We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my 3rd stay will not be my last”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Quinta del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ajijic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quinta del Sol
Ranked #3 of 26 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
1 review
“my 3rd stay will not be my last”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and and visited Quinta del Sol for the first time about 3 years ago and recently visited in October with my 1 year old. Quinta del Sol is absolutely relaxing... Eleanor and Rick are the perfect hosts always taking that extra step to make sure our stay is the best it could possibly be.

We love enjoying the swimming pool with its beautiful garden when we are not out and about.

Until next time!
Roberto

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
133
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hopeville
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at a deluxe room in this hotel for 3 days and 2 nights as part to a larger trip to Guadalajara. In a way, we knew what to expect after reading the reviews given to this boutique hotel in Tripadvisor. However, it is great to be able to confirm that the hotel is a tastefully decorated hacienda-style of house, very comfortable, and quiet. There are nice patios and green areas to relax the eyes. If you happen to visit, we fully recommend having a massage around the corner at the Spa. We'll be back with our adult children on a different visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HopevilleGwen_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2012

A quick note to thank Eleanor & Rick for a wonderful weekend at their B&B. It is indeed charming! We enjoyed the calm, relaxing time we spent there and enjoyed our talks about Ajijic with them. Can't really add much to other reviews. It is a place as stated and we enjoyed it very much. Perhaps someday we will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TroyandMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Indeed a great place to stay! From the beautiful gardens to the wonderful breakfasts, this is why they get such good reviews. A B&B is more than just a place to sleep and Quinta proves this again and again! Sleeping is wondefrful on comfy mattresses (Mexico remember usually has rock hard mattresses) with silky sheets. A cool breeze from the patio doors cools the room nicely. The main room and dining room where breakfast is served are both tastefully decorated in Mexican style and inviting with a basket of snacks on the table and a tea cart loaded with cordials for a night cap in front of the fireplace. Of course there are books about Mexico and Ajijic as well as novels for some quiet time. We didn't use the pool but it was clean and inviting looking. Now for the main course - a breakfast to last the day! Whatever you wish starting with homemade pastries, fresh fruit & smoothies and followed by omlets made to order or yummy orange french toast.
Quinta is located right in town near to everything and Eleanor is helpful with ideas for dining. Hope to be able to return someday.

Room Tip: La Casita is near to the pool and has a private terrace. If you ask, Eleanor will bring you coffee t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

As said, Quinta del Sol is a jewel in the sunny town of Ajijic. Set on the shores of Lake Chapala, a quaint artsy village in the mountainous areas south of Guadlajara, this B&Bis more than just right. Just a small place with 3 rooms but large in every way! From the street, the place looks somewhat small but everything is about depth... deep lush gardens that offer peace & quiet to all. High ceilings and large beautiful rooms with Mexican charm and color. Comfortable beds and bedding (in Mexico) a clean pool and a nice breakfast. More? Yes there is more! The owners are very hospitable. If you need or want something, they are happy to provide it. Good suggestions on restaurants, sightseeing etc. This is our first visit and probably won't be our last. We were qwith friends who stay here every year and they sure did pick well. Thanks Tiki!

Room Tip: La Casita has a very large (brand new) walk in shower. Plenty of hot water AND water pressure. and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ready90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

For us this was our first trip to Ajijic, exploratory in nature for possible retirement relocation. We chose Quinta del Sol based on other reviews and were not disappointed. The property is lovely, lush in the smmer rainy season. The rooms are elegant, tastefully done and comfortable. For us the best feature was the wonderful hosts, Eleanor and Rick. They were helpful in every way. Just what we needed when trying to decide if Ajijic was right for us. They have lived in Ajijic for 5 years and were happy to engage in conversation or answer questions big and small. We are still a few years away from our decision and will likely return in different seasns and will stay again at this charming hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed at the Quinta del Sol for 3 devine days in April. The Inn is charming beyond belief. So Mexican yet modern and convenient to all the local places, art galleries, restaurants etc. We simply loved it. Eleanor, the hostess, owner is wonderful. She accomodates your every wish. Her food and snacks are good, but her gentle spirit is better. The breakfasts are so complete but if you ask for something different, it will be there the following day. Smoothies, eggs, mango pancakes (yum) just everything. And there is a snack tray with chocolates and salty snacks and also a liquor cart, all INCLUDED. If she catches you enjoying the pool or sitting in the garden reading, cookies will show up.
DId I mention the rooms yet? King beds, so comfortable, large bathrooms and balconies. We loved it. We hope to return one day to enjoy this paradise again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DNPToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajijic
0.9 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 8 in Ajijic
355 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 8 in Ajijic
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 8 in Ajijic
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
El Chante Spa Hotel
El Chante Spa Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jocotepec
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 8 in Ajijic
4 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Tres Leones
Casa Tres Leones
#2 of 26 in Ajijic
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta del Sol

Property: Quinta del Sol
Address: Calle Independencia # 29 | in the Heart of Ajijic Village, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small boutique B&B in the heart of Ajijic. Each of it's 3 suites is individually decorated and complete with a terrace or balcony, fireplace, private bath, fridge etc. Only 2 -3 blocks from the pier, town square, restaurants, and art galleries. It's truly a wonderful place to stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing