We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, amazing B&B in Mexican village”
Review of Quinta del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ajijic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quinta del Sol
Ranked #3 of 26 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2010

Beautiful old completely renovated home on a perfect street in the middle of a small Mexican village, with lovely garden and heated pool. The room was spacious, beds excellent, with TV and we had computer with wifi access in the guests' sitting room downstairs. Despite its size, Ajijic has great restaurants recommended by our host, who also gave "on the spot" info about buses to local towns on Lake Chapala as well as Guadalajara. We felt as though we were in our own perfectly renovated colonial home; it could not be better.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamplinRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Quinta del Sol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 217 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2010

My wife an I decided to spend Thanksgiving at this quaint B&B. What a great long weekend getaway! It was only a block or two from the lake, the shops and the town square. Perfect location. Rooms were large, gorgeous and very unique. Our host recommended several great restaurants. All within a block or two. I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Aquadata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2009

This is a very small hotel, the rooms are big enough as well as bathrooms, very clean, the garden is beautiful, we took a very good breakfast. The attention was great.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

I went to this cute bed & breakfast because my friends had a reservation there and I found a very nice place, with a gentle lady called Eleanor that makes you feel at home! Rooms are great, with fine details and a chimeney! It also has a great garden and a small but attractive pool. It serves a good and plenty breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

While visiting friends in Guadalajara we decided to spend a weekend in Ajijic. We were looking for a B&B that would accept children and another B&B owner suggested we call Quinta del Sol. They had a room available with either one king and one queen bed or the king bed could be made into 2 twin beds if we wanted. They had a heated pool and kids were okay. Perfect! We had la Paloma with 2 small balconies overlooking the street. The room was quite large and gave us room to spread out our things. TV, internet and refrigerator for drinks too.

The kids loved the pool. The owners Eleanor & Rick even got out some pool floats for the kids. There were big thick pool towels to wrap up in after. There are lounge chairs plus a table and chair set at the pool, great for a relaxing afternoon. Eleanor made sure we all had plastic cups for drinks too.

We were the first guests to go to breakfast in the (kids you know). Eleanor made sure that there were Frosted Flakes and Coco Puffs plus apple juice and hot chocolate for the kids, plus muffins, fresh fruit and coffee for the adults. Then she made us all pancakes – blueberry, banana or chocolate!

They also made suggestions on what to see and where to go with kids. Horseback riding, the old man at the pier with the burro etc. The one drawback is there is only on street parking. We parked nearby under a street light and everything was okay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Time4Travel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

My husband and I spent seven delightful days at the Quinta Del Sol B&B in early August. The B&B is conveniently located near the
lake in Ajijic, close to shopping and delicious restaurants.

The grounds are beautiful and we especially enjoyed the solar heated pool. Our bedroom and adjourning bathroom was well appointed
and the linens were of high quality and our bed extremely comfortable. Our room came with a refrigerator and flat screen TV. There
was a larger flat screen located in the sitting room below our bedroom, along with internet service.

We enjoyed our breakfast each morning outside, with the exception of one day when an early morning shower forced us inside to the
beautiful dining room. Each breakfast was prepared to order, eggs anyway, omelets, pancakes and fresh fruit with homemade pastries.
Delicious coffee and juice completed our meal.

Our hosts, Miss Eleanor and Rick went out of their way to make our stay thoroughly enjoyable. We are already making plans to stay
again next year at the Quinta Del Sol.

Sincerely,
Wayne and Mary Garcia
Missouri City, Texas

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crimsonnation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

This past August I spent 4 days at the Quinta del Sol in la Maripose suite. It is a beautiful room with a very large terrace overlooking the pool and beautiful gardens. The room had tons of closet space with a mini - fridge for my wine or left overs from dinners out. There was even a writing desk for my laptop (there is WIFI in the rooms). Although my room had a TV with English langauge cable there was also a large screen guest TV in the main living room. And the bathroom was huge! Wish I had one like it at home.

Breakfasts were served on one of the garden terraces. Each day began with fresh fruits, pastries and juice. The owner, Eleanor would fix any hot breakfast you wanted, eggs, omlets, pancakes etc. Delicious! She was also very helpful with information about the village and what to do and see. The Quinta is in the village just a block from the lake and a few blocks to the village square. Really convenient.

I love Ajijic and look forward to returning next year to enjoy the fine weather, freindly people and the beautiful Quinta del Sol.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ER2552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ajijic hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 7 in Ajijic
169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 7 in Ajijic
331 reviews
1.0 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 7 in Ajijic
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 7 in Ajijic
6 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Joya del Lago
La Joya del Lago
#6 of 7 in Ajijic
15 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Estancia
Hotel La Estancia
#7 of 7 in Ajijic
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta del Sol

Address: Calle Independencia # 29 | in the Heart of Ajijic Village, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range: $70 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small boutique B&B in the heart of Ajijic. Each of it's 3 suites is individually decorated and complete with a terrace or balcony, fireplace, private bath, fridge etc. Only 2 -3 blocks from the pier, town square, restaurants, and art galleries. It's truly a wonderful place to stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing