We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mision Santa Maria
Nearby Hotels
Old Mill Hotel(San Quintin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
35
62
16
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
62
16
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla pintasanta mariabeautiful beachdesert innocean viewnice barabove averagewater pressuresand dollarsbeautiful hotelbeach frontplenty of hot watertortillasthe main roadgreat placesunday breakfast buffetfilet
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 116 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just stayed at the Mision Santa Maria. First visited the hotel in 1974, the year after the highway opened. Subsequent visits left much to be desired. That has changed.
40.00 USD a night gets you secure, guarded parking, an immaculate room, a huge, Hotel Del-style oceanfront room with view balcony, air, heat, cable TV, free WiFi, a decent restaurant, a great bar with full-size pool table and US sports on cable, and updated, re-landscaped grounds.
I once considered the hotel a charmless option in a charming beachfront setting (as opposed to the nearby Baja Cactus in El Rosario—a charming small hotel in an utterly charmless setting on the highway next to a busy Pemex station).
This is now our go-to when north- or southbound. For the money, it's unequaled.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JojobaWitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

A comfortable hotel, clean and inviting, within a few steps of an almost deserted beach. Our room was clean and comfortable, the staff helpful, and the restaurant had pretty good food. The new owners seem to take pride in the operation. There was music in the bar the night we were there, noisy but it was quiet by bedtime. We'd certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean. Upper floor offers slightly better views.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GeeDubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The new name for this hotel is Mission Santa Maria. The new ownership is looking to be very promising. The gardens have been replanted and will be lovely. The hotel has been spiffied up quite a bit from its La Pinta days. The rooms and corridors are massive! The views are stunning from every room. Money has been spent where it matters in comfy beds and better quality sheets and towels than usually found in the old La Pinta/Desert Inn hotels. The room prices are very reasonable and the restaurant excellent quality and value. This will be our stopping place from now on when we do our annual Baja trek. The staff are charming and go out of their way to be helpful. This could be a destination resort. Our standard poodle gives it high marks for the beautiful beach where she chased her ball until exhausted.

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

GREAT hotel, right on the beach. Just be sure to look for the turn at K11 (that's 11 Kilometers past San Quintin).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BetcMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This is a great place to stay when traveling through Baja! I am very picky about rooms for family to stay in. These are very clean rooms with perfectly running heaters/AC units. The views were great from our bedroom looking at the ocean. It was quite and felt very safe with security. It's a little off the main road so it feels hidden from any threats from those that prey on tourist. The restaurant was great and the chef blessed our toddler son with little treats at every meal. He even gave us free desert! Good for a good price. The hotel staff overall was very friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend you stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tagalongtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews