We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ajijic Tango

Ajijic Tango
Ranked #1 of 145 Restaurants in Ajijic
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

I kept hearing and reading about this place and figured it would be pretty good. I was wrong. This place is great! I rarely go to the same restaurant twice while on vacation because I love trying new places. I ended up here three times in a week, it is that good. Lunch special between 12:30 and 1:30 was 70 pesos ($5.50) for a killer steak sandwich, fries, salad and a glass of wine. I ended up bringing half the sandwich home. The quality was unbeatable and the service was perfect. Try the sweetbread appetizer with scallions and peppers, you will not be disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank briantroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    244
    54
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Tango excels in the local market based on an excellent business model (quality, service, value), wonderful execution and outstanding presentation. Within about two minutes of arriving at your table you are asked for your drink order and another person brings warm rolls and accompaniments. Although primarily an excellent steak house, their poultry and seafood dishes are excellent.

In terms of value, an excellent stake and sides are about a quarter of the price of a U.S. or Canada fine steak house.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pnewbold7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
249 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Number One in Ajijic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Lunch or dinner - you are not going to find a restaurant in Ajijic that is more consistent than Ajijic Tango. The lunch specials for only $55 are terrific. Last night we had dinner there with a group of friends. The arrachara steak and salmon can't be beat. Prices are competitive. Service is excellent. Decent wine selection. Can be a little noisy making it hard to converse. We will be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elpavorealblanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Lunch at 55 pesos is a great bargain, and the food is very good. We highly recommend it just make sure you get there when they open as they fill up quickly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Definitely our favourite restaurant in Ajijic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

The food is consistently good, the service attentive and the mid-week lunch specials attractively priced. Beware the crowds for comida on Sundays though.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cpmanning1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ajijic Tango also viewed

 

Been to Ajijic Tango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing