We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Coco Cay

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our trip to Coco Cay was fantastic and easily the best cruise port I've ever experienced. We were fortunate enough to go on a beautiful day with no bad weather - just sun. The main beach where everyone snorkels should be avoided...just go straight to Barefoot Beach. It is on the other side of the island, beside the water sports park, and was basically empty the day we went. There are tons of free lounge chairs, shaded areas and smooth sand at Barefoot Beach.
While we were swimming there, two stingrays came right up to us in the shallow water! Another guy beside us also said he saw a shark (which was my cue to leave the water). Seeing stingrays that close up in the ocean was both terrifying and amazing!
Royal Caribbean provided a free barbecue lunch which was great. Go to Cocothepia bridge to see some amazing Iguanas. We saw at least 6 huge iguanas sitting right beside the bridge. There is also a rooster and hen that gave us quite the shock on Barefoot Beach. A tropical island is the last place in the world you think you would hear "cockadoodledoooo". Getting on and off the island was no problem. My only complaint is that we didn't get to stay longer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Clarke19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    641
    290
    74
    13
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Burlington, Vermont, Usa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful island”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Royal Caribbeans private island in the Bahamas was wonderful. Snorkeling was very good. Many fish to see. White sand beaches and blue clear water. Looking forward to going again sometime.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
136 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beach Day- RC Enchantment of the Seas”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

RC had HUGE delays getting everyone over here, and it was a mob fest getting back on the tender as well. But----it is a private island for the cruising experience, and it mostly is a nice place. We ventured back to Barefoot Beach for a quieter time---NICE. Beach is pretty good---lots of chairs, hammocks, etc. Didnt do any of the activities offered, though it seemed there were plenty of things to do (most for a fee). Food was average buffet fare (totally edible, no worries), drinks were overpriced (should come as no surprise). Overall, it's the kind of day to make as active or relaxed as you choose, and the island offers options for both. Enjoy!
TIP: If you've got your own snorkel gear, bring it. If you dont and are planning on renting it, buy your own before you cruise.....it's the same price OR cheaper!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GuppyGetaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Go To Barefoot Beach”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Avoid the crowds, rent a SHELL on Barefoot beach. They drive you over and come by every 15 min. if you want to go to the crowded part of the island.
Snorkeling a must. Saw Sting Rays, big fish, Lime Sharks.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank DJPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“It's a nice place...if your ship actually stops there.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have been to coco cay twice out of 5 attempts. The island is nice and peaceful. I've never been there when there are two ships there at the same time, but on the smaller ships (majesty monarch) it wasn't too crowded. Decent snorkeling, it's good for a beach day.

KEEP IN MIND that they miss this stop VERY often. We have missed once in February and twice in July. Since we only cruise once a year, we haven't been to coco cay since 2010. Two times the water was too choppy for people to get off the ship, and the third time there was a storm coming so the captain wanted to sail in another direction. It was the most disappointing on the 7 day cruise on Freedom, 4 days at sea was way too much. They should have a back up stop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KenSandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco Cay also viewed

Berry Islands, Out Islands
Berry Islands, Out Islands
 
Great Harbour Cay, Berry Islands
Eleuthera, Out Islands
 

Been to Coco Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing