We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach front stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mision Santa Maria
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in San Quintin
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beach front stay”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We arrived in the evening, which I dont recommend due to the lack of street lighting. However, when we awoke we found that we were overlooking the dunes and the beach. The hotel was above average for the non-touristic zone location. Big spacious rooms. Internet only in the lobby and courtyard, not in the rooms. Better to pay upon arrival than book online, the prices are cheaper and theres more than enough rooms. This is the place where you want to bring your off-road vehicles and toys. Great beach for laying out if you wouldnt be afraid of being run over. This is a beach for playing with your toys not getting a suntan.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room that overlooks the dunes and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristinsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    56
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
34
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telluride, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is one of the great finds of my four and a half month motorcycle trip in Mexico. I am having difficulty leaving here. The location is beautiful and tranquil. The beach is spectacular though from the dune pattern it must be quite windy a lot of the time. The restaurant is excellent with an excellent staff. A good white wine from Valle Guadalupe L.A. Cetto Blanc de Blancs. There was ample hot water and the only bathroom sink that I have seen with a drain plug since I left home... this includes the dump I stayed in in Gallup, NM. The beach was immaculately clean, as clean as any beach north of the border. Mr. Upton's comment is just insulting to the wonderful people in Mexico who have faced challenging times and keep on smiling. Maybe he should limit his horizons to Disney resorts. At $570 pesos/night this place is an absolute steal.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view and appear to have good WiFi connections. If this is important to you I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had a nice room overlooking the windy beach and it came with new towels and linens, good TV,
good food (chorizo for desayunos was ample), and even a piano player at dinner ! Margarita
came with dinner (not much booze). You will do better if you give some pesos to the bartender
and he'll make you a super one !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hplunkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This place has a great amount of potential...but as the old saying goes : " The only problem with Mexico is the Mexicans." No hot water !!! So if you like cold showers this is a great place to stay. The beach was littered with trash and the food at their Resturant is mediocre. Manager was completely unprofessional and indifferent about the lack of hot water which may explain why he also modest care about the trash on the beach etc. compared to other " Hotels " in the area it is above average. In US standards think Motel 6 with a view and cold showers.

Room Tip: Insist on a top floor and good luck with the cold water showers. Use a credit card and be prepared t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeUpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My two friends and I spent the night at the Desert Inn which looks as if it has been recently renovated. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Plenty of hot water. Nice breakfast.
Nice view from room. It appears to be located on a landing strip for small planes. Didn't use the pool because it was cold in Baja at the time but it looked very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bajapedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galiano Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Have stayed here before; the rooms are large with comfy beds. The cleaning is being done badly, however. There was dried vomit like substance on the bathroom door and the floor was dirty. The place showed real promise a year or so ago, but sadly it is not being kept up. The people in the dining room are charming and the food is above average. It's worth staying here for some nice staff and the beautiful setting if you can look past the indifferent housekeeping.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galiano Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Right on the beach and the setting is spectacular, miles of gorgeous beach, we were here in the spring and it seemed fresh and clean but our visit this time seemed more dirty and the shine was gone. Me thinks lots of drunken parties in these cheap rooms and they are not cleaning them very well. Will try it again on the way back to Canada.

Room Tip: Far end near the roaring ocean, you can hear the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Quintin
1297.5 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#3 of 4 in San Quintin
58 reviews
210.6 mi away
The Halfway Inn
The Halfway Inn
#1 of 5 in Guerrero Negro
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Don Eddie's Landing Hotel
Don Eddie's Landing Hotel
#1 of 7 in San Quintin
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Mar y Arena Ecotours
Hotel Villas Mar y Arena Ecotour...
#1 of 4 in Puerto San Carlos
66 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mision Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mision Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Mision Santa Maria
Address: Camino a playa santa maria S/N, San Quintin 22930, Mexico (Formerly Desert Inn at San Quintin)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > San Quintin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in San Quintin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mision Santa Maria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Incredible Ocean View, Great Sunsets and quiet relaxing place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Mision Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Inn At San Quintin Hotel Valle De San Quintin
Hotel Mision Santa Maria San Quintin, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing