We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vinedos Malagon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valle de Guadalupe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vinedos Malagon
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We are certainly looking forward to coming back to Malagon! The ranch has amazing views, great accommodations and amenities, lots of room for kids to run around and for adults to relax with a nice glass of house wine (or better yet, the house limoncello!), or to go for a hike in the surrounding hills. The ranch is secluded enough, on the one hand, to feel like you are in a remote location, but on the other hand, it's a quick drive to the village (for a fish taco lunch or for any of your grocery needs) and, most importantly, to the lovely wineries and quite excellent restaurants (mostly belonging to the local vineyards) in the surrounding Baja Wine Country. The staff at the ranch was also excellent - helpful, accommodating, attentive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sandiegofamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Viedos Malagon and staff created a home I never knew I had. From the moment of my arrival and greetings from Anna Rosa, I felt like I was home. Malagon has the most attentive and accommodating staff of any place I have ever stayed, who made us feel like the place was our own and who graciously catered to our specificities, as much as possible.

Malagon is very secluded and beautiful, but surprisingly close to everything in Valle de Guadalupe. We started in the morning with a wonderful breakfast and walk around the beautiful vineyard to exploring the area and the many wineries and endless gastronomic adventures.

Definitely taste the wines at Malagon and stay in this very small and private place. We can't wait to return to Malagon and are already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rodrigo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My friends and I stayed at Malagon last April. There were 9 of us and we rented all the rooms. The owners were very friendly and helpful while we were setting up our reservation and Sr. Malagon took good care of us while we stayed at his BnB. He gave us a private wine tasting at the end of the day around sunset, after we had been to other wineries. He was funny and generous with his pours. The staff were attentive and breakfast was fabulous - hearty and delicious. Sr. Malagon also drove my group to and from the restaurant we had made reservations at for a prix fixe meal. The dinner went long and he was waiting a long time. We felt terrible, but he was wonderful about bringing us back to Vinedos Malagon. The rooms were clean and cozy. We'd love to have stayed longer and gotten in a walk around the winery or up the hills behind. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our first time visiting the area and we loved it. We will definitely go back. We drove from San Diego to the Valle de Guadalupe and stayed at Vinedos Malagon in March. It was spectacular place to stay -- lovelier than we expected. The setting is beautiful - at the end of a small valley (off the main one) right up against hills. There are trails right from the rooms through the vineyards and up into the hills (which are owned by the winery). We were lucky enough to be there when the wildflowers in the hills were in full bloom. Their wines are great (my favorites from the area) and we got to join in a barrel tasting. We went with our two daughters (ages 3 and 6) and they loved it (including a chance to ride in the owner's tractor). Breakfast in the breakfast room was delicious - and the many places to sit and look at the view are perfect setting to enjoy a bottle of local wine and the scenery. The owner and all staff are great and very friendly too.

Room Tip: We picked one of the smaller rooms with two beds. It was plenty of space for two adults and two chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanfran,norcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here Four times in the last few years, very quite and beautiful area. Breakfast is included and is always a treat. Of course you must taste the Malagon's award winning wines. You feel like your in a very remote area when your at the B+B but in reality your still very close to many of the wineries, so it is an excellent base to explore the many wineries and top notch restaurants in the Valle, the rooms at Malagon's are extremely nice and the beds are very comfortable, there are only four rooms and each is different and decorated differently, the B+B is located on a hill and has great views of the winery and hills. If your lucky and Joe or Rachel the owners are there, you will get to meet two very beautiful people and maybe get Joe to explain the history of the ranch!! We highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigmike1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Can't seem to get enough of this place. Super rooms, great views, delicious breakfasts and some of the best wines in the valley. Conveniently located near all the major wineries of this area. The kitchen is fully equipped just in case you want to try the local ingredients and cook it yourself..

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank LokiD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have been priviledged to enjoy many memorable weekend escapes to Vinedos Malagon and it only gets better! Located in the picturesque Valle de Guadalupe, the B&B is surrounded by magnificent mountains and beautiful vineyards. Their wines have won numerous awards (Malagon Reserve is one my favorites). The rooms are very comfortable with rustic furnishings and warm cozy beds. The owners Joe & Rachel, Anna Rosa, "the Viejo", and all the staff go out of their way to make sure everyone is enjoying their stay. The food is delicious and authentic. We love to ride the horses up to the top of the mountain range and take in the incredible view. Don't forget to listen for the "whistling donkey" while sitting around the fire in the evening! A stay at Vinedos de Malagon is an amazing experience!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ccmothershead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valle de Guadalupe
1.8 mi away
Encuentro Guadalupe
Encuentro Guadalupe
#2 of 3 in Valle de Guadalupe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Boutique Valle de Guadalupe
Hotel Boutique Valle de Guadalup...
#3 of 3 in Valle de Guadalupe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 37 in Ensenada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#9 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
3.4 mi away
Terra del Valle B&B
Terra del Valle B&B
#1 of 8 in Valle de Guadalupe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
8.9 mi away
Quinta Maria en la Ruta del Vino
Quinta Maria en la Ruta del Vino
#3 of 8 in Valle de Guadalupe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinedos Malagon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinedos Malagon

Property: Vinedos Malagon
Address: Calle Sexta #75 | Francisco Zarco, Valle de Guadalupe 22750, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Valle de Guadalupe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Valle de Guadalupe
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For inquiries or to book please email via our website ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing