We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“East Cape Fishing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buenavista
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“East Cape Fishing”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This fishing resort lived up to it's reputation. It is full service and very accomodating. The captain and mate on our boat for 4 days were excellent. The food was quite good and the staff was friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    31
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
31
33
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I have made several trips to this resort to fish with a friend.Sometimes the fishing has been better then others but we always enjoyed ourselves. The lodging could use some up-dating but it is comfortable and adequate. The food is excellent and the staff is friendly and eager to please.
If you are looking for great fishing accomodations and a place to relax and re-fuel, I would highly recommend this resort. The Valdez family are wonderful people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

As I am one to not write reviews of hotels or guide services, whether the experience was great or poor, some instances need to be noted. A friend and I both just recently stayed at the hotel and fished through the hotels guide service. First off, the hotel, the staff, the food and overall comfort of the hotel was exactly what we bargained for. We had a good dinner inside the bar, while chatting with other patrons and fellow guides of the lodge. When coming to a fishing destination such as Buena Vista and the East Cape in general thats exactly what fellow fisherman lives for in the evening time. We were able to book a late reservation for a guide the next morning. When we arrived to the dock on the morning, rods loaded and ready to rock. Us two experienced guides we were ready to go! Yet what we didn't bargain for was a lack luster effort from a guide that was more interested in listening to the radio between fishing boats and not a clue of what was going on inside his own boat. My friend and I have 10+ years of guiding experience between us (Montana, Alaska, Patagonia, Chile) and only a combined age of 51. We know what tough, frustrating fishing days can be like on the water. Yet there wasn't an ounce of passion coming out of our guide, we through teasers all day long while our guide sped along beaches only waiting til 3:00 rolled around where he could clock out and receive another tip, and days dollar. We both felt that the guiding experience was one of the worst, if not the worst days via guided we have ever had. Totally excluding the fishing itself, the lack luster effort, passion and drive to want your guests/clients to have a good, enjoyable day on the water was not even in the picture. Granted this was only one day, one guide and one review, I would be weary of spending the money and receiving the same kind of service we had.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

I have been coming to this resort for over 25 years. Back then the resort was run by the boys parents, it's always been run by the Valdez family and they all do great job. Nothing here is fancy, but it's all great. The location is also perfect for fishing. I love coming down and fishing herein the east cape, Baja Mexico. The family also owns its own fleet of sport fishing boats.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

On Wed, Apr 16, 2014 at 8:26 AM, Doyle & Dotty Patterson <2bard@cybernet1.net> wrote:

We stayed at the resort the first week of April, 2014 and had a great time. It has laid-back, very relaxing atmosphere, but has great service and amenities. The staff does everything to make your visit perfect. Set on a hillside right on the beach; the location is perfect. Mature landscaping of palm trees, grass, shrubbery including bougainvillea, and pathways wind their way all over the property. The dining room offers an excellent selection each day and everything tasted super. Each room has a patio area with table and chairs and ours also had a hammock strung between 2 palms. We fished for 2 days and caught and released 3 marlin and one needle fish. The captain and crew were fantastic and flew into action at each hook up. A great place for a family or anyone seeking a real taste of Baja.

2 Bitterroot Montana ranchers

Room Tip: Rooms in the fifties are closest to the water, pool, bar, diningroom, but all are beautiful settings
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Perfect for a quiet escape with family if you just want to sit on a beautiful beach and relax. Rooms and grounds are outdated but don't let that stop you from relaxing and enjoying old Mexico.
Staff was very kind and helpful and food was fresh and delicious. Isreal took our group fishing and was very knowledgable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicagocats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Completely run down. The rooms were terrifying (especially the bathrooms). Staff was actually really nice, if you could find someone. We ended up feeling sorry for them having to work there. The beach is beautiful with little to no waves. GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Doodlenuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buenavista
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
#1 of 1 in Los Barriles
216 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rancho Leonero Resort
Rancho Leonero Resort
#75 of 116 in Los Cabos
178 reviews
8.7 mi away
Punta Pescadero Paradise Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Los Barriles Hotel
Los Barriles Hotel
#4 of 4 in Los Barriles
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Pescadores
Hotel Los Pescadores
#1 of 4 in Los Barriles
126 reviews
8.9 mi away
Cabanas Vista la Ribera
Cabanas Vista la Ribera
#1 of 1 in La Ribera
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort

Property: Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort
Address: Carr. Federal # 1 Km. 105, Buenavista 23580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Buenavista
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buenavista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buena Vista hotel is located in Baja California, Mexico overlooking the Sea of ​​Cortez . It offers a variety of activities , peaceful rooms and excellent facilities . Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort features Mediterranean- style guestrooms with private patios furnished with hammocks. El Navegante restaurant serves traditional Mexican dishes for breakfast , lunch and dinner. Guests can order nachos while soaking up the sun by the pool or take a drink at the poolside bar . After dinner you can go to the bar El Pescador and enjoy a drink . Just minutes from the Buena Vista Beach Hotel offers activities such as fishing, diving and horse riding. You can also explore the 50 km of beach, or play a game of tennis . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Buenavista
Resort Buena Vista Beach
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort Mexico/Buenavista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing