We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful oasis”
Review of Casa Tres Leones

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Tres Leones
Ranked #2 of 26 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Tres Liones was a wonderful B&B. We traveled with 2 other couples. The layout of the B&B gave us space to relax, visit and have wine in the early evenings. It was close to walking to many restuarants so we parked our car and walked into town. Emile was extremely helpful in locating a driver to take us to Tonala and Guadalajara, when husbands tired of shopping. We definately will be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank sanjuanyts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 213 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2011

Casa Tres Leones was an absolutely wonderful B&B to call 'home' for a week. My husband and I stayed and truly felt relaxed due to the lush gardens surrounding the pool and terrace, and the friendliness of Alix and Emile. The hosts are present, yet do not interfere with your stay. A delicious breakfast is served by the owners, no cook is used, and none is needed. Both hosts created enjoyable breakfasts on the terrace, while our views were of the village, lake and pool. With fountains flowing and the greenery of the gardens, you feel as though you are in your own piece of paradise. Coffee was always available, as was water and snacks. The room was pleasant, and the fridge was a plus. AC was available, but not needed. Walking to the village was very easy, and since my husband had had a stroke causing weakness on one side, this was a great plus for us. I would recommend this establishment to anyone going to visit Ajijic. I doubt you can find a more pleasurable stay with such great hosts! We spent a week and wish we could have visited longer. Positively refreshing and relaxing!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCShark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Just spent three nights with two other couples.
Room was very nice and comfortable.
Location was very good.
Breakfasts were good, with two rated as good and a third as "outstanding"

Will return again.

Jim and Sue

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

With its breathtakingly beautiful garden and painstaking attention to detail, the place reminded us of the Dar Doukkala in Marrakech - a mirage straight out of 1001 nights. Alix and Emile are very gracious hosts, always forthcoming with helpful information, and willing to go the extra mile for their guests. An unforgettable place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerdsiewert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

The rooms are nice but there are better options in town and not worth the cost. We, as well as other guests, felt accosted upon check-in asking for cash upfront for the remainder of the stay after sending 50% advance upon reservation. We didn't know if we were going to be sent walking back down the hill to town or not since we missed the fine print about submitting cash upon check-in. We skipped "breakfast' as too late, but a fellow traveler got up and made her own coffee in the kitchen in the morning. I did hear that if you are willing to wait, the breakfast is good. No coffee pots in the room. You are given two plastic tumblers and a water pitcher in the room. No glass glasses. Be prepared for all the "no no's" upon check-in and orientation to your room. Shower pressure and temp quite variable. Be ready to forfeit all your towels to soaking up the water spillage on the floor from the the shower. The setting is very lovely and the views spectacular. It is an easy walk to town. You are issued a key ring with many keys to each door to the property. See if you can get 2 sets, as the owners are not always there and the the entrances are always locked. I was locked out for almost an hour, sitting on the curb, as my roommate had the only set of keys given to us. Wifi is available sometimes if sitting right next to the lobby but it is not transmitted to the rooms. Pool is beautiful but no one staying there found it warm enough to actually enter. A simple bubble wrap at night may have helped to retain solar gain. In summary, check out other in town options for better value.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank medview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casatresleones, Owner at Casa Tres Leones, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2011

We pride ourselves on being good COMMUNICATORS!!!
We don’t have “fine print” any where in our communications. At the first response to all inquiries – BEFORE any reservation is made - we clearly state in bold print - that we do not have credit card facilities here and that the balance is payable on check-in. Our guests generally appreciate paying then as they do not have to carry the cash for the duration of their stay. Our terms and conditions are clearly explained on our website and re-confirmed when bookings are made.
However not all our guests appreciate our communications skills.
I guess medview was one of those, as she was obviously not happy with her sojourn with us.
She was here with a group of health professionals attending a conference.
We were told that they would not be having any breakfasts with us, as this was being provided by the conference organisers.
Fresh coffee is always available in the common area, together with home cooked muffins and sweets for all our guests to enjoy any time of day or night.
Plastic cups are provided in all rooms, to avoid breakages and injury in the rooms. However an ample supply of glasses etc. is also available in the kitchen for everyone to use and enjoy.
It helps to know that “C” on the shower is for "caliente" (hot in Spanish) and there is an abundant supply of towels in all rooms, so you’ll never run short.
As for the No-no’s- there is no smoking allowed in our guests rooms and we ask that no one locks the outside access doors when using our home. Spare keys are freely provided for those who ask for them.
None of those requests were made at any stage and nothing was communicated to us during her stay here.
It is interesting to note that one of medview’s colleagues liked it here so much that she actually extended her stay with us instead of joining the group for their last two days in Tlaquepaque & Guadalajara !!
So it takes all kinds to make people happy I guess. We hope that medview will find somewhere more suitable next time if she revisits this area of Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

easy walk to town yet very quiet
beautiful settin, lake view, fabulous gardens and good breakfasts.
friendly atmosphere

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judyamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

This is our second trip to Ajijic and we stayed at Casa Tres Leones both times. Behind its walls, we found a secluded haven offering a wonderful view of the lake and mountains, beautiful gardens, comfortable rooms and a refreshing swimming pool to enjoy after spending the day walking about the village. We highly recommend Tres Leones as it is very appealing and convenient for anyone looking to spend a few days or weeks enjoying the Lake Chapala area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bailey012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ajijic hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 7 in Ajijic
338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 7 in Ajijic
169 reviews
1.1 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 7 in Ajijic
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 7 in Ajijic
6 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Joya del Lago
La Joya del Lago
#6 of 7 in Ajijic
15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Tres Leones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tres Leones

Address: Emiliano Zapata #10 | Between Calles Juarez and Tempisque, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range: $133 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Tres Leones 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa "Tres Leones" Ajijic...the perfect indulgence in an idyllic Mexican Setting! Still Ajijic's finest B&B - for special occasions or to feel special! Under experienced new (Australian) ownership since 2008. Eight suites with bathroom, AC & Fan, refrigerator, Satellite TV, DVD/CD player, towel warmer and robes. Most with Terrace. Fabulous Pool! Be surrounded by the beauty of Mexico with a spectacular Lake and mountain view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Tres Leones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing