We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Ajijic”
Review of Ajijic Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ajijic Suites
Ranked #5 of 26 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Best place to stay in Ajijic”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This coming January I will once again head south to Ajijic, Jalisco, Mexico. Nestled a mile high in the Sierra Madres. National Geographic has determined it is the second-best climate in the world. That’s good enough for me. There I’ll again be staying at my favourite place, Ajijic Suites. It will be my third winter there. There are many reasons why I keep returning.
Ajijic village is conveniently located a twenty-five minute taxi ride from the International Guadalajara airport. Guadalajara, Mexico’s second-largest city, is only a 45-minute drive north of Ajijic and a great place to visit. If you come to visit, be prepared to stay longer.
At Ajijic Suites the bilingual owners, Elaine and Luis, are friendly and helpful. The hotel, with eight units, is clean and charmingly Mexican in décor. It has a lovely inner courtyard with a large fountain, plants and flowers. Unlike other hotels in the area, each suite has a separate bedroom, bathroom, and a comfortable all-purpose room that combines living room and kitchen. The kitchen areas have all the essentials to prepare your own meals – a small refrigerator, sink, microwave, appliances and utensils. This is unusual for Ajijic hotels. There’s laundry and maid service. There’s also free telephone service (Vonnage) to U.S and Canada, cable television and WiFi. Rates are reasonable.
Ajijic Suites is conveniently located, less than a ten-minute walk to the beautiful ‘plaza’ (village square) at the centre of the village. It’s a short three blocks to Lake Chapala, Mexico’s largest lake. The malecon along the lake is wonderful, a great place to walk, jog and meet people, locals and ex-pats. There you have beautiful views of the lake and surrounding mountains.
Watch the sun set while enjoying a beer at the wonderful Tequila Republic on the pier. Steps further along the shore you’ll get a friendly greeting from Yves, the owner of Yves Restaurant. Here you’ll find excellent food with a great view of Mount Garcia across the lake. You’ll see Vino Blanco the albino donkey that Yves rescued wander on the beach. Have a margarita next door at the Old Posada, where Tennessee Williams played poker and wrote the short story that became his hit play “A Streetcar Named Desire.” This is but a sampling of the many reasonably-priced, clean restaurants and cafes in the village. Of course the wonderful Mexican cuisine reigns but every nationality is represented from Chinese to French to Japanese to Thai.
Colourful murals decorate the walls of this 400-year-old cobblestone village. There are dozens of small art galleries and pottery and craft shops. Ajijic Suites is an easy walk to one of my favourite places, the lovely Lake Chapala Society gardens. There you’ll find a great variety of services, clubs and activities: yoga, Spanish lessons, music, interesting lectures, poetry readings, comfortable patios, snack bar, koi ponds, movies and an English-language library. I tend to hang out there a lot, reading, writing and chatting. You’ll find writers at work there as well. A vibrant writers group meets every two weeks. Ajijic has been a magnet for writers and artists for decades. When you visit this village you’ll understand why.
To get a taste of the fascinating places to visit in the Lakeside area and beyond, check out the excellent blog, Jim and Carole’s Mexico Adventure, by Ajijic resident Jim Cook. Find it at cookjmex.blogspot.com/
So, there are many reasons to visit Ajijic and stay at Ajijic Suites. That’s why so many guests like me return year after year.
John (Canadian)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Wow, John! What a very informative & interesting review! Thanks for taking the trouble to report so extensively on your stay with us, & on the many wonderful places, activities & attractions of Ajijic & its environs. I hope that other intrepid travellers will be inspired by your interesting narrative & follow up on the link to Jim Cook's blog. The thing you didn't mention was the "event of the year in 2014" when filming begins on your movie - Pat y Paco! We're delighted to have been a part of the writer/producer/director's support network in the pre-production stage & excited to see it all coming together next year. It's all happening in Ajijic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    22
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
76
81
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oliver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had a great ten days at Ajijic Suites. Elaine and Luis were excellent hosts, always pleasant and a great fund of information about Ajijic and its ways.I'm looking forward to visiting with them again.I won't go on about it because the other 3 reviewers seem to have covered it all . I agree with all that they said.Thanks Elaine and Luis.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thanks for taking the trouble to express your your satisfaction with your stay, Jack. We're delighted that you enjoyed your time here sufficiently to make plans to return, & look forward to seeing you again later in the year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Elaine and Luis started helping us make our transition from Santa Barbara to Ajijic before we came down 09/15. Elaine promptly replied to every email I sent and offered great tips. Luis picked us up at the airport and never stopped his friendly, smiling assistance for the next 2 weeks. Our little home there at the suites was just perfect....loved having my laundry done. We could walk easily to the center of town and great restaurants. . And, we even enjoyed learning a new game together.....and even shared a Sunday trip for a fun lunch after we left for our lovely new home....which, of course, Luis helped us move into. I hope to stay in touch with them and can tell you how warm and welcoming everyone is in this little slice of paradise!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I just spent a very pleasant month with Elaine and Luis at Ajijic Suites. My second floor suite was bright, comfortable and well equipped. Elaine is a great source of information on local happenings and services and the hotel is but a short walk from the "heart of Ajijic" shops, restaurants and the town plaza...conveniently located yet just far enough from the "action" to be fairly quiet. Reasonable monthly rates make Ajijic Suites a super value for extended stays.

Room Tip: Second floor suites are bright and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you, Charles, for taking the time to write this nice review about your stay with us. We were happy to contribute to the process of wooing you away from Medellin & "wowing" you with Ajijic! We know that the opportunity to play lots of tennis was a big contributory factor & are so glad that you found somewhere to fulfil that need. Gracias a Club Nautico in La Floresta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My suite had a view of the sun setting over mountains. It was very clean and bright. The small lakeside town of Ajijic is safe and quiet and everything is within walking distance. Perfect for escaping winter cold or summer heat especially as the monthly rates are so low. The host, Elaine, was very helpful and goes out of her way for you. Just perfect!

Kadi

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kadir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you, Kadir, for taking the time to write this helpful review. It was a pleasure having you to stay - & very educational too! Thank you, & happy continuing travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Thank you Elaine and Luis... for such a lovely month. Ajijic was more than I hoped and your apartments were the icing on the cake. Clean, personalized, safe-- and the feeling that it was important that I enjoyed my visit. The weather was fabulous! Yes, it was the 'rainy season but, except for one day, the rains were at night and the sun appeared in the morning. A person couldn't find a better place to escape the heat in some areas of the United States. The town is safe and, without exception, the locals were friendly and helpful. To any who long for a peaceful village and spring-like weather-- Ajijic is the place. Forget all the 'warnings' about Mexico-- I was a woman travelling alone and felt just fine. I was sad to leave a place that felt like home and proprietors who felt like friends....Cynthia from Florida

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have the best views... Mine had a small porch and was the Oxaca room... fabulous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write such an extensive & lovely review, Cynthia. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay, particularly when you were feeling a little "low" when you arrived - hence the extra "pampering"! It was a pleasure having your company, & we hope to welcome you back again soon - either with hubby or girlfriends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed at Ajijic suites for the month of July, very safe, very clean , best bet for your money,
Like visiting a family member,, Elaine and Luis make you feel like your at home!
More than everything you need! And then some!
Don't believe the media!!! This is a wonderful village! Safer than the US,,,, by far!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bacejump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thanks, Tim, for taking the trouble in your busy schedule to write this helpful & flattering review. It's always a pleasure having you to stay when you get the chance for a little respite from the gruelling work/travelling pace that you normally keep! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajijic
1.1 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 7 in Ajijic
379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 7 in Ajijic
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 7 in Ajijic
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Balneario San Juan Cosala
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ajijic Plaza Suites
0.5 mi away
La Nueva Posada
La Nueva Posada
#3 of 26 in Ajijic
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajijic Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajijic Suites

Property: Ajijic Suites
Address: Calle Hidalgo # 72, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located close to everything in the lakeside village of Ajijic, our inviting rooms have well-equipped kitchenettes and en-suite baths. A quiet garden offers a place to meet with other guests or simply enjoy secluded peace and quiet. Standards here are not compromised by economy. At 5000 feet the climate is temperate year round. Enjoy European hospitality in the heart of Mexico - we guarantee you'll want to come back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ajijic Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajijic Hotel Ajijic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing