We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right in the middle of things” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ajijic Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ajijic Suites
Ranked #5 of 24 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
2 reviews
“Right in the middle of things”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The suites are clean, large, and charmingly decorated. One is able to walk, taxi, or bus everywhere. A friendly ambiance and helpful staff. Meeting on the patio at the end of the day, talking with other guests was a highlight.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks for taking the trouble to write about your stay with us, Phyllis! It was a pleasure having you as a guest & we were delighted to be able to help make your first stay here in Ajijic special. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    20
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
75
77
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just back from our annual pilgrimage to Ajijic and a two week stay at the Ajijic Suites Hotel.We arrived at about 9 p.m. at the hotel after a long flight from Boston. Elaine was there to meet us with her greetings in Spanish.The room was beautiful with new furniture and a big flat screen T.V.The following morning we awoke to blue skies ,very warm weather and no humidity. Elaine gave us a few pointers as to where we might get breakfast and we settled on a local cafe. When we returned we had to call the U.S. and we did so on the hotel phone ,all of the calls were free. The hotel also has a computer for the use of the residents. There are eight suites in all and a lovely courtyard. Originally we had intended staying for three nights at the beginning of our trip and three nights at the end . We were going to go to the coast for the rest of the trip but we found a few places that interested us in the general area so we decided to stay at the Ajijic Suites for the duration and take day trips instead. On Elaines advice we visited the Monte Carlo Hotel in Chapala . The grounds were beautiful with old trees,swimming pool,roaming peacocks and a warm thermal pool.The Ajijic Suites is a great place to stay if you want a clean,comfortable ,close to the village,safe and welcoming atmosphere.Elaine is a fountain of knowledge about the area and can help with all of your questions which can help save you lots of time and money by avoiding mistakes that a first or second time visitor might make. To sum up ,if you want a no nonsence ,reasonably priced hotel in the heart of Ajijic village this is the place. We will be back next year P.G. until then thank you Elaine and Luis for all of your help. Patrick and Sandra.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrogueBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks, Patrick, for taking the trouble to write such a nice & informative review of your stay with us. It's always a pleasure having your company & we were blessed this time to enjoy you & Sandra staying a little longer. We look forward to seeing you again next year, & to sharing the sun & magic that makes Ajijic so special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

There are eight suites with kitchen facilities, a loveseat and table and chairs. There is a courtyard with plants and flowers and an outdoor table which encourages socializing which is good if one is travelling alone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbarlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks, Barbara, for taking the time to write this brief review about your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you as our guest & we hope to see you again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valatie
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I've just returned from a month long stay at Ajijic Suites. In addition to the superlative weather and lake and mountain scenery, my accommodations at the suites made it one of my best vacations ever. This gem of a place is run by the friendliest couple, Elaine and Luis, who make it their business to be sure you feel at home and cared for.
I contacted Elaine last September after a friend recommended her place. The room I wanted with twin beds was taken but Elaine offered to replace the double bed in another suite with new twin beds to accommodate me and my friend. She also purchased new linens and bedding for the new beds. One of many examples of her going the extra mile to please her guests.
The evening of my arrival we found delicious cookies and muffins from the local Secret Garden Restaurant along with a package of fresh ground coffee on the kitchen counter to welcome us.
She provided a list of activities happening in the area, as she does with all guests. I was interested in a twice weekly hiking group but hadn't brought my hiking boots. I asked Elaine where I could purchase a pair close by. She said that the only place would be farther out and require a drive. Then she asked my shoe size...it was the same as hers and she generously offered to loan me hers! They were brand new, never worn and she let me borrow them! That says a lot about who she is and what lengths she will go to to help you. For all of my questions she had the answers and offered many great suggestions. Many others have mentioned the free computer and international as well as local phones at our disposal...more perks all included in the price. I loved my Rosa suite and the welcoming sitting area just outside my door where I had many pleasant talks with other guests. The courtyard outside was my favorite area with the fountain and beautiful flowers and plants. The table and chairs there provided another place to visit with guests, read,play cards or eat. At night there were several small candles to light to add extra ambience. After a day of sightseeing I looked forward to coming "home" to Ajijic Suites to relax.
I always felt safe and secure both on the streets of Ajijic and inside the beautiful suites.
Elaine and Luis, thank you for everything, especially for making my vacation there unforgettable! Hope to see you next year.
Hugs, Phyllis T.

Room Tip: Check out the room pictures on the website...they also post square footage. Also read reviews of ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UpstateNewYork123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks, Phyllis, for writing such a lovely descriptive review of your stay with us! It was such a pleasure having you as our guest & we were just delighted that you enjoyed Ajijic, & our hotel, so much. A large part of that enjoyment is due to your own positive & enthusiastic determination to enjoy everything this wonderful place has to offer - & you did! We were particularly fortunate to have such a nice group of guests staying at the same time as you so you could share ideas, experiences, wine ...... etc! We look forward to seeing you again next year (or later this year)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a wonderful stay of one week and would stay there again.The rooms are very well equipped,clean and cozy with a beautiful courtyard and lobby.It is well located in Ajijic and within easy walking distance to shops,restaurants and transportation.We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irving M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you "The Mirandas" for being such fun guests, & writing a great review about your stay. We very much enjoyed having you to stay & sharing your enjoyment of re-connecting with this magical place from your childhood. We hope you'll come & visit with your relatives again & use us as your base from which to visit & party!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

What a nice gem this is! It is very cozy, quiet, clean and the kitchenettes are well equipped. Ajijic Suites has a lot of charm, a beautiful courtyard with gardens, table and chairs to sit outside and relax. The location couldn't be better as it is situated next to the heart of the shops and restaurants. Walking around town was easy, safe and very pleasant. The owners Elaine and Luis are awesome and are super helpful if you need. We used their airport pick up and return service which is very reasonable. All in all a wonderful time and without hesitation would return to Ajijic Suites when visiting Lake Chapala. We are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brownx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks Diane & Dan for writing such a nice review about your stay with us here in Ajijic. We were delighted to offer you hospitality & only sorry that your stay was so short, & marred by family illness. We hope you will return & sample more of the delights of this "best kept Mexican secret"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon Manitoba Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Ajijic Suites is a very comfortable, clean and quiet place to stay. The rooms are quaint and well equipped. The facility has a beautiful courtyard complete with a large table if you are travelling with friends or family and want to sit outside the room and visit. They are also centrally located so you are walking distance to most stores and restaurants. The biggest asset of Ajijic Suites is the owner/manager Elaine. She is a hands-on person, and a wealth of information. If you want to know what’s on, where to go, how to get somewhere, she is always more than happy to help you. We have been twice now, and look forward to returning later this year.

Grant & Cathy Fowler
Brandon Manitoba

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a nice review, Grant. It was such fun having you & Cathy to stay & we look forward to repeating the pleasure later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ajijic hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 8 in Ajijic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.0 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 8 in Ajijic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 8 in Ajijic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Tres Leones
Casa Tres Leones
#2 of 24 in Ajijic
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Nueva Posada
La Nueva Posada
#4 of 24 in Ajijic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ajijic Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajijic Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajijic Suites

Property: Ajijic Suites
Address: Calle Hidalgo # 72, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located close to everything in the lakeside village of Ajijic, our inviting rooms have well-equipped kitchenettes and en-suite baths. A quiet garden offers a place to meet with other guests or simply enjoy secluded peace and quiet. Standards here are not compromised by economy. At 5000 feet the climate is temperate year round. Enjoy European hospitality in the heart of Mexico - we guarantee you'll want to come back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ajijic Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajijic Hotel Ajijic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing