We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Mexico” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Chivato
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Luxury in Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

Difficult to reach after about 20 kms of rough road (not so difficult though) but then we were more than compensated by the beautiful place and the enchanting hotel
Rooms are simply beautiful , food is very good and served on a terrace straight on the sea
Staff is very friendly but professional and helpful

Highly recommended for a romantic escape

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biancorossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    7
    5
    15
See reviews for
3
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

We spent the Memorial Day weekend there. This was our third, and I hope not the last stay. Punta Chivato is in a remote location and the best way to get there is by light plane. The airstrip is in a very good condition.
Once arrived, there is nothing else to do, but to relax, plunge in the swimming pool and drink margaritas. The restaurant is fabulous, so you can look forward to each meal . We were very happy with the service. Rooms are well large, nicely decorated and well equipped. Be sure to take a Junior Suite, which have best views. Absolutely ideal for 3 days gateway.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasd57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

We had heard about this hotel from friends who traveled there in the mid 1990's. The Hotel used to also take care of a campground on the beach back then, and it was owned by Mexicans. Then the Italians bought it. We arrived after dark, towing a boat, to camp on the beach, after an hour or more on a dirt road. First, the hotel manager said it was no longer "legal" to camp on the beach. We later found out this was a flatout lie.Then he said he would rent us rooms for $70.00 (dollars) a night. No AC the first night, had to leave the doors open. Said nothing about $18 surcharge per day "in lieu of" tips. Could not make change for 200 pesos. Hardly any ice , everything lukewarm. No food or drink prices posted anywhere. Charged us $30 for "breakfast buffet" (yogurt, coffee, and cereal) with spoiled milk that made my husband so violently sick that I was afraid we had to stay there longer. We didn't know they were charging us that much. When I got the bill to check out we had been charged $120(dollars) a night plus $18/day, plus $30 for yogurt, coffee, and cereal (with the spoiled milk), plus 7dollars each for beer. When I said that he said $70/night he lied and said he told us $70 off. Obviously an accomplished liar. All in all we were overcharged by $160 dollars. Punta Chivato is so remote you can't just go down the street to the next place. The Italians that were there (owners?) were very unfriendly (don't like Americans). The staff (except for the manager) were your usual nice friendly mexicans. I would never stay there again. There are plenty of nice places for way less money with good food. I think it is different when they fly people in, they make a deal for a certain price, so people don't get ripped off.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank grandma5California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2009

Posada de las Flores "the jewel of the desert"! This resort is truly a pilot’s haven! Our social flying club, the Pacific Bonanza Society, flew south for another incredible and successful fly-in to magnificent Baja California, Mexico. And again for the 4th consecutive year, due to its 5 star accommodations, tranquility and scenic views; we stayed at the upscale and exquisite, Posada de las Flores, in Punta Chivato; located on the cliffs overlooking the gorgeous Sea of Cortez. Owners Giuseppe and Ursula welcomed 16 aircraft along with 42 people, with open arms and genuine hospitality!

The accommodations are top notch with each room and suite decorated in Colonial Spanish. The beds are extremely comfortable and draped in Italian linens. The meals are wonderful and the staff treated everyone like family. It was truly a home away from home...quiet and serene. With the resort sitting on the tip of a peninsula, one can watch the sun rise and the sun set over the beautiful Sea of Cortez. The 1.1 mile airstrip is in very good condition and welcomes all types of light aircraft.

Posada de las Flores in Punta Chivato, Loreto and La Paz is a must for those who enjoy upscale accommodations in beautiful Baja California, Mexico! It is the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueSkies97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2009

We were in Punta Chivato Hotel for a full week in room 710 nearby bar and restaurant, this hotel it`s a paradise, only relax, not like other hotels that we`ve been (los cabos. E.G). The rooms are very kindly furnished and clean, the food to much for us - lunch and dinner are very taste, the staff very kind and helpful, specially the manager JAFET and his partners from mexico, colima and guadalajara. The italians owners should be proud of them. thanks, thanks...
With short words, we recomended the hotel a lot and going to....
Regards from Oregon, CA.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARIECALIFORNIA002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2008

One of the best places in the world to get away from it all. Fly to Loreto, rent a car, drive north 2-1/2 hours. This is old Baja at it's best. Quiet, clean, wonderful service. Kayak to deserted beaches, watch the moon and star show at night. The direct opposite of busy Cabo San Lucas, this is a place for deep relaxation and quiet. Rent a suite or junior suite, as those rooms overlook the ocean. Regular rooms do not. Junior suite #850 is a quiet end unit and my favorite. The regular suites are even better. Food is served in large portions and much of it is fried, so that was my only concern. Margaritas made by Francisco are the best in the world!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2008

Very nice and luxurious boutique style hotel in the remote area of Punta Chivato. Only a unpaved road which is partially sandy and rocky leads to the this jewel.

There is no direct beach access from the hotel but you find a long sandy beach in walking distance. There are also bicycles available in the hotel and so you can discover some more beaches nearby. During the easter holidays, ALL the beaches in Baja California, especially the central part, are extremely crowded. Many mexicans from the mainland come to Baja for their camping holidays and they bring the whole household including jetski and quad-bike with them. So it can be quite noisy.

Posada de las flores was very quiet and the sunsets were stunning. The pool area is very nice and you can watch the pelicans and many other birds. We saw dolphins passing every day in the bay of Punta Chivato.

The rooms (we had a standard room) are nicely decorated in typical mexican style although the owner is from Italy and so many of the guest came from Italy / Spain.

The food in the restaurant was okay but nothing special. There are no other restaurants nearby.

  • Liked — Everything, especially the unique location and the design of this posada
  • Disliked — The food, which was okay but in comparison to the rest nothing special
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swissglobetrotter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Chivato
0.0 mi away
Positano Hotel
Positano Hotel
#51 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Pescadores
Hotel Los Pescadores
#1 of 4 in Los Barriles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato

Property: Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato
Address: Domicilio Conocido, Punta Chivato 23000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Punta Chivato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Chivato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the pristine waters of Santa Ines Bay, the legendary Hotel Punta Chivato reopened on August 1st 2000 under a new name: Posada de las Flores Punta Chivato. The property covers an extension of 7.5 acres in front of the Sea. Decoration blends the desert landscapes and deep blue sea with the Mexican - Colonial architecture of this resort. Punta Chivato is 56 km South Santa Rosalia, 42 km North Mulege and 182 km from Loreto's International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Las Flores - Punta Chivato Hotel Punta Chivato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing