We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best spa value in North America”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tecate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rancho La Puerta Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tecate
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best spa value in North America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Took my husband for his first visit this August, my 5th. His delight at the Ranch experience matched mine. It's a complete spa -- wonderful healthy food, wide array of exercise options with talented teachers, terrific massages, gorgeous landscaping, excellent value. We timed our visit to see the Perseid meteor shower at 2am one early morning -- spectacular! Twice we did the breakfast hike to the ranch's organic garden. We plan to go back again and again.

Room Tip: Rooms in Flores area are close by dining hall. Villas Luna and Sol are further away, extra walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    18
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
53
72
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, CA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just returned from our third visit to the "Ranch" and the experience was as wonderful as the last 2 trips. This is an exceptional all inclusive wellness spa. You can book your whole day (although you may not be able to move the next) with exercise, meditation and yoga and/or splurge for spa treatments (extra charge). The vegetarian menu is based on a 1600-1700 calorie daily diet (if you eat the portions that are served) so be sure to eat extra if you need the calories. They also have their "secret" menu (at dinner especially) including steamed or stir fried vegetables (fresh from their organic farm), sauteed spinach, baked potato or tofu. The instructors are personable, professional and are excellent at insuring that everyone gets what they want out of the classes. We visit during the couples week (there are 2 weeks every year), and enjoy the people that we have met. Be sure to "join" a table at least a few nights for dinner to get to know some of your fellow guests. Also be sure to attend "Bingo with Barry" - hard to put into words how much FUN you will have, and if you don't end up with tears from laughing, well.... We are going back and plan to make this an annual pilgrimage.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The website captures only part of the ambiance and program available at Rancho. There is so much to offer, the first few days were actually a bit stressful. Thank goodness they offer daily yoga and meditation classes to help get away from the stress. Great vegetarian food also helps, as does the relaxed camaraderie that develops quickly among guests.

Highly recommended at least once in your life, but preferably twice or more, so that you know you can ease right into the program.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fredericch1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

After many recommendations from my mother-in-law, I finally spent a week at the ranch with my best friend. I loved it and tried lots of new fitness classes--Nia Dance, Barre Method, Spinning, Tabata. I even became interested in meditation as a result of attending some of those sessions. The lectures on nutrition, sleep and stress were great. The mostly Mexican staff was so friendly and nice--really wonderful people who were very accommodating. The food is also great--mostly vegetarian with a little fish at a few meals. Very healthy and flavorful. The morning hikes which are between 2 and 7 miles offer great views and were a lovely way to start the day.

Now for a few not-so-perfect areas: we booked in August and weren't able to get individual solo casitas and were offered a room with two beds which we took. Turns out it was a kind size bed and a single bed. My best friend felt like he was 5 again in the single--not great. Second, about 1/2 the guests were 55+ most of whom have been to RLP a bunch of times. In some cases, I felt like the classes were too easy based on the abilities of an older crowd. It also sometimes got to be a little annoying to hear people comparing notes about how many times they've been to the ranch. Finally, I can't say enough great things about all the fitness instructors--both Manuels, Connie, Coco, the spin instructor--all terrific. There was one instructor names Hazel who was very rude and passive aggressive.
All in all, RLP is lovely and offers a holistic experience--mostly fitness focused but also great mind focused program--with mediation and the spa/massage facilities are nice albeit not as fancy as other spas. If you're interested in a 360 spa with a fitness emphasis, RLP is a great choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a casita away from the main road which some of the guest said had some truck noise at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank travelismuchfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
154 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Indescribable. A spa that truly is for your mind, your body and your soul (and completely down to earth). The committed week at RLP allows for class to be progressive and allows guests to truly get to know each other beyond the superficial where are you from and what do you do. There is nothing better than getting out of bed for before sunrise hikes on the mountain or along the foothills. Followed by an all organic (and mostly grown on ranch property) breakfast and then a choice of six to eight classes each hour. Classes range from the introspective to the highly active. The winding layout of the campus walkways ensures that wherever you walk you see green and flowers and birds and bright blue sky -- and get in some extra steps. Accomplished instructors and skilled estheticians make this a wonderful place to go to 'get healthy'. You should consider it.

Room Tip: Choose the smallest size room that fits your needs. You spend little time in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eawnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I love the Ranch - just returned from my 4th trip. Next year my daughter will join me! I love everything about it - from the beautiful grounds, to the dining experiences, cooking classes, exercise and art classes, and the spas. I went for a treatment every day this time. The activity pools are fabulous. The trainers are all professional, patient and encouraging. If you want to quiet your mind, feel healthy, and be with other lovely people with similar interests, this is the place to be. Every year, some small changes or improvements are always obvious, keeping the experience ever fresh, ever fun! I go alone, too, with no regrests - the Ranch is truly the only place in the world I would ever go by myself. It's camp for grown-ups!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bethwoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I love this place. It is like a high end fitness camp combined with a delicious vegetarian restaurant and a pretty good spa. (Personally, I always end up cancelling spa treatments because there is so much else I want to do instead.) The grounds are gorgeous, the staff are super helpful and the facilities are generally top notch. There are a few places where the Rancho's age is noticeable, but definitely not because anything is worn or dirty. It is more that you don't often see carved wood instruction signs or orange upholstery. I find this more charming than off-putting. It is easy to find people to talk to and eat meals with, it is just as easy to be alone if you would like. I found this last trip relaxing and rejuvenating and was genuinely sorry to leave. I was pleased that guests generally adhered to the the "no cell phone" policy (they ask you to limit use to your room). It is worth noting that the Ranch makes the process of crossing the border completely effortless for its guests and the property itself is super secure.

Room Tip: Look at the map (on the spa's website) before you commit to a room. They have done a good job of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shopgirl1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tecate
8.9 mi away
No photo provided
21.0 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
15.8 mi away
Gamma by Fiesta Inn Tijuana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
No photo provided
Motel Leon
#35 of 46 in Tijuana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 46 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hotel Ticuan
Hotel Ticuan
#3 of 46 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho La Puerta Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho La Puerta Spa

Property: Rancho La Puerta Spa
Address: Carretera A Tijuana Km 5, Tecate 92046-3057, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tecate
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tecate
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world's first fitness resort established in 1940, this spa is located right across the border in Mexico and is nestled on 3,000 private acres of rolling terrain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rancho La Puerta Hotel Tecate
Rancho La Puerta Tecate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing