We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel - form over function”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Encuentro Guadalupe
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I just got back from staying at this hotel and it's just a mess. It looks beautiful but is a disaster to stay at.
We had to change cabins since the fan was broken in the first cabin (and the heat was then broken in the second cabin). The blinds were totally broken so it was difficult to enjoy the view. You have to use a walkie talkie to call for a car to take you down the hill from your cabin -- most of the time no one even answers the walkie talkie. It became comical what a mess this place is. . .
Maybe during the summer high reason the hotel works better, but it is currently just very poorly run and disorganized. I would never write a review unless it was truly terrible. Hope this place gets it's act together. The people that work there are very nice, but clearly the management isn't doing a very good job.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Paulenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 193 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

An amazing experience all around!! I went with my wife and it was really amazing there is so much peace and wine that you can't go wrong with this place. Am not the type of person to go hiking but this place is worth it. People may think that the best restaurants in Mexico are in the capital, but that is probably because they haven't visit the valley. This is on my top ten hotels in Mexico without a doubt.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Isauro23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

I have never feel so relaxed watching at the deser with all the comfort you need. Hotel is blend with the environment and waiting to be part of nature. People are well trained and extremely nice. Thanks endemico I will be happy to come back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We recently stayed at Endemico during Thanksgiving. We weren't exactly sure what to expect although we had seen pictures and read some reviews. Well, our experience surpassed our expectations! The hotel is magnificent. It is a perfect blend of nature and contemporary, of outdoors camping and luxury hotel accommodation.

The hotels is very quiet so if you are looking for a party, this is not for you. However, if you are looking for excellent service, wonderful accommodations and a close encounter with nature in a luxurious setting, then you must experience Endemcio.

When you go, you are likely to be greeted at some point by Karla, the hotel manager. Karla will ensure that your stay is awesome! She will also help guide your overall Valle De Guadalupe trip and stay such as arranging for wine tastings, or restaurant reservations.

We can't wait to be back! Thanks for the hospitality!

Room Tip: Rooms 5-11 are awesome but, there really isn't a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Allen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

THIS is Glamping !!!
I really don't Do outdoors... I don't like "camping". But This... I'll do it everyday :D
This Design Hotel is managed by Grupo Habita which is a Mexico-based boutique hotel company. They are known for their creativity and in Endémico they really used it; with a prize winning design by Gracia Studio.
This Eco-Chic property has 20 mini cabins, located just about an hour south of the San Diego/Tijuana border, 25 minutes from Ensenada, B.C., Mex.
This weekend the caring staff received us with a glass of white wine from their own winery, drove us to our cozy lofts (with really high ceilings), gave us an Ikea Red hand-powered LED flashlight (really fun to use) since there is no lights on the dirt roads at night. Our plan included a bottle of wine, a tour of the property (Encuentro Guadalupe) and Continental breakfast.
Everything was excellent !
I´m looking forward to go back SOON!

Room Tip: Choose those with a view of the LA Cetto winery
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank karife28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed there this past Friday. The place is absolutely stunning. Trully breathtaking. I think we where there on the first weekend they had had rain. Which meant mud and a whole lot of slippery surfaces. It was very cold, although the rooms where really cozy. They need to work on some design elements to accommodate for the changing season, such as a floor mat to avoid bringing all the mud inside after walking arownd. And maybe a rug next to the bed as the concrete floor was freezing. It is a place that you sort of want to stay at and not have to track arwond to go to another property. But you sort of are forced to leave the property for dinner as their restaurant is compleatly outdoors. We had lunch there and it was delicious, but brrrrrr. There is not enough chimeneas in the world to warm it up. We decided to go to Laja for dinner which was a 5 minutes drive. We asked for a taxi as we where a group of 6 ladies, the taxi charged us 15 dollars a person for literally a 5 minute drive. This was arranged by the loby and was total highway robbery.
Speaking of chimeneas, hanging out in the cute balconies drinking wine, overlooking the valley with a fire burning was amazing. Unfortunately with the rain, this was no longer a possibility. Overal, amazing space, worthy of a visit, but desperately need to make adjustments to this next season, to keep guest safe and comfortable. Saturday day the vibe in the reception area was amazingly cool. Too bad it was not happening Saturday night or they do not serve food there as it was really somewhere we would have loved to have been able to hang out at more. Keep In mind than in the rain, the only way to get places is using a range rover from the hotel and bring lots of warm layers, shoes win traction, and some slippers for the freezing floors!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Saritar72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Hide treasure in Guadalupe,Baja wine country,excellent place for relax,walk and wine testing and vineyards. It is very private and quiet - a perfect place to relax. The staff is very friendly and the food, although simple, is delicious! Make sure you take time to relax at the bar next to the pool at sunset.

Room Tip: Rooms from 8-10 the best sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuisEPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valle de Guadalupe
4.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Valle de Guadalupe
Hotel Boutique Valle de Guadalup...
#4 of 4 in Valle de Guadalupe
157 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hacienda Guadalupe Hotel
Hacienda Guadalupe Hotel
#1 of 4 in Valle de Guadalupe
242 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rocas Del Valle
Rocas Del Valle
#3 of 4 in Valle de Guadalupe
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 38 in Ensenada
575 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Valentino
Hotel Boutique Valentino
#1 of 8 in Valle de Guadalupe
12 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Meson del Vino
Hotel Meson del Vino
#7 of 8 in Valle de Guadalupe
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encuentro Guadalupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encuentro Guadalupe

Address: Carretera Tecate Ensenada Km 75, Valle de Guadalupe, Valle de Guadalupe 21720, Mexico (Formerly Endemico)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Valle de Guadalupe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Valle de Guadalupe
Price Range: $337 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Encuentro Guadalupe 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE WILL BE CLOSED FOR MAINTENANCE FROM 11/1/2016 TO 11/1/2017. THANK YOU. WELCOME Encuentro Guadalupe AntiResort™ (Formerly Endemico). The original idea behind Encuentro Guadalupe is to offer an immersive experience into Guadalupe’s Nature and Culture. An open, honest, inclusive platform to connect travelers from around the world with Valle de Guadalupe’s people and its products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Encuentro Guadalupe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing