We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay in the Heart of Ajijic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo
Ranked #8 of 27 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This will have been our third trip to stay at the Ajijic Suites and again, it was a very pleasant experience. The owners Elaine and Luis are wonderful and make you feel at home. You can arrange for Luis to pick you up at the airport or the bus depot and it is nice to know that you have someone waiting for you when you arrive. All the units are unique and we have stayed in 3 different ones. This time we were in the Magnolia Suite which is on the second floor and has a little balcony that you can sit out on and enjoy the view. It faces south towards the lake and you get the sun all day and then can watch the sunset. Elaine lends her special touch to all the rooms and they are all decorated in a different colour theme. The beds are very comforable and all rooms have a kitchen which is very handy to have. Drinking water is also supplied in the rooms. Ajijic Suites is close walking distance to the main town area (10 minutes if that) so we can walk to all our favorite restaurants and shops. It is also only a 2 block walk up to the main street where the bus comes which will take you in either direction to Lake Chapala or to the other towns close by for a few pesos. We will definately come back to the Ajijic Suites!

Room Tip: If you want a view from your room choose a second floor unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gayle6769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review, Gayle; we really appreciate it! It's always a pleasure having you & Paul to stay, & we'll miss you next year when you check out Cuba instead of Ajijic! Hurry back & see us again soon, & enjoy a wonderful summer at home in Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 205 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

Ajijic Suites is ideally located in a quiet part of town, with shops, services, the main square and local buses close by. My suite, accessed from the charming garden courtyard, was spotlessly clean, comfortable and well maintained. The well-equipped kitchenette provided all that I needed to make breakfast and the occasional light dinner. Above all, the hospitality offered by Elaine and Luis is exceptional--warm, friendly, attentive, helpful, kind and thoughtful. They truly create a home away from home for their guests. Access to VOIP and local phones plus WiFi help visitors stay connected, while the personal laundry service, available for a small fee, is a terrific bonus for people staying for a while. I feel very fortunate that I chose this as my snowbird residence for a month, and could not imagine staying anywhere else in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dondento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you, Donna, for taking the time to write such a helpful review about your stay with us. We very much enjoyed the pleasure of your company, particularly our viewing of season 3 of "Downton Abbey", with English tea & shortbread biscuits! We very much look forward to your return to "the family"next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you're looking for a clean, well-furnished and maintained apartment (with in-room cooking facilities no less!), in a convenient location and at the right price, look no further. I found Ajijic Suites to be perfect for the two nights I stayed there. The hosts, Elaine and Luis, are welcoming and very accommodating and have done a great job with the interior decorations of the entire hotel including the lovely and peaceful garden courtyard. Estuve muy satisfecho!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueflame7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write this very complimentary review, Lawrence. It was a pleasure having you to stay, albeit for such a short time, & we were glad to have been able to provide you with a clean & comfortable base from which to explore this wonderful area. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us here at Ajijic Suites (on Hidalgo)¡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Staying at Ajijic Suites for 2 weeks has been a great pleasure for me. Elaine and Luis have been very hospitable and helpful in many ways. I have also enjoyed the quiet and central location of this cosy little hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us, Klaus. We were glad you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed your company. It makes a particularly pleasant change having another European to chat with. We were glad you were able to hire a cycle & use that as a means of getting out & about & exploring the surrounding area. Hopefully you've gone home with "food for thought" & we'll see you again some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Ajijic Suites is a very convenient and economical place to stay in Ajijic. It has a quiet location, yet is close to everything. Its hosts are very friendly and helpful. Having Luis both pick you up and drop you off at the airport is the best way to go. He did this for me cheerfully in spite of the far too early am time of day! Elaine is very helpful in planning any activities you might want to do. Great hosts, great location, great weather! What more can I say, except that I wish my stay had been longer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thanks for taking the trouble to write a helpful review, Bruce! We enjoyed your company, albeit briefly, & hope to see you again another time when the cold, damp & grey weather in Canada compels you to seek some sun & warmth here in friendly Mexico!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

After having a house in Manzanillo for over 5 years, I finally ventured into the Sierra Madres to visit Ajijic that I had heard so much about. Ajijic Suites was the perfect place to stay with a wonderful room, hospitality, and central to everything we wanted to see. I visited with a girlfriend of mine, but will definitely be returning with my husband for a few days on our next stay in Manzanillo. Ajijic is in a beautiful setting, wonderful people and has a great climate. We really enjoyed the trip. Thank you Elaine and Luis for all your information and warm hospitality. Maribeth and Lala.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maribethfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thanks for the complimentary review, Maribeth! It was a pleasure having you & Lala to stay & we were glad that your stay was both enjoyable & rewarding! The nearby town of Tonala offers a plethora of artisan works at reasonable prices & I was relieved that even an interior designer/decorator (like you) could get "just the lamps" she was looking for! We look forward to the pleasure of your company again in the future - this time with your husband!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The town of Ajijic is charming, friendly and picturesque; add comfortable and those same words could also describe Ajijic Suites. Ajijic Suites is in the best location - close to the malacon, the Plaza, restaurants and shopping, while still maintaining the ambiance of old Mexico. We loved the fact that Luis will greet you at the airport and that Elaine, who is from England and has immersed herself with knowledge about Ajijic and the area, is so helpful with directions, recommendations and tips. We would definitely recommend Ajijic Suites for a short visit or a long stay. We feel like we've found our go-to place in Ajijic!

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong - rooms surround a courtyard and fountain. Second floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thanks for taking the time/trouble to post such a nice review, Judi! It was a pleasure having you & Will to stay & we hope you'll return soon to absorb the magic that's Ajijic! Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajijic
0.5 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 7 in Ajijic
345 reviews
1.1 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 7 in Ajijic
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 7 in Ajijic
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Joya del Lago
La Joya del Lago
#6 of 7 in Ajijic
15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 7 in Ajijic
172 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Balneario San Juan Cosala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo

Address: Calle Hidalgo No. 72, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range: $60 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located close to everything in the lakeside village of Ajijic, our inviting rooms have well-equipped kitchenettes and en-suite bathrooms. A quiet patio garden offers a place to meet with other guests or simply enjoy secluded peace and quiet. Standards here are not compromised by economy. All suites have flat screen TVs, free wi-fi, bottled water & US linens. At 5000 feet above sea level, the climate is temperate year round. Enjoy European hospitality in the heart of Mexico - we guarantee you'll want to come back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajijic Hotel Ajijic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing