We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most upscale restaurant in town”
Review of 4 Restaurant - CLOSED

4 Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: African, Asian, French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: "4" AJIJIC offers a variety of international dishes, the largest wine list around the lake as well as delicious cocktails from its two bars looking to satisfy the most refined palate, the most intense cravings, to celebrate special moments, or just to enjoy a great night. Everything here is made with the highest quality, first class ingredients. The Afro-Asian fusion influenced dishes or the French based ones create a combination of flavors that is a delight for the most sophisticated palates. In our extensive wine list (with over 55 labels), you'll be able to find the best Mexican wines available today as well as the finest French, Italian , Spanish, Argentinian and Chilean and American wines. While our bars are known for their fresh juice Martinis there is also an impressive number of creative cocktails.
Benton, Arkansas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The most upscale restaurant in town”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had a very large crowd the first night we went and the food was great as were the drinks. Possibly because of the size of our crown, but our service was lacking in areas and they were unable to break out our tickets which causes chaos once we tried to leave, but overall it was a great time.

We returned a second time to listen to a local band play. The Tallboys were there and we had a blast. The band was great, there were lots of groupies there (including the new ones like us), and the dance floor was hopping. The ambiance at Number Four at night was terrific and I'll definably be back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank vpmedical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    47
    22
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
218 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“OUr favorite place for a special occasion”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is probably the most expensive restaurant in town. However, to us, it is worth it. They often have live music ( some nights there is a cover charge even if you are eating dinner), there are several seating areas. Unfortunately to eat near the band, you have to sit in the smoking area. The food is creative and outstanding. The waiters are very good at suggesting wines that go with your meal. It is only open four days a week at this time ( Thurs-Sun) so check and make a reservation before you go.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun place to go for a drink & dancing”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We never ate here but did go later in the evening a few times and danced the night away.The restaraunt has two floors,two bars and the top section has a covered thatched roof.The dance floor is outdoors within the walls.If you ever get a chance to see the Los Tall Boys,who seem to be a regular returning band to Number 4 they are a great bar band

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a night to remember”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

my partner and i own a bed and breakfast in ajijic and decided to celebrate our 5th aniversary in number 4. it was a perfect night. thank you Kim and all your staff for making this evening unforgettable. the food and the service was superve. from the heart we thank you, you made this event hassle free and cater to my every need. if i ratef this venue it would be a 11 out of 10 , outstanding form fernando and steve

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fernandolazzeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Number Four Restaurant in Ajijic, Mexico - WOW!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This restaurant was fantastic. Great music, fine dining, super service and a relaxing atmosphere without any hint of "tourist' anything. This restaurant could be in Toronto or New York and hold its own. This isn't a restaurant, it's an experience. I'll be going there frequently.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 4 Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing