We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Au Diable Vert
Nearby Hotels
Les Caprices de Victoria(Sutton)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge Sutton Brouerie(Sutton)(Great Value!)
$157
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Domaine Tomali-Maniatyn(Sutton)(Great Value!)
$128
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Huttopia Sutton(Sutton)(Great Value!)
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe(Sutton)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Pinorama(Sutton)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Montagnard(Sutton)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
61
42
24
32
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
42
24
32
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshighland cattlecamping experiencefire pitbring your owntheir websitegreat trailsenjoy naturetreehousecowskayakingdogforestpodfoggearwinterairstream
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 181 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2014

We have been here 4 times now. It's a yearly tradition! Every time has been wonderful. The staff are lovely, helpful and make the stay effortless. The treehouses are so unique and fun! The cabins and grounds are always well kept. The cabins are newly built and always clean when we arrive. The views are breathtaking. I always recommend Au Diable Vert to my friends and family when they are looking for a cute getaway. It's nice to be away from wifi, laptops and devices and be able to sit by a fire an enjoy someone company.

Room Tip: I always pick a cabin that is further away from the reception desk to get away from the noise of arriving and leaving guests as well as children. I usually pick a cabin towards the top of the hill to get better sunlight and a better view.
  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heather13graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuDiableVert, Owner at Au Diable Vert, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2014

Dear heather13graham,

thank you so much for this lovely review. We are a family business and inevitably once you become a regular you'll feel like family to us... we love seeing you and catching up with you year after year. It is our regulars that see and appreciate all the hard work we have put into our little paradise over the past 9 years. We listen to our guests and we welcome all your cool ideas, some of which have been put in place. We would like to say thank you for your loyalty and reward you with a little extra next time you visit. Maybe a trip to the SPA or a ride on the VeloVolant... it's on your file for next year.

thank you, Julie and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2014

Went with my two boys (3/6). They both had a fantastic time swimming in the pond and catching and releasing the many frogs around. The views are amazing, and the night sky is clear and dark. There are plenty of great hiking trails (although they are poorly marked) to explore leading you to any number of unexpected sightings and adventures. Nice quiet nights by the fire without cars driving by your site (as they are walk in only). Chose your gear wisely as the hike in to your site can be tiring on the mountainous terrain with gear, food, water.

Room Tip: Paths away from the main field and parking area can be difficult to access with all your gear as the sites are walk in only and the terrain is mountainous. The fantastic views and night sky are the payoff!
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joaquin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuDiableVert, Front Office Manager at Au Diable Vert, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2014

Dear JoaquinD,

thank you so much for taking the time to write us this wonderful review. You are absolutely right the night sky is amazing. In fact we have considered applying for a "dark night sky reserve" certification for the Glen Sutton Valley :-).
We hope to see you back in the summer for some happy frog hunting.

Best regards, Lynda and the Au Diable Vert team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2014

We visited Le Diable Vert on Thanksgiving weekend, for our "traditional Fall family weekend". We were a group of 9 with 2 dogs, and rented 2 lodgings.

You want a complete review with usefull information, read until the end. I know my review is long but I think you will have an authentic portrait.

With my wife and kids, I went there for the first time and only because the other members of our family have dogs. Usually, they send their dogs in a chenille for the weekend and we go to the Sepaq and rent a few Huttopia tents. This time they found this place who accepts dogs so we decided to try it.

The Good:

- The place is superb with the mountains around, especially in Fall with the colors. The fog at night and morning add to the charm.

- The Highland cows are an interesting species to watch and admire for it's strong adaptation and beauty. It's in an owners' honour to raise this special race and preserve it.

- The hiking trails are nice and very natural, well-preserved, crossing creeks.

- I admire the "familly-type" business with their kids very involved and dedicated at their ages. Very nice!

The Average and the Bad:

- I understand the fact that no cars are allowed on the site other than in the parkings, which completely makes sense. Altough it is hard to bring up your stock in the cart on foot, since you go upslope when you arrive. It is easier when you leave as you go downslope with the cart. I think it would be ok to charge 10$ when your leaving as you don't really need the rover. But I also think they should either not charge or charge 5$ maximum when you arrive, as it is the start of your stay, which starts it on a bad note. We arrived at nighfall and it was a real pain to bring our stuff upslope in our cabin when you don't know the place by flashlight.

- When we arrived, we asked for a jug for water. We were rudelly answered that they don't have enough for all sites and it is first come, first serve. Fortunatelly, we brough our own jug so we were ok. HINT: buy jugs for all your sites, keep them locked and give them when checking in. If not returned, charge it! Like you do for the battery.

- For our family of four (with my wife and kids), we rented the Squatter and it was clear on the website that nothing was included (dishes, pots and pans, etc), so we brought all our camping stuff and were more than ok. However, for the Kitzbühel the other members of our family rented, it was another story. It is supposed to be equipped for 8 people. No way. There was 4 forks, 3 knives, 5 plates, 3 glasses and 2 mugs... So one member went to tell them, very politely (I was there) and as an answer, the employee at the desk said "ok, come to see us, we have more we can give you", on a rude tone. We were astonished how this employee answered us. And moreover, WE had to go get them, instead of them apologizing and bringing us what we needed. Honestly, I read the same comment in a recent post, regarding the Kitzbühel. It's almost seems like they remove some dishes on purpose... Also, the table is not suitable for 8 people... HINT: with the price we pay, go to the dollar store and buy a supply of plates, ustensils, glasses and mugs, and make it a real 8-people stay! Or remove the bed on first floor and have spaces for a real table and make it a 6-people rental.

- If you want to go wash your dishes at the outside sink at the new bathroom installation (toilet block), be ready to wash it in freezing cold water! This is a complete non-sense and it explain why we had dirty dishes in the Kitzbühel when we arrived... Disgusting! For us and the sake of the next people that will rent the place, we went inside and took time to fill our washing bin with hot water from a mug. HINT for sanitary purposes: just PLUG the hot water!

- On one of the night, we wanted to eat and try their Highland beef they sell on site. So we went the day before to enquire about the prices and the available pieces. We asked to see the sizes because the employee was not able to give us the approximate weight or size of the different pieces to plan our purchase for our group of 9. She answered us it was in the freezer....... Yes, we KNOW that, can we see them? She made us understand it was in the freezer with a "kindda" sign it was far....... So most of the people would just not buy it. In our case, they can still thank us as we were determined to try this beef because we went back the next day to buy our pieces of meat. We have to say that the pieces were very much acceptable in sizes and that it was delighful! Know that it is about $12.50 a piece (Sirloin, T-Bones). It's seems pricy, but you have to consider it is a local product and it is bio.

- In the showers, please install hooks as one is not enough, especially when you go with your kids. We had 1 hook in our shower stall, so had to put our stuff on the floor, on the door, etc... Not very practical.

- You can't bring any bicycles on site. It would be great to accept bicycles, especially everything is far from one another. For example, we rented 2 lodgings 1.1 km away from each other. It would have been great to take our bicycles to move between locations instead of walking all the time. We could have also use them to bring our stuff at our arrival and departure. Moreover, in Fall, there is not many activities on site or around, so our kids would have liked to be able to have some fun with their bikes.

- It is cute sometimes to see a cow being able to get out of the fence at night, but not cool walk or step in their poop in the morning. HINT: pick up the poop please!

- The mattresses are all futon matresses and really not confortable, and also not sanitary. The owners should invest in plastic-covered mattresses and pillows to make it sanitary.

Unfortunatelly, all these little things make your overall stay not up to standards, especially for the price you pay. A lot of those could be easily fixed and could change everything! But most importantly, those modifications could bring this place up for real success!

For now, they are booked only because it is a rare location that accepts dogs, otherwise, this place would not make it.

Frankly, for almost the same price, I prefer from far renting an Huttopia tent in Fall at a National Park (Sepaq) which is FULLY equipped and clean, with water faucets each 3 to 5 sites, and sanitary blocks never far from your site, with hot water outside to wash your dishes and cleaned every hour. No you can't bring your dog, but the overall experience is a lot more enjoyable.

Before returning there, I will follow the reviews and see if the place has improved. For now, we will stick to the Sepaq National Parks or other well renown places like "Entre Cimes et Racines", "Chalets Morin Heights" and "Chalets Lanaudière", just to name a few.

Stayed: October 2014, traveled with family
9  Thank 999Vince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuDiableVert, Owner at Au Diable Vert, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2014

Dear999Vince

Thank you for your detailed review - we really appreciate the effort you went to.

We do agree with most of your points and a very sorry you had a problem with your cutlery supplies. We do sometimes run into problems with unturned, thrown out or transferred from cabin to cabin items (one of your neighboring cabins seems to have been delivered all your dishes) and are trying out the possibility of a kitchen box to be given out at and returned to reception.

We do not have water jugs for everyone, with almost 50 different accommodations we simply have a logistical storage issue. It is a service for the occasional person who came ill prepared. We have tried having specific jugs for each cabin. However this would include that the jug stays at the cabin so you would have to walk there to pick it up walk to fill it and walk back again. This was a very unpopular option, which is why we turned to a first come first serve rule.

We are and are proud to be a people powered park. This means that you have to put in the muscle work, you have to be prepared to walk uphill, you have to be prepared that you may walk to the offices if you need to refill water, order wood, change your battery.... or pay the eco-responsible price if you would like the motorized delivery option. On the other hand you get a quite park, no car alarms or stereos, no worries that your kids or dogs may run into the road, nature at its best.

One of the points we do not understand is the price issue you had. Take of the taxes which you will need to take on with the governments of Quebec and Canada, you paid 27$50/night/person in one and $20/person/night in the other cabin, this includes the daily access and trail fees and free showers - both are quite expensive extras at SEPAQ.

So thank you again for the review, we hope you'll appreciate the improvements that we make and have made every year, when you return.

Best regards from all of us at Au Diable Vert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2014

We normally camp at the sepaq park at orford but wanted somewhere we could bring our golden retriever to enjoy our summer vacation with us. We spent considerable time going through the reviews both good and bad and didn't eventually getting the actual campsite we wanted due to its availability.

Well I have to say we ended up, in our opinion the best campsite of all! Not telling because I don't want it to get get booked up fast! The views were spectacular, both at night and in the morning with the fog that seemed to swallow the valleys. The highland cattle which escaped their enclosure while we were there, added to the beautiful landscape. Everything was well explained on the website, with regards to what to expect and getting to and from our campsite. The service was excellent, in particular 11 yr old Violetta, who worked the front desk and answered our questions and multi tasked better than most adults I know at my super high stressed workplace, much to the delight of MY 11 yr old son!

We kayaked and tubed in a river located across the street and hiked through the woods which kept us busy for the week. Wood was delivered when requested and the showers and bathrooms were clean.

We will definitely return and maybe even try out one of the tree houses next year!

MM and SC from Montreal

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MMfromYUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuDiableVert, Owner at Au Diable Vert, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

Dear MMfromYUL,

thank you very much for your review. It is very refreshing to have an honest review from a client, rather than the same guy right more or less the same review 4 times (with google translate) and post under different names. Unfortunately Tripadvisor censors business owners immensely, but puts zero control on such people. Never mind. It becomes very obvious when they quote the same wrong distances and prices over and over. :-)
Violetta is not only our daughter, but certainly one of our star employees. She has been living and breathing the business since she was born, and knows it inside out.

We do really try to give you as much information as possible before you arrive and try our best always to answer your questions. We know you do not want to give away your secret site, but you may find that each site has something unique to offer. One long time client would never stay anywhere else but #9 until they were forced by it being booked to try the Fisher House sector.... they have been booking those sites since then, charmed with the brook and the tranquility.

So thank you again for taking up the keyboard, it is certainly appreciated and we look forward to your next visit.

Julie and the Au Diable Vert team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

I just past the long weekend at le diable vert, it was the first and the last time. The ppl at the front desk are very rude, every employee says something different. It all started when we reserved, they were all nice and friendly, because they want your money, then 2 weeks before our journey,, we tried calling them several times to ask them a couple of questions and no one called us back. Finally 2 days before leaving we were able to get in touch with them, and we finally asked them the questions that was in our mind and they replied VERY RUDLY. When we arrived there and checked in, they have a long list of rules that you have to follow if not, you get charged for every single thing. Once we got there, we noticed that the place was uphill and you have to walk at least 1. km to get to your site, with all the equipment and luggage or they can bring it to your site if you pay them 10$, At the beginning they told us that the wood that was in our cabin was included, and if we wanted extra to be delivered it's 8.50$ for 8 logs, so we used the wood in our cabin and guess what they charged us for it.There is absolutely nothing to do there, the biking activity costs 50$ for 45 minutes, not worth it, there is no river or no beach to swim in. My friends were staying at the same time as us and they had ordered wood, the guy never showed up, they had a mice in their cabin running around in the middle of the night. Anyhow, all i have to say that this place is over rated for the price and it sucks, I WILL NEVER BE GOING THERE AGAIN IT IS THE WORST CAMPING SITE THAT I HAVE BEEN IN MY LIFE.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuDiableVert, General Manager at Au Diable Vert, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

Hello Mary K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Perhaps you would like to write it in your mother tongue next time rather than using google translate, but we appreciate the effort.

Employees are trained to a strict manual and the long weekend we had only long time staff and the owners working the front desk. However it is a lot of information to take in if you have never been.

We started out with one very simple rule;

respect nature and leave no trace

However over the years we found that we not only needed to spell this out (mind you only for a very few percent of our customers), but also to add fees just to make it easier to understand. So here are the rules as they are now:

Au Diable Vert
Règlement pour les usagers
Pour le respect des usagers des lieux et le respect de l’environnement, nous vos
demandons de vous engagez à respecter les consignes suivantes:
Le locataire responsable s’engage
1) à placer la tente seulement aux endroits prévus (plate-forme au bois, espace de
sable)
2) à ne pas déplacer les tables de pique-nique d’un site camping à l’autre
3) à faire des feux de camps seulement aux endroits désignés (cercles de pierres,
poêle à bois).
4) à ne pas récolter de bois dans la forêt (même du bois mort et/ou par terre)
5) à ne pas déplacer les pierres au sol et celles des murs de pierre historiques.
6) à contrôler votre chien et à le garder en laisse durant la nuit.
7) à respecter la nature et en ne laissant AUCUNE trace de votre passage (et de
votre chien – même les sacs « compostable » SVP dans les poubelles).
8) à retourner le chariot avant de monter votre campement et ne le reprendre qu’à
la fin de votre séjour quand votre campement et déjà démonté
9) à Ne pas laisser, adulte ou enfant, monter dans les chariots.
10) à noter que la clôture des vaches Highland est électrique!
11) à laisser les véhicules, automobiles, vélos et motos dans l’aire de
stationnement.
12) à respecter la quiétude des lieux et à baisser la voix dés 21h00

seems straight forward common sense to 99% of our customers... it's the other 1% we have the rules for.

If you even so much as glanced at our site you cannot miss that we are on a mountain, and since mountains seldom come flat, it concludes that the terrain is hilly. But if going to your campsite is uphill coming back will be downhill :-).
You also seem to be slightly confused whether you stayed in a cabin or on a campsite, and the furthest site and cabin are both less than a kilometer. the VeloVolant is $40 if you stay with us which is 20% discount and the wood is delivered with kindling and paper around a dozen good logs for 7.39$ plus taxes.
We own 3km of riverfront on the heritage protected Missisquoi river. A beautifully calm and natural waterway that allows us to offer many water activities on and from the 3 beaches we have access to. We offer kayaking tours every day and sometime with the moonlight), tube and SUP rentals.

We welcome all guests that appreciate this close and tranquil experience with nature, but we do agree that if you would like to disregard the rules, play your stereo full blast or need to park your car right next to your tent you are probably better served on a different campground.

Leslie and the front of house

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews