We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groovy jazz and great food”
Review of 4 Restaurant - CLOSED

4 Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: "4" AJIJIC offers a variety of international dishes, the largest wine list around the lake as well as delicious cocktails from its two bars looking to satisfy the most refined palate, the most intense cravings, to celebrate special moments, or just to enjoy a great night. Everything here is made with the highest quality, first class ingredients. The Afro-Asian fusion influenced dishes or the French based ones create a combination of flavors that is a delight for the most sophisticated palates. In our extensive wine list (with over 55 labels), you'll be able to find the best Mexican wines available today as well as the finest French, Italian , Spanish, Argentinian and Chilean and American wines. While our bars are known for their fresh juice Martinis there is also an impressive number of creative cocktails.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Groovy jazz and great food”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This place has the best service! We enjoyed the food and loooved the music. The trio of young musicians were tight. Oysters were 1 dollar each--escargot were tasty, Caesar salad was crispy (although I would order to without bacon). The rain pounded down around us as we enjoyed the cozy patio. So, we went back a few days later!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meriksen1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    47
    22
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dinner with friends”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Beautiful restaurant with great atmosphere. They usually have live music. Service was friendly but a little slow. The food was wonderful but plan on at least 2 hours and pricer than most any other restaurant in Ajijic. Great for special occasion.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pricey and Mean”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Mean in the sense that they are not generous... especially in their portions of food. You pay a lot and you get very little. They do have some very good entertainment every now and again, musicians who truly are extremely good. The ambiance is excellent, there is very little parking, but if you're willing to walk a little way you can find a place on the street. They are surviving on the "snob effect" that is, people go thee to be seen there and to be able to tell their friends, they had a meal at "4."

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Heart of Ajijic”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have had numerous meals at Number 4, trying several of the guest chefs. I cannot name my favorite since each has their own style and specialty. The ambiance is the best in the village, waiters attentive and ready to please. While it is somewhat pricy all the food quality is fresh and top of the line and of couse excellently prepared. Be sure to try the oysters when in season. Great misic with a variety of guest artists.

During our last visit we teated some friends who helped is out during a difficult time. One tried the giant steak and was overwhemed with it's size and flavor. Will be back soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Grand atmosphere, Great Music, all with Sensible prices”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had the pleasure to listen to the guy who wrote "Tequila" who is local - playing with his son… very open atmosphere offering opportunity to be as private as you wish or to assemble as a party too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andreakimkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 4 Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing