for 5 days. The place was immaculately clean ('Spick & Span') and there were absolutely no issues whatsoever. Alix proved her excellent cooking and baking skills by providing daily hot breakfast, fresh muffins, cakes and pastries (yummy). Both, Alix and Emile are couple who make this place absolutely enjoyable and unforgettable. We would highly recommend the Tres Leones to all people who are looking for a quiet and relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are spectacular!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 325Zita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visit Ajijic every six months, Casa Tres Leones is our idilic paradise away from home. I couldn't recommend this B&B and its owners high enough. I stay in the best international hotels for my work and yet CTL is like having our own home in Ajijic. Alix and Emile are like family and always have new places for us to visit. They welcome us each trip, and go above and beyond to ensure our visit is even more memorable than the last. I recommend requesting the lovers suite. Alix's scrambled eggs and hot breakfasts are the perfect start & she also freshly bakes each day, her ginger cake and chocolate brownies are second to none.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Wyoming, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

A piece of paradise! The breakfasts were superior with fresh java all day; must have chosen the most superior coffee beans in town. Alix and Emile were over the top friendly and most accommodating at all times with the smiles and positive attitudes:) Exemplary!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Staying here was the best part of our trip. Very romantic and simply gorgeous. The owners were the most gracious and very helpful in advising on the area. We would not hesitate to recommend Casa tres Leones to all our friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The rooms were nice enough, and garden area lovely. However, each breakfast was worse than the previous. Emile was abrasive at times and not hospitable. Will never stay there again. Even the coffee was bad. I think they reuse the grinds. Don't sit on patio. Cushions are wet from roof leaks. Maid banging on door at 8:30 to clean. Pull........eeze, I'm trying to rest. Found the place I will stay next time I travel there.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casatresleones, Owner at Casa Tres Leones, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
You know it obviously takes all types and despite all the excellent reviews from most of the guests who come here we listen to any complaints.
We were very disappointed when these 3 fairy tale 'sisters' arrived as they had been referred to us by very good friends whom we like very much!
They were not even civil to one another - spoke in decibels so that all could hear them - they were so unpleasant that our guests in the adjacent room cheered when they left.
They enjoyed our all day muffins and sweets and polished them off after dinner on a nightly basis.
Maybe THEY would re-use coffee grinds but WE certainly never have.
I wish I knew where they would go next. This is a small town and we'd certainly warn those hosts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajijic
1.1 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 8 in Ajijic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 8 in Ajijic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 8 in Ajijic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
El Chante Spa Hotel
El Chante Spa Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jocotepec
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Riberena
La Riberena
#2 of 6 in Ajijic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cosala Grand Boutique Resort & Spa
Cosala Grand Boutique Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in San Juan Cosala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Tres Leones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tres Leones

Property: Casa Tres Leones
Address: Emiliano Zapata #10 | Between Calles Juarez and Tempisque, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Tres Leones 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa "Tres Leones" Ajijic...the perfect indulgence in an idyllic Mexican Setting! Still Ajijic's finest B&B - for special occasions or to feel special! Under experienced new (Australian) ownership since 2008. Eight suites with bathroom, AC & Fan, refrigerator, Satellite TV, DVD/CD player, towel warmer and robes. Most with Terrace. Fabulous Pool! Be surrounded by the beauty of Mexico with a spectacular Lake and mountain view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Tres Leones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing