We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 day Curise”
Review of Coco Cay

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Live Oak, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“4 day Curise”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Rather disappointed. The grounds were poorly kept, beach had trash, Equipment gave a "cheap" apparence. Vendors were 50% higher than in Nasseau. There is a nature trail but it was poorly marked, difficult to follow, and not very many plaques.

The only plus, a large plus, was the parasailing tour. It was well organized, crew knowledagable. It was the onlypleasent activity there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Edwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    654
    296
    76
    13
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Favorite part of our trip”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was the favorite part of our cruise. The island was beautiful and the snorkeling was fun. If you wanted enjoy the music you could stay close to the bars. But if you wanted some privacy just start walking. My husband and I found a great spot to hang out. We would have stayed there for days.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank KMWoo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A quiet relaxing retreat!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I did not have high expectations of this island as it is owned by RC and operated by their crew. I thought it would be tacky and commercialized. I was wrong! It is a beautiful island filled with hammocks and beach chairs. There was activities for adults and kids a delicious "southern BBQ" buffet. Don't take the first beach chair you see however, take a stroll down the beach and there is many secluded quiet places to lounge in the sun!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank NicoleDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Private Island”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is Royal Caribbean's private island. Take the towels from the ship and get a head start as to ensure a wonderful spot to relax for the day. When we disembarked the smaller boat, we went to the right, all the way to the end. We chose a wonderful, private spot, the last row of chairs by the walkway. We had a beautiful ocean view. Lunch is included, bbq style, plenty of hamburgers, hotdogs, chicken, corn on the cob, refreshements and dessert. Choose the line where the grilling is actually being done as to have hot food, otherwise you might end up with cold burgers. The water can be quite rough by the end of the day, try not to take the last boat back as you will wait endlessly. We were looking forward to this day on the beach and were not disappointed. Very relaxing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank MARY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A Little Slice of Paradise”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Of our three stops on a recent Royal Caribbean cruise, we enjoyed Coco Cay the best. As others have mentioned, smaller boats run the passengers from the cruise ship to the island, which is a nice ride on a beautiful day. Once you disembark on the island, things feel a little crowded and cloister phobic at first as all of the souvenir huts are clustered in that one small area and many people choose to stay relatively close to the dock. We did have to kill some time trying to secure towels as we had been told on the ship that towels were available on the island which, technically, they weren't (persistence paid off, however).

There are blue lounge chairs in clusters around the island, with the largest numbers being close to the dock. We chose to keep walking around the bend of the island over to the other side. If you continue past the jet skis and water park, you hit Barefoot Beach. Keep walking a bit farther and there are some nice areas to set up shop with far fewer people. We found a great spot under some palm trees. There aren't many opportunities for shade so we rented an umbrella for $10. The tide was out (way out!), which provided an unusual and terrific opportunity to wander out through shin-deep water to far away sand bars. This was an adventure as the fish were plentiful and beautiful. I had planned to snorkel but no need with the tide out. One girl nearby found a starfish that was a foot wide - incredible. Another find was a sizable live conch shell with the most brilliant pink color I've ever seen.

There are several bars on the island so you won't go thirsty. Lunch was BBQ and the food was good, although it was a little crowded near the serving area. You can traverse the island via trails and some of the foliage is very pretty. We chose to stay all day and take one of the last boats back to the ship. Hard to leave! A beautiful day at the beach in the Bahamas.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank NotMarcoPoloMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco Cay also viewed

Berry Islands, Out Islands
Berry Islands, Out Islands
 
Great Harbour Cay, Berry Islands
Eleuthera, Out Islands
 

Been to Coco Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing