We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"be aware"........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo
Ranked #7 of 27 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My room “Tonala” was off the lobby area and although large with a separate bedroom, had no windows to the outside, except for a small one in the closet/bathroom area. The photos on the web site do not show this. I wish I had been made aware of this when I booked as I felt very closed in and ate at the outdoor patio table. The room is pretty and clean with ceiling skylights, but did not make up for not being able to see outside and have cross ventilation.
The lights to read are dim so you may want to use a battery book light.

The kitchen had a convection oven, microwave, coffee maker , 2 burner cook top and a toaster that toasted one side of the bread which I asked to be exchanged after seeing another room being supplied with a new small appliances. I was actually told at first my electric pop up toaster worked and only toasted one side of bread (?)

The guest computer of 64 MB in the lobby needed attention because for 4 days we used the Cyber Cafe down the street until the tech was called to fix it. (not everyone travels with a lap top type device) The WiFi was iffy in many locations on the property.

If you want to sleep in be aware some mornings are very loud in the lobby area and voices bounce off the walls so I suggest earplugs.

It was cold at night in early January and although there are small electric heaters available only some rooms had them. I did witness a heater being lent out to someone not staying at the Suites and wondered why the guests cold at night had not been offered it. (cost saving vs. comfort)

I seemed to have been lucky with the hot water issue as I had hot water most of the time in my room for a very quick shower.

The location is good being 2-3 blocks to the Ajijic Plaza, the Lake Chapala Club, the Malencon (boardwalk) along the waterfront, local buses etc. The housekeeper Chayo is a delight and will try and help with utensils missing in your room.

Room Tip: Just be aware to ask questions before you book about outside windows, heating on cold nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thanks for your review, Geri. We're sorry that your suite wasn't entirely to your satisfaction; however, as I mentioned in a previous response, some suites are larger & better equipped (such as yours), but have less windows than other smaller suites. This is an old building, & we're continually doing the best we can to enhance/improve what we have, but within realistic structural & budgetary limitations. We have considered installing clerestory windows into the Tonala & Rosa suites that open into the guest lounge area; however, your comments about noise give us pause for further thought …..? The covered patio is a great location to enjoy a snack at any time of the day, soothed by the fountain & watching the humming birds & butterflies. The opportunity to interact & exchange information with other guests is also enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 207 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

My room, the Miguel suite, did not meet my expectations. I thought the property was not being properly maintained due to a preference for cost cutting instead of guest comfort. Fair enough, but just be aware. My outside lighting was disconnected, my freezer iced up, and I had very little hot water for bathing. Wifi was slow and only in specific locations within the suite. My living space was dark despite opaque skylights in every room. In October it was hot and in January it was cold. Only one window in the front did not supply adequate ventilation. Several other rooms also only have one small window. I don't feel that my stay for 4 months was a good value for the money.

Room Tip: Check on windows, upstairs or down, and kitchen facilities before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

How sad that you feel that the Miguel suite didn’t met your expectations! I honestly can’t understand how you can, realistically, make that statement. You had a newly decorated & upholstered four room suite, centrally located within the village, including gas, electricity, bottled water, wi-fi, cable TV & access to free local & long distance phone calls (to the US) for US$400 per month in peak season here in Ajijic! In addition, you received maid service & linen change weekly. Perhaps your expectations were, in fact, unrealistic? The suite is clean, comfortable & would normally be rented at US$700 for the month. Wif-fi is a continuous challenge here in Mexico as the technology here has not caught up with the US, Canada & Europe. This is beyond our control. The Miguel suite has windows to the front, windows in the bathroom & a vented skylight in the kitchen. During your stay we also installed an additional fan/light in the kitchen for your added comfort. The Miguel suite has a full stove, with oven, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, & larger refrigerator. I’m puzzled as to why you’d suggest checking kitchen facilities before booking in the light of the facilities you enjoyed? Admittedly, there are no baking pans for cakes/brownies; however most guests on vacation don’t want to spend their time baking! We are hoping, profits permitting this year, to install a small air conditioning unit in Miguel. During the six years we have owned/operated the business, all our profits have been poured back into upgrading linens, beds, furniture, decorations etc & this process in ongoing – but within a reasonable budget! We really try very hard to ensure that our guests are comfortable & enjoy using us as a convenient & knowledgeable base for enjoying all that this delightful village has to offer. We are sad that your stay wasn't what you hoped.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Small but very personal. The suites are clean, other guests friendly. Theowners go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. Pet friendly. Restaurants close and all shopping. Wifi service available in the rooms or a computerin the lounge area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your short stay with us, Debra! I definitely got the impression you were pleasantly surprised with the myriad of possibilities that Ajijic has to offer & we hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

After a fair amount of internet research before my first trip to Ajijic, I decided to stay at the Ajijic Suites. It was a great place to stay. Located just 2 blocks to the plaza and town center, it made a very convenient place to explore the area without a car. Two blocks up to the main road or 3 blocks down to the lake and the beautiful malecon along the lake. Run by Luis and Elaine, charming and helpful hosts, who picked me up and returned me to the airport took the stress out of arrival and departure. I was there a full month and was more than comfortable the entire time. There is free wi-fi, as well as the use of the computer and phones for local calls and one for calls to the U.S. There is neither heating nor a/c in the unit but this is standard for the area. Even with a rare period of rain and cool weather I was very comfortable (I was there for the month of December). I ate many meals right in the room: 2 burner hot plate, microwave, small fridge, essential utensils, pans and dishes, Clean, comfortable and charming. Luis and Elaine make a point to introduce you to other guests, a very nice touch that I have not found elsewhere. If you are there at festival times the daily parades run right past the hotel so there is music and fireworks close by. An excellent value!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miraggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thanks for the helpful & positive review, Bill - much appreciated! It was a pleasure having you to stay with us - one that I hope will be repeated in the future as you seek an escape from the cold winters in your part of the world! Take care & Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We spent Christmas week at Ajijic Suites. Elaine and Luis, the owners, showed us such wonderful hospitality with Christmas goodies for all the residents at the Suites. It was a nice and unexpected surprise.
The Suites were well maintained, very clean and easy to find. There was always available street parking, but we were only 2 blocks from the main square or 2 blocks down to the lake - you can walk everywhere.
We stayed in the Rosa suite. It was very bright with skylights or windows in each room of the 3 rooms of the suite. The bathroom was very large with walk-in shower and vanity area, with considerable clothes hanging space for long term residents. Despite the unexpected low temperatures during Christmas we never felt cold and slept with our window open each night.
The suite did have a small refrigerator, microwave and hotplate plus dishes, glasses, cooking pans, etc. With all the great food shops around we made breakfast each morning in our room and picnic lunches for our road trips. The kitchen was a very nice addition to our stay.
Elaine provided the local weekly/monthly news "papers" in the common area of the Suites. The common area included a lounge area with couches and chairs plus a computer. There also a table and chairs on the garden patio near the fountain. We enjoyed several meals on the patio which allowed us to meet several residents staying at the suites who shared restaurant tips, local events to see and their dogs. We appreciated the fact the residents could have their dogs with them in their suites.'
Across the street from the front door of the suites was the most incredible floral display with bushes and trees in bloom hanging over the street. This attracted many different species of hummingbirds, warblers and a few yellow headed blackbirds. A nice thing just to stand and watch each morning before our walks around town.
With Ajijic only a 10 hour drive from the Texas boarder we are considering a return trip soon. Ajijic Suites will certainly be on our list for our return visits.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rosa Suite. It was in the center close to Elaine's small office so wifi was al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thanks, Ranleigh, for posting such a comprehensive & positive review about your stay with us. It was a pleasure hosting two branches of your family over Christmas, & we're only sorry the weather wasn't kinder! Hope to see you again soon to take advAntage of more shopping - & sunshine! Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We are just back from a weekend in Ajijic where we stayed at Ajijic Suites for two nights. The Suites are perfectly located, just a short walk to the square, shops and restaurants. The environment is quiet and retains a charming Mexican feel.
Our suite was spotless, very comfortable, and met all of our needs.
We thoroughly enjoyed meeting our hosts Elaine and Luis who were helpful, friendly and most gracious.

We felt at home at the Suites and would definitely stay there again and, we would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60OttawaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thanks Rachel & Martin for your helpful review. It was a pleasure having you to stay & we hope to see you again soon! Feliz Navidad!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

From the moment you walk into Ajijic Suites, you know you've picked the right place. Located in the heart of Ajijic, it is perfect for walking to the plaza, or to stores and restaurants. It is charming and peaceful, complete with a garden and fountain area, ideal for relaxing or reading. The rooms are clean, beds are excellent quality, and there is a small kitchen which is perfect if you want to make some of your own meals or store snacks. Plus, excellent wifi. And, a bonus, the rates are extremely reasonable. One amenity that this Inn has that you may not find in others is the owners, Elaine & Luis. They are not only dedicated to making sure you have everything you need, they are also a wealth of information and always nearby to help you. As much as we look forward to going to Ajijic to visit, now we also look forward to seeing Elaine & Luis!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thanks, Grant & Cathy, for the great review! Always a pleasure having you guys to stay & being able to fit in dinner & a Santana concert was a huge bonus! Feliz Navidad!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajijic
1.1 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 7 in Ajijic
409 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 7 in Ajijic
346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 7 in Ajijic
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
SR Hotel & Suites
SR Hotel & Suites
#3 of 4 in Chapala
11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 7 in Ajijic
12 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Joya del Lago
La Joya del Lago
#6 of 7 in Ajijic
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo

Address: Calle Hidalgo No. 72, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range: $62 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located close to everything in the lakeside village of Ajijic, our inviting rooms have well-equipped kitchenettes and en-suite bathrooms. A quiet patio garden offers a place to meet with other guests or simply enjoy secluded peace and quiet. Standards here are not compromised by economy. All suites have flat screen TVs, free wi-fi, bottled water & US linens. At 5000 feet above sea level, the climate is temperate year round. Enjoy European hospitality in the heart of Mexico - we guarantee you'll want to come back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajijic Hotel Ajijic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing