We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stopped by to take a look ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Encuentro Guadalupe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Encuentro Guadalupe
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Stopped by to take a look ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

June 8, 2013, Saturday - Arrived early in the morning with the intention of pre-viewing the property for a future visit. Greeted by parking attendant and we were told where to park. Had the reception area and the bar area to ourselves at 10 a.m. – wonderful view of the valley. I had a map that I found on the internet. The bar tender, Cesar, gave us a far better map of the Ruta del Vino. We talked about my list of wineries - compared notes on where to go and what to see. Had a wine tasting – we liked the Chardonnay. Non guests are not allowed to view rooms or the pool area – good rule - I’ll appreciate that when I stay here. Excellent first impression, nice staff, very pleasant atmosphere, great vibe – will return and stay here before the end of the year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LagunaLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Y, Owner at Encuentro Guadalupe, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hello Laguna Lizzy,

many thanks for taking the time to share your Encuentro Experience!

We will pass on the good comments to Cesar at the bar, we hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Encuentro Guadalupe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    43
    13
    23
    16
See reviews for
20
93
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I am a Baja veteran and this hotel is a MUST stop on a visit to Valle de Guadalupe.
I also just so happen to work in the hospitality industry and was VERY VERY impressed with the staff, food, accommodations and vibe. The service was exceptional with a warm and genuine staff. Can't wait to go back....Thanks for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic_sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Y, Owner at Encuentro Guadalupe, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hello Nic,

Many thanks for your kind comments!

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Kind regards,

GH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. The setting is spectacular and the service is extraordinarily friendly and great. We did not want to leave. Each cabin is sited masterfully amongst enormous rocks and looks almost like it sprouted from the hillside. The cabins are covered with Corten that oxidizes with time to make the buildings blend into the surroundings even more. The cabins offer just enough space inside. Who wants to stay in the room here for very long anyway? Lounging by the pool was like the definition of relaxation. Sitting outside at night on our private patio gazing at the stars with a fire burning in the chiminea was lovely. The in-room wi-fi and the iPod speakers are nice touches. The bed was comfortable Though, the rust in the bathroom sink was surprising, especially given that Endemico is less than a year old. Overall, this is an innovative place and I would highly recommend it. Some rooms have better views than others, so you might want to ask about that when you make a reservation.

A few suggestions:
- Upgrade the morning "coffee in a basket" service to better coffee.
- Offer milk and sugar in the basket.
- Get rid of the metal coffee and tea cups. They make the coffee and tea taste funny, burn your lips and don't keep the coffee and tea warm.
- Invest in thermal carafes to keep the coffee and water for tea hot.
- Put a coffee maker and an electric kettle in each room.
- Add an espresso machine at the poolside restaurant.
- Improve the cocktails at the poolside restaurant. The margarita and the mojito we had were pretty terrible.
- Improve the wine list at the poolside restaurant. It was lacking.
- Add umbrellas to the patios attached to each room.
- Increase the jacuzzi temperature by a few degrees after sundown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was a fun weekend, but it certainly isn't your typical hotel stay. My wife and I stayed with another couple over this past weekend. They've called it "glamping" - glamorous camping - and that's a good description. The rooms are very functional, with good amenities and a very comfortable bed (ask for a hair dryer if you need one; they aren't in the rooms), but you are down a dirt path (with railings and some steps) so you really are away from things. The view is terrific, and the stars in the night sky are brilliant. Breakfast was very good (you pay separately), served near the pool. We did a bit too much wandering the valley (though we've all been multiple times before) and I'd suggest you use this as a true getaway spot. I'd suggest they add umbrella or shades on the balconies attached to the rooms; it was too hot to sit out in the sunlight. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, which adds a very good touch. It's not cheap, but it's not like any other stay you've had in the area!

Room Tip: Rooms 13 and up face the "best" view, of the Cetto vineyards, but they also have some road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

You must stay here to experience what can be called GLAMPING (Glamorous Camping ) Only so much better. You must have an open mind and be willing to be part of nature. WE LOVED IT!! The rooms are spotless and very very comfortable. Pre wired for IPODS And a view of the valley that won't quit. The service was awesome and the location is perfect. We will definitely be going back..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoronaDelMarTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DF
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The location and facilities are fantastic. It is a unique concept, it might not look like it but its comfortable and you will wake up every morning revitalized. Bed is super comfy and the room is ample. You get to gaze at the stars while in front of a wood burning heater in front of your room. The only draw back is that the complexity of the layout of the hotel make it hard to make service speedy, but hey, you're on vacation right.... Whats the hurry?

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jorgehc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I am in love with this little piece of heaven on earth. My husband is an architect and we wanted to stay on it last year on our 4th anniversary. It wasn't open yet, so we went this year for our 5th anniversary.
The landscape is fantastic, the rooms are amazing and the service is top. A little pricey, but it is worthy it.
The pool was a little cold, but the staff assured that they will make it warmer in the future. I will be there to check it out!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valle de Guadalupe
4.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Valle de Guadalupe
Hotel Boutique Valle de Guadalup...
#3 of 3 in Valle de Guadalupe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 37 in Ensenada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#10 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Terra del Valle B&B
Terra del Valle B&B
#1 of 8 in Valle de Guadalupe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
10.4 mi away
Quinta Maria en la Ruta del Vino
Quinta Maria en la Ruta del Vino
#3 of 8 in Valle de Guadalupe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
7.7 mi away
Casa Mayoral
Casa Mayoral
#1 of 26 in Ensenada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encuentro Guadalupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encuentro Guadalupe

Property: Encuentro Guadalupe
Address: Carretera Tecate Ensenada Km 75, Valle de Guadalupe, Valle de Guadalupe 21720, Mexico (Formerly Endemico)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Valle de Guadalupe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Valle de Guadalupe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Encuentro Guadalupe 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE WILL BE CLOSED FOR MAINTENANCE FROM 11/1/2016 TO 11/1/2017. THANK YOU. WELCOME Encuentro Guadalupe AntiResort™ (Formerly Endemico). The original idea behind Encuentro Guadalupe is to offer an immersive experience into Guadalupe’s Nature and Culture. An open, honest, inclusive platform to connect travelers from around the world with Valle de Guadalupe’s people and its products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Encuentro Guadalupe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing