We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe(Sutton)(Great Value!)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge Schweizer Inn(Sutton)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
B&B Pinorama(Sutton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chez Marie(Sutton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveler rating
63
44
25
33
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
44
25
33
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pittheir websitebring your ownenjoy naturetreehousecowskayakingcampingdogforestpodgearwinterfirewoodairstreamhillkubota
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 188 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2016

We had a wonderful time at Au Diable vert, but It could have been very different if the weather hadn't been so nice. Since we had the best end of winter you could imagine, we made the most of our weekend. But it is true that attention to details is not there and that, if it had been very cold, we would have been miserable in the «milky way» Airstream we rented. The door was very difficult to close and at the doorstep, there was ice, so it was dangerous and I fell, even though I was very careful. We were able to start fire the first day but it was difficult because the wood we bought from them was kinda humid. I mean, I was able to start fire in the firepit full of snow, but had major difficulties Inside in the little stove.
The place is beautiful and we had a great time but, when we arrived, the reception was not the most friendly and there can be some glitches in your stay So be aware!

Stayed: March 2016
1  Thank JJ844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuDiableVert, Guest Relations Manager at Au Diable Vert, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2016

Dear JJ844,
thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. As to put your concerns at ease regarding heating the AIRSTREAMS we have now switch to easy to light Eco logs in all cabins with small stoves... we have had a very warm response from everyone so far .

All the best,
Your Au Diable Vert team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2015

Nice landscape. Nevertheless, I don't think the owners ever seated on the sofas they offer as beds!!! the matresses are so thin that you can feel all the metal through it ! I found better beds in the cheapest hostel I visited... Also, the whole place is missing a bit "heart". Poor service at the reception. Definitely not a place I recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Jordane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuDiableVert, Guest Relations Manager at Au Diable Vert, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2016

Dear Jordane R

so sorry to hear you enjoyed the landscape, but not your stay. We do change the mattresses regularly and the futons are of high quality. The underbilts have mostly been changed for wood structures.

Your Au Diable Vert team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2015

We stayed at the Chic-Choc cabin and found it was great. Clean, cute, nice view. But not worth 120$/night, especially not on a two-nights-minimum policy (what's that for, anyway?).
The hike up to the cabin is extremely strenuous, ten times worse than their most difficult hike. I. Am. Not. Kidding. Not only do you have to hike it haul your stuff to and fro, but you have to hike it again to use the washroom (our portolet was filthy disgusting with other people's puke).
People are friendly, but it's not as common with the staff: the young girl who greeted us (with two other blond people) was very kind, but the owner (Jeremy) felt like an automated teller in a hurry to get us out of there (there was no one else waiting to speak to him...?). He gave us the "thanks but no thanks" attitude when I offered to correct the French mistakes on their website and automated emails : I take it he likes the whole camping rustic travelling scene, but he doesn't like, or enjoy, working with the public that comes with it. Oh yeah, another employee, one that seems to work with the animals, didn't even reply when we said hello, nothing, nada, niet, like we weren't there.
They've done a lot of work on their trails, but a lot more work still has to be done. We went to the Witch's cauldron in Sutton during our stay and their trail is not only beautifully finished, but it's FREE. I'd expect the Diable vert trails to be just as neat for the price we pay to use them (5$ if you're not lodging).
My opinion is that yes, the view is great, but all you need is money to buy a view and offer it to people. A business in the tourist industry has to have quality lodging at a good price and a friendly staff. That's not what we received for what we paid at the Diable vert.
The transportation of our bags to and from the cabin, the wood for the fire and breakfast would have to be included in the price for us to go back to Au Diable vert. Otherwise, I prefer to stay in a B&B (which might even cheaper).

Alexandre and Veronique

Room Tip: Make sure you're in great shape before you go.
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Véronique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuDiableVert, Guest Relations Manager at Au Diable Vert, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2016

Dear Veronique,

Thank you for your review. Au Diable Vert has all sorts of accommodations to offer and for the comfort lover we recommend the fully equipped Mountain View Suites. Same great view, but no hike, no more than a few steps from your car.

Your Au Diable Vert team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2015 via mobile

The scenery is beautiful. There are some interesting hikes in the forest but nothing impressive. It is a very nice place to go and you can arrive on the Round Top from this part of the mountain.
The showers were clean. The view it is beautiful. Not far from Montreal

Stayed: September 2015, traveled with friends
Thank NicoSP14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuDiableVert, Guest Relations Manager at Au Diable Vert, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's a pleasure for us to hear that you've enjoyed your stay.
Your Au Diable Vert Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2015

Exactly what we were expecting. No service 'off the grid' (almost) cute cabin. No one around.

Reception desk:

Fast. Not too friendly, borderline. Quick explanations. Could be more welcoming, just a suggestion.

Cabin:

We were in Pico Alto. Great location. Quiet. No pedestrian traffic. Hard to get to loft in ladder. No place to sit inside other that kitchen table. Well ventilated. Excellent fire pit. Lots of flies (lots !!!), thank god they go away at night. No mosquitoes. Clean Jonnhy on the spot right next to your cabin.

It is great to have a covered porch/balcony to avoid rain if any or late night star gazing.

Fido spotty coverage and Telus come in no problem at that location. WIFI front desk.

Beware: do not burn wood you find around the cabin. Buy at front desk or bring your own. Theirs is very dry and burns great. 8$ per big bag delivered right to your door. Fair price. You might want to bring firestarters since you can use twigs you will find.

Sanitary block:

Clean showers. Hot water. I dont understand why no hot water to dish sink. Also i propose a hook outside for dog leash since your dog is not allowed inside.

No trash can but very small one on ladie's side. Need more.

Trails:

WONDERFUL !!! Beware that intermediate and advanced trails are just that so hiking boots are a must. Well indicated directions. The only thing i would refresh is the red trail markers as they turned to grey with time.

Conclusion:

Very nice place to unwind. Your adored pet is welcome and will love the fields and trails as you will. Remember this is a rustic experience with the convenience of a sanitary building not too far so if you are like me (haven't camped lots), it is a good in between.

Read the rules carefully as there are many and you will be charged for breaking them...

I will next time choose a cabin with sofas to sit on but i have to say that Pico Alto's location is amazing.

The resident dog, Leo, is very sweet and loves to greet the guests. He might even hike a little with you as if to show you around. What a cutie.

Great experience. We will be back for sure.

Thanks to the team.

Room Tip: Choose away from the trails
  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 4498HERO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuDiableVert, Guest Relations Manager at Au Diable Vert, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2016

Dear 4498HERO,

thank you for writing such a detailed review. It really helps our prospecting customers to decide if they are up to the Au Diable Vert experience. We believe strongly in our place and concept and it is wonderful to hear that you've enjoyed it.

We hope to see you back, Leo is ready for a visit,
Your Au Diable Vert team and Leo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews