We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
What hasn't been said

Tecate is a great place to visit and the Brewery get's a thumbs up. Something not mentioned is how... read more

Reviewed April 23, 2017
Bradley H
Quick cheap and fun!! But.....didnt get in!!

On New Years Day my two friends and I drove to Tecate, California to try to get into the Tecate... read more

Reviewed January 16, 2017
Jeepguy16
,
Seattle, Washington
Read all 36 reviews
  
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
21
6
6
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
21
6
6
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer garden free beer gift shop tour brewery light pm date patio brand saturday
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 36 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2018

tried to sign up for a tour of the tecate brewery and was told to sign up on f@ckbook. when i explained i don't subscribe to social media they told me, in not so many words...tough luck. eff tecate!!!!!!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank des p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2018 via mobile

If you want to learn about all different types of wine and beer this is the one you.ll learn how it made types of flavors leave your self couple of hours absolutely the bomb

Date of experience: February 2018
10  Thank tonyespin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2018

We tried to visit in February 2018 - it's very closed at the moment, as there are hundreds of workmen here making over the building following its purchase by Heineken. I'll come back next time we're in the area, but it doesn't look like it will be done for quite some time.

Date of experience: February 2018
10  Thank NeonVenables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2017

Tecate is a great alternative for those too afraid to visit Tijuana, and is an easy, scenic 45 minute drive east from San Diego on Highway 94. Once you arrive on the U.S. side of the border, there are numerous public parking lots where you can park your car for less than 10 bucks, then walk across the border into Mexico. Make sure you have your passport with you, as you'll need it when you return back into the U.S. Once across the border walk straight to the most beautiful and quaint plaza where you can sit under the shade of a cool tree and enjoy a cold beer or frozen fruit Popsicle on a stick from one of the many vendors nearby. My favorite restaurant is Pollo Feliz where two people can fill up on roast chicken, fresh tortillas, cactus salad, beans, rice, chips and salsa for around 10 dollars for two. On your way back to the border stop by Calimax for an inexpensive bottle of liquor, sweet breads from the in store bakery, or your choice of Mexican foods to take back home with you. You will not regret your visit, and it is as safe and clean as anyplace back home in the U.S.

Date of experience: May 2017
11  Thank Eurojet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2017

Tecate is a great place to visit and the Brewery get's a thumbs up. Something not mentioned is how easy it is to reach the US side of the border via public transportation. With a $2 compass card and a maximum $5.00 a day you can ride all the buses and light rail trolley all day long. This includes the 894 bus from the El Cajon Trolley Station the Tecate Border Crossing (about 300 shy to be precise). It shows up 8 times a day from 6:15 am to 6:55 pm. Miss the last bus though and you are stuck for the night or plan on spending $75 for uber.

Note: The wheelchair friendly designation is for the public transit.

Date of experience: October 2016
4  Thank Bradley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews